RAM/hardware nightmare!



th0ne
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
sound of somerthing moving, like a cableís come lose inside or
something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
iím trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, iím in a
real mess, especialy as itís my parents machine not mine.....

*update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
there so i guess itís either broke or incompatible.....

--
Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's request
Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
Topic URL: http://www.windowsforumz.com/Help---Support-RAM-hardware-nightmare-ftopict553073.html
Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse: http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1754295

Shenan Stanley
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
th0ne wrote:
> ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
> cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
> sound of somerthing moving, like a cableís come lose inside or
> something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
> iím trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
> sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
> the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
> disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
> behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
> on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
> anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, iím in a
> real mess, especialy as itís my parents machine not mine.....
>
> *update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
> new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
> there so i guess itís either broke or incompatible.....

Did you even check before buying?

http://www.crucial.com/

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
Congratulations! You likely cracked the motherboard by pressing too hard
while trying to install the RAM upside down! Time to take it to a repair
shop.

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

If you knew as much as you thought you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"th0ne" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
news:3_1754295_a866fba22201e8c2ba0cea056620c642@windowsforumz.com...
> ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
> cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
> sound of somerthing moving, like a cable's come lose inside or
> something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
> i'm trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
> sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
> the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
> disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
> behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
> on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
> anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, i'm in a
> real mess, especialy as it's my parents machine not mine.....
>
> *update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
> new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
> there so i guess it's either broke or incompatible.....
>
> --
> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
> request
> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
> Topic URL:
> http://www.windowsforumz.com/Help---Support-RAM-hardware-nightmare-ftopict553073.html
> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse:
> http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1754295

Alan Smith
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
Did you read the last paragraph of his posting?
it starts: *update* it now runs fine with the old ram ........

op-
There are lots of different memory types and speeds. Read the motherboard
manual for the type you should put into the computer. Compare this to the
type and speed you bought- did you check at first- you haven't mentioned the
types/speeds.



"Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:u9nP6HNgFHA.3460@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Congratulations! You likely cracked the motherboard by pressing too hard
> while trying to install the RAM upside down! Time to take it to a repair
> shop.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> If you knew as much as you thought you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>
> "th0ne" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
> news:3_1754295_a866fba22201e8c2ba0cea056620c642@windowsforumz.com...
>> ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
>> cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
>> sound of somerthing moving, like a cable's come lose inside or
>> something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
>> i'm trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
>> sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
>> the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
>> disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
>> behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
>> on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
>> anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, i'm in a
>> real mess, especialy as it's my parents machine not mine.....
>>
>> *update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
>> new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
>> there so i guess it's either broke or incompatible.....
>>
>> --
>> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
>> request
>> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
>> Topic URL:
>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/Help---Support-RAM-hardware-nightmare-ftopict553073.html
>> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse:
>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1754295
>
>

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
That does NOT mean that he hasn't cracked a trace. He heard the noise as he
was trying to insert the RAM. I heard that noise about 14 years ago! Bad
news.

Something to watch out for in the way of an intermittent connection that
makes/breaks with a change in temps.

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

If you knew as much as you thought you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"Alan Smith" <alan@hidden.email> wrote in message
news:dac654$jo3$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
> Did you read the last paragraph of his posting?
> it starts: *update* it now runs fine with the old ram ........
>
> op-
> There are lots of different memory types and speeds. Read the motherboard
> manual for the type you should put into the computer. Compare this to the
> type and speed you bought- did you check at first- you haven't mentioned
> the types/speeds.
>
>
>
> "Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:u9nP6HNgFHA.3460@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>> Congratulations! You likely cracked the motherboard by pressing too hard
>> while trying to install the RAM upside down! Time to take it to a repair
>> shop.
>>
>> --
>> Regards,
>>
>> Richard Urban
>>
>> If you knew as much as you thought you know,
>> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>>
>>
>> "th0ne" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
>> news:3_1754295_a866fba22201e8c2ba0cea056620c642@windowsforumz.com...
>>> ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
>>> cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
>>> sound of somerthing moving, like a cable's come lose inside or
>>> something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
>>> i'm trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
>>> sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
>>> the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
>>> disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
>>> behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
>>> on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
>>> anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, i'm in a
>>> real mess, especialy as it's my parents machine not mine.....
>>>
>>> *update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
>>> new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
>>> there so i guess it's either broke or incompatible.....
>>>
>>> --
>>> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
>>> request
>>> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
>>> Topic URL:
>>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/Help---Support-RAM-hardware-nightmare-ftopict553073.html
>>> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse:
>>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1754295
>>
>>
>
>

Kllg
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
!


"Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:u9nP6HNgFHA.3460@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Congratulations! You likely cracked the motherboard by pressing too hard
> while trying to install the RAM upside down! Time to take it to a repair
> shop.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> If you knew as much as you thought you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>
> "th0ne" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
> news:3_1754295_a866fba22201e8c2ba0cea056620c642@windowsforumz.com...
>> ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
>> cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
>> sound of somerthing moving, like a cable's come lose inside or
>> something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
>> i'm trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
>> sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
>> the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
>> disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
>> behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
>> on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
>> anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, i'm in a
>> real mess, especialy as it's my parents machine not mine.....
>>
>> *update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
>> new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
>> there so i guess it's either broke or incompatible.....
>>
>> --
>> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
>> request
>> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
>> Topic URL:
>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/Help---Support-RAM-hardware-nightmare-ftopict553073.html
>> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse:
>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1754295
>
>

Verx
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
!


"Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:ev0v%23oNgFHA.2568@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> That does NOT mean that he hasn't cracked a trace. He heard the noise as
> he was trying to insert the RAM. I heard that noise about 14 years ago!
> Bad news.
>
> Something to watch out for in the way of an intermittent connection that
> makes/breaks with a change in temps.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> If you knew as much as you thought you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>
> "Alan Smith" <alan@hidden.email> wrote in message
> news:dac654$jo3$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
>> Did you read the last paragraph of his posting?
>> it starts: *update* it now runs fine with the old ram ........
>>
>> op-
>> There are lots of different memory types and speeds. Read the motherboard
>> manual for the type you should put into the computer. Compare this to the
>> type and speed you bought- did you check at first- you haven't mentioned
>> the types/speeds.
>>
>>
>>
>> "Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:u9nP6HNgFHA.3460@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>>> Congratulations! You likely cracked the motherboard by pressing too hard
>>> while trying to install the RAM upside down! Time to take it to a repair
>>> shop.
>>>
>>> --
>>> Regards,
>>>
>>> Richard Urban
>>>
>>> If you knew as much as you thought you know,
>>> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>>>
>>>
>>> "th0ne" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
>>> news:3_1754295_a866fba22201e8c2ba0cea056620c642@windowsforumz.com...
>>>> ok today i got a brand new gig of ram in the post, so i take the power
>>>> cable out, pop the box open, and start replacing the ram, i hear the
>>>> sound of somerthing moving, like a cable's come lose inside or
>>>> something but i cant see anything wrong so i carry on, after realising
>>>> i'm trying 2 put the new 1 in upside down i get it all installed then
>>>> sit back, turn the thing on and watch as the screen stays blanc and
>>>> the machine beeps at me every few seconds as i stare at it in
>>>> disbeliefe! not only that but i then put the old ram in and low and
>>>> behold it boots up but takes about 10mins 2 start up windows! (which
>>>> on 2.4gig 512mb machine is insane!) does anybody know what if
>>>> anything i might have unpluged or what the problem could be, i'm in a
>>>> real mess, especialy as it's my parents machine not mine.....
>>>>
>>>> *update* it now runs fine with the old ram in but still not with the
>>>> new stuff, if i put 1 of each in it runs as if the new stuff wasnt
>>>> there so i guess it's either broke or incompatible.....
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
>>>> request
>>>> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
>>>> Topic URL:
>>>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/Help---Support-RAM-hardware-nightmare-ftopict553073.html
>>>> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse:
>>>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1754295
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>


RAM/hardware nightmare!