HELP! Machine sets itself to an unusable resolution



Maury Markowitz
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
My aunt's computer exploded last week so a re-built it into an old case I
had, and set it up on my keyboard/mouse/screen. Now when she takes it home
and plugs it into her old 17" monitor, it always resets itself into an
unusable video mode.

I had her boot into safe mode and everything works fine. But I can't figure
out how to reset the resolution settings. No matter what I tried (over the
phone, you can imagine...) the machine resets itself back to that "bad" mode
after we exit safe mode.

Any ideas?!

Maury

Al Romanosky
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
Safe mode only provides standard VGA mode e.g. 16 colors, 600x480
resolution. Re install the original video card driver.

--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AL(KB3U) & Darlene Romanosky N. Ft.
Myers, FL
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maury Markowitz
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
"Al Romanosky" wrote:

> Safe mode only provides standard VGA mode e.g. 16 colors, 600x480
> resolution. Re install the original video card driver.

How? Can you install under safe mode?

Is there something else I can do? Like simply remove the driver in question?

VGA mode is perfectly fine.

Maury

DL
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
In hardware devices, remove the display adapter, Re boot and either allow
win to reinstall drivers or cancel the driver wizard Win will then boot to
std vga mode. From there you can install correct drivers

"Maury Markowitz" <MauryMarkowitz@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:7EE1B518-9DF2-4609-88D4-7CE003EB8992@microsoft.com...
> "Al Romanosky" wrote:
>
> > Safe mode only provides standard VGA mode e.g. 16 colors, 600x480
> > resolution. Re install the original video card driver.
>
> How? Can you install under safe mode?
>
> Is there something else I can do? Like simply remove the driver in
question?
>
> VGA mode is perfectly fine.
>
> Maury

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
Sure. Remove the drivers for the video card, reboot, and let the card be
re-detected. The system default drivers for that card will be installed.



--
Regards,

Richard Urban

If you knew as much as you thought you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"Maury Markowitz" <MauryMarkowitz@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:7EE1B518-9DF2-4609-88D4-7CE003EB8992@microsoft.com...
> "Al Romanosky" wrote:
>
>> Safe mode only provides standard VGA mode e.g. 16 colors, 600x480
>> resolution. Re install the original video card driver.
>
> How? Can you install under safe mode?
>
> Is there something else I can do? Like simply remove the driver in
> question?
>
> VGA mode is perfectly fine.
>
> Maury

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
Maury,
Your video card is not the issue. Your issue is you need to install the
Monitor driver for your aunt's specific monitor manufacturer and type. It
is very possible WinXP is detecting the wrong monitor type, thus yielding
the incorrect resolution. This is especially true with older, tube type
monitors, as there were so many different types, Windows couldn't possibly
contain them all. I also know this is true for my NEC LCD monitors,
although they work with the native generic LCD drivers, once I install the
NEC monitor drivers many other options become available, along with
additional refresh rates and capabilities.

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"Maury Markowitz" <MauryMarkowitz@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:C28C5E2B-B428-4B36-8426-13B6001C720B@microsoft.com...
> My aunt's computer exploded last week so a re-built it into an old case I
> had, and set it up on my keyboard/mouse/screen. Now when she takes it home
> and plugs it into her old 17" monitor, it always resets itself into an
> unusable video mode.
>
> I had her boot into safe mode and everything works fine. But I can't
> figure
> out how to reset the resolution settings. No matter what I tried (over the
> phone, you can imagine...) the machine resets itself back to that "bad"
> mode
> after we exit safe mode.
>
> Any ideas?!
>
> Maury


HELP! Machine sets itself to an unusable resolution