Run Away Process - vsmon - please help



Gilgamesh
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
The vsmon process on my system intermittently runs amok using aver 50% of
the CPU and preventing anything else from running. I tried cancelling the
process through task manager but it says I don't have authority (I have
admin privileges). I have run a full virus and spyware scan (using CA ez
Trust ezAntiVirus and Lavasoft AdAware Pro) but that showed up nothing. I'm
also using ZoneAlarm Pro.

The only thing that seems to fix it for a day or two is to reset my router
to factory default settings and then reload it off a backup I have.

My system is a P4 3.0Ghz
1Gb Ram
1.7Gb swap file
Windows XP SP2 Pro with all security patches installed
Router - Billion 7402

Thanks

MAP
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
Gilgamesh wrote:
> The vsmon process on my system intermittently runs amok using aver
> 50% of the CPU and preventing anything else from running. I tried
> cancelling the process through task manager but it says I don't have
> authority (I have admin privileges). I have run a full virus and
> spyware scan (using CA ez Trust ezAntiVirus and Lavasoft AdAware Pro)
> but that showed up nothing. I'm also using ZoneAlarm Pro.
>
> The only thing that seems to fix it for a day or two is to reset my
> router to factory default settings and then reload it off a backup I
> have.
>
> My system is a P4 3.0Ghz
> 1Gb Ram
> 1.7Gb swap file
> Windows XP SP2 Pro with all security patches installed
> Router - Billion 7402
>
> Thanks

vsmon.exe is part of Zone Alarm.

Dump Zone Alarm and try this one.

Sygate Personal Firewall (Free and up)
http://smb.sygate.com/free/spf_download.php

Or if you don't want to do that since you have the Pro version you might try
their forums.
http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/support/userForum/userForum_agreement.jsp?lid=tshome_userforum

--
Mike Pawlak

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
"Gilgamesh" <me@spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:OEPdJ73eFHA.3160@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> The vsmon process on my system intermittently runs amok using aver 50% of
> the CPU and preventing anything else from running. I tried cancelling the
> process through task manager but it says I don't have authority (I have
> admin privileges). I have run a full virus and spyware scan (using CA ez
> Trust ezAntiVirus and Lavasoft AdAware Pro) but that showed up nothing.
> I'm also using ZoneAlarm Pro.
>
> The only thing that seems to fix it for a day or two is to reset my router
> to factory default settings and then reload it off a backup I have.
>
> My system is a P4 3.0Ghz
> 1Gb Ram
> 1.7Gb swap file
> Windows XP SP2 Pro with all security patches installed
> Router - Billion 7402
>
> Thanks
>

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
VSMON is the True Vector service of Zone Alarm. Can't tell you why it is
'running amok'.........mine uses little, if any, cpu cycles. You might
want to try the FAQ section of Zone Labs for info.
Heirloom, old and mowed again

"Gilgamesh" <me@spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:OEPdJ73eFHA.3160@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> The vsmon process on my system intermittently runs amok using aver 50% of
> the CPU and preventing anything else from running. I tried cancelling the
> process through task manager but it says I don't have authority (I have
> admin privileges). I have run a full virus and spyware scan (using CA ez
> Trust ezAntiVirus and Lavasoft AdAware Pro) but that showed up nothing.
> I'm also using ZoneAlarm Pro.
>
> The only thing that seems to fix it for a day or two is to reset my router
> to factory default settings and then reload it off a backup I have.
>
> My system is a P4 3.0Ghz
> 1Gb Ram
> 1.7Gb swap file
> Windows XP SP2 Pro with all security patches installed
> Router - Billion 7402
>
> Thanks
>

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
After reading your post, I encountered the same thing. Vsmon is racking up
49-51% of the cpu cycles and bringing everything to a halt.....could not End
Task and had to power down to reboot. If I find the answer I will post
back, if you find it, please let me know!!
Heirloom, old and that's why one was
blank


"Heirloom" <roland58XX@XXcox.net> wrote in message
news:%23CuBo34eFHA.3328@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> VSMON is the True Vector service of Zone Alarm. Can't tell you why it is
> 'running amok'.........mine uses little, if any, cpu cycles. You might
> want to try the FAQ section of Zone Labs for info.
> Heirloom, old and mowed again
>
> "Gilgamesh" <me@spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
> news:OEPdJ73eFHA.3160@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>> The vsmon process on my system intermittently runs amok using aver 50% of
>> the CPU and preventing anything else from running. I tried cancelling
>> the process through task manager but it says I don't have authority (I
>> have admin privileges). I have run a full virus and spyware scan (using
>> CA ez Trust ezAntiVirus and Lavasoft AdAware Pro) but that showed up
>> nothing. I'm also using ZoneAlarm Pro.
>>
>> The only thing that seems to fix it for a day or two is to reset my
>> router to factory default settings and then reload it off a backup I
>> have.
>>
>> My system is a P4 3.0Ghz
>> 1Gb Ram
>> 1.7Gb swap file
>> Windows XP SP2 Pro with all security patches installed
>> Router - Billion 7402
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>
>

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
Rebooting didn't help......after a few attempts, I just shut down ZAPro and
all was back to normal. Usually, just shutting down ZAPro does not kill
True Vector, however, in this case it did. I turned on the Windows
firewall, ran the machine a while and all was well. I then turned ZAPro
back on and everything seems fine again. I don't have a clue.........
Heirloom, old and time for bed

"Heirloom" <roland58XX@XXcox.net> wrote in message
news:%238Tn7M5eFHA.2732@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> After reading your post, I encountered the same thing. Vsmon is racking
> up 49-51% of the cpu cycles and bringing everything to a halt.....could
> not End Task and had to power down to reboot. If I find the answer I
> will post back, if you find it, please let me know!!
> Heirloom, old and that's why one
> was blank
>
>
> "Heirloom" <roland58XX@XXcox.net> wrote in message
> news:%23CuBo34eFHA.3328@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>> VSMON is the True Vector service of Zone Alarm. Can't tell you why it
>> is 'running amok'.........mine uses little, if any, cpu cycles. You
>> might want to try the FAQ section of Zone Labs for info.
>> Heirloom, old and mowed again
>>
>> "Gilgamesh" <me@spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
>> news:OEPdJ73eFHA.3160@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>> The vsmon process on my system intermittently runs amok using aver 50%
>>> of the CPU and preventing anything else from running. I tried
>>> cancelling the process through task manager but it says I don't have
>>> authority (I have admin privileges). I have run a full virus and
>>> spyware scan (using CA ez Trust ezAntiVirus and Lavasoft AdAware Pro)
>>> but that showed up nothing. I'm also using ZoneAlarm Pro.
>>>
>>> The only thing that seems to fix it for a day or two is to reset my
>>> router to factory default settings and then reload it off a backup I
>>> have.
>>>
>>> My system is a P4 3.0Ghz
>>> 1Gb Ram
>>> 1.7Gb swap file
>>> Windows XP SP2 Pro with all security patches installed
>>> Router - Billion 7402
>>>
>>> Thanks
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

Chelsea
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
As mentioned VSmon is part of Zone Alarm and the TrueVector service. Are you
guys using the latest version of ZA there have been several updates released
since version 5.5 came out? For what its worth my vsmon is using 0% CPU but
appears to be a bit of a memory hog. You could try uninstalling ZA. You will
need to manually delete its folder. Now do a cold reboot of your system and
reinstall zone alarm.

Chelsea

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
......should mention that unistalling ZA requires making sure that True
Vector is NOT running at the time. Normally, closing of ZA usually does
not stop this process.
Re: the version.....yes, I am using the latest version of ZAPro and have not
had any problem until last night after reading the post from the OP.....then
mine did the same thing. I couldn't even shut down properly. I finally,
shut down ZAP (including the vsmon process) and started it again. I have
been seeing this anomoly pop up in a number of other NG's, but, have yet to
see a cause or resolution. Right now, mine is working fine and it is now
running with the Windows firewall.
Heirloom, old and double covered

"Chelsea" <gallium1@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:ei%23a2y8eFHA.3848@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> As mentioned VSmon is part of Zone Alarm and the TrueVector service. Are
> you guys using the latest version of ZA there have been several updates
> released since version 5.5 came out? For what its worth my vsmon is using
> 0% CPU but appears to be a bit of a memory hog. You could try uninstalling
> ZA. You will need to manually delete its folder. Now do a cold reboot of
> your system and reinstall zone alarm.
>
> Chelsea
>

Gilgamesh
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
"Heirloom" <roland58XX@XXcox.net> wrote in message
news:%23KkHol%23eFHA.3504@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> .....should mention that unistalling ZA requires making sure that True
> Vector is NOT running at the time. Normally, closing of ZA usually does
> not stop this process.
> Re: the version.....yes, I am using the latest version of ZAPro and have
> not

I too am running the latest verion of ZA Pro.

> had any problem until last night after reading the post from the
> OP.....then mine did the same thing. I couldn't even shut down properly.
> I finally, shut down ZAP (including the vsmon process) and started it
> again. I have been seeing this anomoly pop up in a number of other NG's,
> but, have yet to see a cause or resolution. Right now, mine is working
> fine and it is now running with the Windows firewall.
> Heirloom, old and double
> covered
>
> "Chelsea" <gallium1@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:ei%23a2y8eFHA.3848@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>> As mentioned VSmon is part of Zone Alarm and the TrueVector service. Are
>> you guys using the latest version of ZA there have been several updates
>> released since version 5.5 came out? For what its worth my vsmon is using
>> 0% CPU but appears to be a bit of a memory hog. You could try
>> uninstalling ZA. You will need to manually delete its folder. Now do a
>> cold reboot of your system and reinstall zone alarm.

I'll give this a try.
Thanks

>>
>> Chelsea
>>
>
>

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 01:34 AM
This, from another NG and the ZA Forums, posted by MAP:

5) ZA (vsmon) is using all my resources! First make sure that you do not
have MailSafe enabled and also have your antivirus scanning email
attachments. They may be conflicting. Some other causes will be resolved in
the next release of the product.

Heirloom, old and hope that helps


"Gilgamesh" <me@spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:%237clbq%23eFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> "Heirloom" <roland58XX@XXcox.net> wrote in message
> news:%23KkHol%23eFHA.3504@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>> .....should mention that unistalling ZA requires making sure that True
>> Vector is NOT running at the time. Normally, closing of ZA usually does
>> not stop this process.
>> Re: the version.....yes, I am using the latest version of ZAPro and have
>> not
>
> I too am running the latest verion of ZA Pro.
>
>> had any problem until last night after reading the post from the
>> OP.....then mine did the same thing. I couldn't even shut down
>> properly. I finally, shut down ZAP (including the vsmon process) and
>> started it again. I have been seeing this anomoly pop up in a number of
>> other NG's, but, have yet to see a cause or resolution. Right now, mine
>> is working fine and it is now running with the Windows firewall.
>> Heirloom, old and double
>> covered
>>
>> "Chelsea" <gallium1@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:ei%23a2y8eFHA.3848@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>>> As mentioned VSmon is part of Zone Alarm and the TrueVector service. Are
>>> you guys using the latest version of ZA there have been several updates
>>> released since version 5.5 came out? For what its worth my vsmon is
>>> using 0% CPU but appears to be a bit of a memory hog. You could try
>>> uninstalling ZA. You will need to manually delete its folder. Now do a
>>> cold reboot of your system and reinstall zone alarm.
>
> I'll give this a try.
> Thanks
>
>>>
>>> Chelsea
>>>
>>
>>
>
>


Run Away Process - vsmon - please help