I can't have accsess to one of the computers!



Humberto
07-10-2005, 01:33 AM
Here is my problem:

I have a home network with two PCs connected through a hub and that hub is
connected to a router and the router is connected to the Internet. It seems
that all the hardwares are functioning well once I can get access to the
Internet from both the computers. PC1 is running Windows XP Home Edition SP1
and PC2 is running Windows XP Professional SP2. From PC1 I can ping PC2, but
from PC2 I cannot ping PC1. The strange is that from PC2 I can see the PC1
under the Workgroup but I cannot see the shared folders in it. From PC1 I
have normal access to the shared folders in PC2. I have already run the
Network Wizard in both PCs exactly the same way. What could be the problem?

Chelsea
07-10-2005, 01:33 AM
Are you using your router as your firewall or is there a 3rd party firewall
or windows XP's firewall in operation? If you have an additional firewall
try switching it off and repeat the ping. If the ping now gets through you
will need to create a rule for your firewall that allows it to pass the ICMP
protocol. It might also be a good idea to open ports 137,138 and 139

Chelsea

Humberto
07-10-2005, 01:33 AM
Hi Chelsea!

I don't think my router has anything to do with this problem, since even
with the router off and disconnected from the hub I still cannot ping PC2. I
could solve the problem by disabling the firewall of the PC1. Is there
another alternative?

This is the message that I get from PC2 when the firewall in PC1 is on and I
try to ping it from PC2:

"\\PC1 is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network
resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have
access permissions.

The network path was not found."


"Chelsea" wrote:

> Are you using your router as your firewall or is there a 3rd party firewall
> or windows XP's firewall in operation? If you have an additional firewall
> try switching it off and repeat the ping. If the ping now gets through you
> will need to create a rule for your firewall that allows it to pass the ICMP
> protocol. It might also be a good idea to open ports 137,138 and 139
>
> Chelsea
>
>
>


I can't have accsess to one of the computers!