Help me having problem with scanning my computer



dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down my
computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it does it to
all of them
spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
this problem.

Fitz
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
Are you running your scans in Safe Mode?


"dawn" <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:99B09AA2-A100-41A4-9647-080DBFEED067@microsoft.com...
> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down
> my
> computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it does it
> to
> all of them
> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
> this problem.

dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
Yes and still cant scan even in safe mode it does the samethang in safe mode

"dawn" wrote:

> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down my
> computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it does it to
> all of them
> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
> this problem.

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
Dawn,

Have you updated Ad-Aware & Spybot - S & D?

Ad-Aware has a way newer version.

Ad-aware SE Personal
http://www.lavasoft.de/support/download/

Spybot - S & D is at version 1.4.0.3

Spybot S & D
http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?lang=en&page=download

You may have CoolWebSearch.

CoolWebSearch may be causing the Ad-aware problem.

Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0
and
CWShredder

CWShredder ver. 2.15
http://aumha.org/freeware/freeware.php#cwshred

CWShredder ver. 2.13 direct download:
http://www.aumha.org/downloads/cwshredder.zip

Ad-aware Cloak 1.0
[[Ad-aware Cloak is designed to allow Ad-aware to open fully when there are
items on the system which close Ad-aware when it attempts to start, such as
some CoolWebSearch variants. To use Ad-aware Cloak, save it to your system,
and run the program before opening Ad-aware. Once Ad-aware Cloak opens,
click "Activate Cloak" and then open Ad-aware and scan as normal. When you
are done using Ad-aware, close
Ad-aware Cloak. ]]
http://www.lavasoftnews.com/theeye/i17/a4.html

Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 here...
http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/1075830644/1

Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 here...
http://www.softpedia.com/public/cat/10/17/10-17-158.shtml

Direct Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 here...
http://www.lavasoftnews.com/downloads/AAWCloak.exe


--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:F90CDF07-32C3-491C-BF55-B091259B8358@microsoft.com,
dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> Yes and still cant scan even in safe mode it does the samethang in safe
> mode
>
> "dawn" wrote:
>
>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down
>> my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it
>> does it to all of them
>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
>> this problem.

dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
I have every thing updated the only one I do not have that you have listed is
adware cloak 1.0. Im going to down load it right now to see if it will work
for me Thanks Dawn
"Wesley Vogel" wrote:

> Dawn,
>
> Have you updated Ad-Aware & Spybot - S & D?
>
> Ad-Aware has a way newer version.
>
> Ad-aware SE Personal
> http://www.lavasoft.de/support/download/
>
> Spybot - S & D is at version 1.4.0.3
>
> Spybot S & D
> http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?lang=en&page=download
>
> You may have CoolWebSearch.
>
> CoolWebSearch may be causing the Ad-aware problem.
>
> Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0
> and
> CWShredder
>
> CWShredder ver. 2.15
> http://aumha.org/freeware/freeware.php#cwshred
>
> CWShredder ver. 2.13 direct download:
> http://www.aumha.org/downloads/cwshredder.zip
>
> Ad-aware Cloak 1.0
> [[Ad-aware Cloak is designed to allow Ad-aware to open fully when there are
> items on the system which close Ad-aware when it attempts to start, such as
> some CoolWebSearch variants. To use Ad-aware Cloak, save it to your system,
> and run the program before opening Ad-aware. Once Ad-aware Cloak opens,
> click "Activate Cloak" and then open Ad-aware and scan as normal. When you
> are done using Ad-aware, close
> Ad-aware Cloak. ]]
> http://www.lavasoftnews.com/theeye/i17/a4.html
>
> Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 here...
> http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/1075830644/1
>
> Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 here...
> http://www.softpedia.com/public/cat/10/17/10-17-158.shtml
>
> Direct Download Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 here...
> http://www.lavasoftnews.com/downloads/AAWCloak.exe
>
>
> --
> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>
> Wes
> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>
> In news:F90CDF07-32C3-491C-BF55-B091259B8358@microsoft.com,
> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> > Yes and still cant scan even in safe mode it does the samethang in safe
> > mode
> >
> > "dawn" wrote:
> >
> >> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down
> >> my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it
> >> does it to all of them
> >> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
> >> this problem.
>
>

dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
I downloaded the
adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting down
when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan. should I
not worry about them Thanks Dawn

"dawn" wrote:

> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down my
> computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it does it to
> all of them
> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
> this problem.

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
Dawn,

What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?

--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> I downloaded the
> adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting down
> when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan. should I
> not worry about them Thanks Dawn
>
> "dawn" wrote:
>
>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down
>> my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it
>> does it to all of them
>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
>> this problem.

dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
I was able to run adware with adware cloak 1.0 without shutting down this
time YEA!!! can I run adware cloak with spy bot 1.4 and Mcafee. I havent
tried spy bot or McAfee to see if they still shut down, yesterday when I ran
spy bot it shut down when it got to (coupons & offers )
When I scan it shuts down the computer it self I have to push the reset and
push the button to turn it back on.
Dawn

"Wesley Vogel" wrote:

> Dawn,
>
> What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?
>
> --
> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>
> Wes
> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>
> In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> > I downloaded the
> > adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting down
> > when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan. should I
> > not worry about them Thanks Dawn
> >
> > "dawn" wrote:
> >
> >> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts down
> >> my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but it
> >> does it to all of them
> >> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in fixing
> >> this problem.
>
>

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
I do not beleive that Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 works with with spy bot 1.4 and
Mcafee. You can try.

--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:1362F701-4D58-43D8-ABCC-5EAD28E4B2BA@microsoft.com,
dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> I was able to run adware with adware cloak 1.0 without shutting down this
> time YEA!!! can I run adware cloak with spy bot 1.4 and Mcafee. I
> havent tried spy bot or McAfee to see if they still shut down, yesterday
> when I ran spy bot it shut down when it got to (coupons & offers )
> When I scan it shuts down the computer it self I have to push the reset
> and push the button to turn it back on.
> Dawn
>
> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
>
>> Dawn,
>>
>> What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?
>>
>> --
>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>
>> Wes
>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>
>> In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
>>> I downloaded the
>>> adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting down
>>> when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan.
>>> should I not worry about them Thanks Dawn
>>>
>>> "dawn" wrote:
>>>
>>>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts
>>>> down my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but
>>>> it does it to all of them
>>>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in
>>>> fixing this problem.

dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
No it doesnt work with spybot or McAfee but when I did scan in spybot it shut
down when it gets to (gain gator) then it shuts down so I think I'm going to
have someone look at my computer because I dont know what is going on with it
at this time Thank You for your help you did get adware going for me .
Dawn

"Wesley Vogel" wrote:

> I do not beleive that Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 works with with spy bot 1.4 and
> Mcafee. You can try.
>
> --
> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>
> Wes
> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>
> In news:1362F701-4D58-43D8-ABCC-5EAD28E4B2BA@microsoft.com,
> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> > I was able to run adware with adware cloak 1.0 without shutting down this
> > time YEA!!! can I run adware cloak with spy bot 1.4 and Mcafee. I
> > havent tried spy bot or McAfee to see if they still shut down, yesterday
> > when I ran spy bot it shut down when it got to (coupons & offers )
> > When I scan it shuts down the computer it self I have to push the reset
> > and push the button to turn it back on.
> > Dawn
> >
> > "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
> >
> >> Dawn,
> >>
> >> What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?
> >>
> >> --
> >> Hope this helps. Let us know.
> >>
> >> Wes
> >> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
> >>
> >> In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
> >> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> >>> I downloaded the
> >>> adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting down
> >>> when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan.
> >>> should I not worry about them Thanks Dawn
> >>>
> >>> "dawn" wrote:
> >>>
> >>>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts
> >>>> down my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all but
> >>>> it does it to all of them
> >>>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in
> >>>> fixing this problem.
>
>

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
Dawn,

gain gator is scumware. Didn't Ad-Aware find it?

--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:67ED30BB-2040-4E18-806C-B290F0DE8C59@microsoft.com,
dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> No it doesnt work with spybot or McAfee but when I did scan in spybot it
> shut down when it gets to (gain gator) then it shuts down so I think I'm
> going to have someone look at my computer because I dont know what is
> going on with it at this time Thank You for your help you did get
> adware going for me . Dawn
>
> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
>
>> I do not beleive that Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 works with with spy bot 1.4 and
>> Mcafee. You can try.
>>
>> --
>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>
>> Wes
>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>
>> In news:1362F701-4D58-43D8-ABCC-5EAD28E4B2BA@microsoft.com,
>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
>>> I was able to run adware with adware cloak 1.0 without shutting down
>>> this time YEA!!! can I run adware cloak with spy bot 1.4 and Mcafee.
>>> I havent tried spy bot or McAfee to see if they still shut down,
>>> yesterday when I ran spy bot it shut down when it got to (coupons &
>>> offers )
>>> When I scan it shuts down the computer it self I have to push the reset
>>> and push the button to turn it back on.
>>> Dawn
>>>
>>> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
>>>
>>>> Dawn,
>>>>
>>>> What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>>>
>>>> Wes
>>>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>>>
>>>> In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
>>>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
>>>>> I downloaded the
>>>>> adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting
>>>>> down when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan.
>>>>> should I not worry about them Thanks Dawn
>>>>>
>>>>> "dawn" wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts
>>>>>> down my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all
>>>>>> but it does it to all of them
>>>>>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in
>>>>>> fixing this problem.

dawn
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
No it did not because I scan with adware first and it scan ok then after that
I just wanted to see if spybot scaned , thats when I found it in spybot and
(gain gator)it shut down my computer. Is there something esle to use to
remove this scumware. adware didnt get it Dawn

"Wesley Vogel" wrote:

> Dawn,
>
> gain gator is scumware. Didn't Ad-Aware find it?
>
> --
> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>
> Wes
> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>
> In news:67ED30BB-2040-4E18-806C-B290F0DE8C59@microsoft.com,
> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> > No it doesnt work with spybot or McAfee but when I did scan in spybot it
> > shut down when it gets to (gain gator) then it shuts down so I think I'm
> > going to have someone look at my computer because I dont know what is
> > going on with it at this time Thank You for your help you did get
> > adware going for me . Dawn
> >
> > "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
> >
> >> I do not beleive that Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 works with with spy bot 1.4 and
> >> Mcafee. You can try.
> >>
> >> --
> >> Hope this helps. Let us know.
> >>
> >> Wes
> >> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
> >>
> >> In news:1362F701-4D58-43D8-ABCC-5EAD28E4B2BA@microsoft.com,
> >> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> >>> I was able to run adware with adware cloak 1.0 without shutting down
> >>> this time YEA!!! can I run adware cloak with spy bot 1.4 and Mcafee.
> >>> I havent tried spy bot or McAfee to see if they still shut down,
> >>> yesterday when I ran spy bot it shut down when it got to (coupons &
> >>> offers )
> >>> When I scan it shuts down the computer it self I have to push the reset
> >>> and push the button to turn it back on.
> >>> Dawn
> >>>
> >>> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
> >>>
> >>>> Dawn,
> >>>>
> >>>> What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?
> >>>>
> >>>> --
> >>>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
> >>>>
> >>>> Wes
> >>>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
> >>>>
> >>>> In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
> >>>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> >>>>> I downloaded the
> >>>>> adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting
> >>>>> down when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant scan.
> >>>>> should I not worry about them Thanks Dawn
> >>>>>
> >>>>> "dawn" wrote:
> >>>>>
> >>>>>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts
> >>>>>> down my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all
> >>>>>> but it does it to all of them
> >>>>>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in
> >>>>>> fixing this problem.
>
>

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 01:32 AM
Dawn,

Keep this in mind...
[[Uninstall notice for Gator Advertising Information Network (GAIN)
Notice that removing Gator Advertising Information Network (GAIN) may cause
the program that bundled it to not function as intended.]]

That said. There is a removal tool here for Gator...
Removal using the Adware.Gator Removal Tool
Symantec Security Response - Adware.Gator
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/adware.gator.html

Scroll down to Manual removal here....
Gator Advertising Information Network (GAIN)
http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/library/gain/index.phtml

Gain / Gator / Claria Removal
http://www.iamnotageek.com/a/180-p1.php

--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:A71722B0-F3A7-486C-AE51-0D647715FFE5@microsoft.com,
dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> No it did not because I scan with adware first and it scan ok then after
> that I just wanted to see if spybot scaned , thats when I found it in
> spybot and (gain gator)it shut down my computer. Is there something esle
> to use to remove this scumware. adware didnt get it Dawn
>
> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
>
>> Dawn,
>>
>> gain gator is scumware. Didn't Ad-Aware find it?
>>
>> --
>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>
>> Wes
>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>
>> In news:67ED30BB-2040-4E18-806C-B290F0DE8C59@microsoft.com,
>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
>>> No it doesnt work with spybot or McAfee but when I did scan in spybot it
>>> shut down when it gets to (gain gator) then it shuts down so I think I'm
>>> going to have someone look at my computer because I dont know what is
>>> going on with it at this time Thank You for your help you did get
>>> adware going for me . Dawn
>>>
>>> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
>>>
>>>> I do not beleive that Ad-aware Cloak 1.0 works with with spy bot 1.4
>>>> and Mcafee. You can try.
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>>>
>>>> Wes
>>>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>>>
>>>> In news:1362F701-4D58-43D8-ABCC-5EAD28E4B2BA@microsoft.com,
>>>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
>>>>> I was able to run adware with adware cloak 1.0 without shutting down
>>>>> this time YEA!!! can I run adware cloak with spy bot 1.4 and
>>>>> Mcafee. I havent tried spy bot or McAfee to see if they still shut
>>>>> down, yesterday when I ran spy bot it shut down when it got to
>>>>> (coupons & offers )
>>>>> When I scan it shuts down the computer it self I have to push the
>>>>> reset and push the button to turn it back on.
>>>>> Dawn
>>>>>
>>>>> "Wesley Vogel" wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>> Dawn,
>>>>>>
>>>>>> What, exactly, shuts down during a scan?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> --
>>>>>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Wes
>>>>>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>>>>>
>>>>>> In news:93392B95-DFF9-4551-B5E5-8D5B794E0CEF@microsoft.com,
>>>>>> dawn <dawn@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
>>>>>>> I downloaded the
>>>>>>> adware cloak 1.0 I had no problem with adware se personal shuting
>>>>>>> down when I scan. so what doI do about the other ones that cant
>>>>>>> scan. should I not worry about them Thanks Dawn
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> "dawn" wrote:
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> HI Im having problem with scanning my computer when i scan it shuts
>>>>>>>> down my computer in the middle of scan. I have these and tried all
>>>>>>>> but it does it to all of them
>>>>>>>> spy bot 1.4 adware 1.06 and McAfee 9.1 online scan. Is the help in
>>>>>>>> fixing this problem.


Help me having problem with scanning my computer