Scannow



Ken Battye
07-10-2005, 02:29 AM
I am told to use scannow to check that all files are installed correctly and
if corrupted will be replaced automatically. However when I place the correct
instruction into the run dialogue box and ask it to run nothing happens?? How
can I rectify this??
Thanks
--
Ken

Will Denny
07-10-2005, 02:29 AM
Hi Ken

Are you using the correct command:

sfc /scannow

Please note the space between the c and /.

--

Will Denny
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
Please reply to the News Groups


"Ken Battye" <kenbattye@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:E59ECB5C-4DC4-4CB1-AB88-67357D0C1034@microsoft.com...
>I am told to use scannow to check that all files are installed correctly
>and
> if corrupted will be replaced automatically. However when I place the
> correct
> instruction into the run dialogue box and ask it to run nothing happens??
> How
> can I rectify this??
> Thanks
> --
> Ken

Ken Battye
07-10-2005, 02:29 AM
Hello Denny - Thanks for response. Unfortunayely I am doing this and have
made sure that the space is there!! Ano other ideas?
Thanks

--
Ken


"Will Denny" wrote:

> Hi Ken
>
> Are you using the correct command:
>
> sfc /scannow
>
> Please note the space between the c and /.
>
> --
>
> Will Denny
> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
> Please reply to the News Groups
>
>
> "Ken Battye" <kenbattye@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:E59ECB5C-4DC4-4CB1-AB88-67357D0C1034@microsoft.com...
> >I am told to use scannow to check that all files are installed correctly
> >and
> > if corrupted will be replaced automatically. However when I place the
> > correct
> > instruction into the run dialogue box and ask it to run nothing happens??
> > How
> > can I rectify this??
> > Thanks
> > --
> > Ken
>
>
>

Will Denny
07-10-2005, 02:29 AM
Hi Ken

Try

sfc /scannow

from a command prompt.

--

Will Denny
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
Please reply to the News Groups


"Ken Battye" <kenbattye@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:22815E17-DB6C-402B-8012-D9D7B4118167@microsoft.com...
> Hello Denny - Thanks for response. Unfortunayely I am doing this and have
> made sure that the space is there!! Ano other ideas?
> Thanks
>
> --
> Ken
>
>
> "Will Denny" wrote:
>
>> Hi Ken
>>
>> Are you using the correct command:
>>
>> sfc /scannow
>>
>> Please note the space between the c and /.
>>
>> --
>>
>> Will Denny
>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>> Please reply to the News Groups
>>
>>
>> "Ken Battye" <kenbattye@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
>> news:E59ECB5C-4DC4-4CB1-AB88-67357D0C1034@microsoft.com...
>> >I am told to use scannow to check that all files are installed correctly
>> >and
>> > if corrupted will be replaced automatically. However when I place the
>> > correct
>> > instruction into the run dialogue box and ask it to run nothing
>> > happens??
>> > How
>> > can I rectify this??
>> > Thanks
>> > --
>> > Ken
>>
>>
>>


Scannow