Screen is shaking



Tripp
07-10-2005, 02:28 AM
My computer was giving me a message saying that I have no sound device
installed but I fixed that by downloading another Multimedia Audio Controller
(that was the problem). But, ever since then, my computer's screen has been
"shaking." It doesn't flicker, my whole desktop or whatever I have up on the
screen, just starts moving and shaking. Can anyone help me fix this because
it's really annoying me! thanks!

shakey
07-10-2005, 02:28 AM
"Tripp" <Tripp@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A6A50E86-B979-41EF-8845-585856DFDD7A@microsoft.com...
> My computer was giving me a message saying that I have no sound device
> installed but I fixed that by downloading another Multimedia Audio
> Controller
> (that was the problem). But, ever since then, my computer's screen has
> been
> "shaking." It doesn't flicker, my whole desktop or whatever I have up on
> the
> screen, just starts moving and shaking. Can anyone help me fix this
> because
> it's really annoying me! thanks!

Move out of California.
Sorry couldn't resist it.

Winguy
07-10-2005, 02:28 AM
"Tripp" <Tripp@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A6A50E86-B979-41EF-8845-585856DFDD7A@microsoft.com...
> My computer was giving me a message saying that I have no sound device
> installed but I fixed that by downloading another Multimedia Audio
> Controller
> (that was the problem). But, ever since then, my computer's screen has
> been
> "shaking." It doesn't flicker, my whole desktop or whatever I have up on
> the
> screen, just starts moving and shaking. Can anyone help me fix this
> because
> it's really annoying me! thanks!

Try switching your monitor to a different screen refresh rate. Make sure
that you DO have a checkmark in the box that says "Hide modes that this
monitor cannot display". To get there, right-click an empty area on your
desktop, select Properties, then the Settings tab, then the Advanced button,
then the Monitor tab. You probably have it set at 60 Hertz, which (compared
to other modes) is rather sensitive to external magnetic fields associated
with running motors, especially to big motors such as in an air conditioner.
It's surprising how far away the motor can be and still affect a monitor
display! Also, go to Radio Shack or other electrical supply house and get a
cheap AC Power Wall Tester, then be real concerned and contact an
electrician if it shows the wall socket is wired incorrect or not grounded.
Switching power supplies, used in computers, really need a ground to operate
properly (they reference it) and without a ground both the computer power
supply and the computer itself could get damaged easily.


Screen is shaking