connecting to a domnain



Kevin Morrill
07-10-2005, 02:25 AM
I am having problems connecting this computer to my domain. My boss just
bought a brand new dell with xp media center edition on it. But when I try
to hook it up to our domain it won't allow me too. I am trying to hook it
up like have every other xp or 2000 system but it won't allow me to select
domain. Workgroup stays highlighted. Please help

thanks

Nepatsfan
07-10-2005, 02:25 AM
Kevin Morrill wrote:
> I am having problems connecting this computer to my domain.
> My boss just bought a brand new dell with xp media center
> edition on it. But when I try to hook it up to our domain
> it won't allow me too. I am trying to hook it up like have
> every other xp or 2000 system but it won't allow me to
> select domain. Workgroup stays highlighted. Please help
>
> thanks

Sorry to tell you this but a PC with Windows XP Media Edition
2005 cannot be joined to a domain.

Take a look here for more info:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;887212

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/evaluation/faq.mspx

Quoting from the second article:
"While you can access network resources on a work network or a
domain, you cannot join a Windows XP Media Center 2005 PC to
the domain. PCs running Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
are designed specifically for home use. Professional features,
specifically Domain Join and Cached Credentials (Credentials
Manager for logins) are not included. As a result, you will be
prompted for your login username/password to access network
resources after a reboot or logging back into the PC. In
addition, file shares or network resources set to require a
domain-joined PC for access will not be available. Remote
Desktop and Encrypting File System support are still included."

Unless your boss has a compelling reason to have MCE installed
on a computer you might want to tell him to ship this one back
and order a Dell with XP Pro installed.

Good luck

Nepatsfan

Kevin Morrill
07-10-2005, 02:25 AM
"Nepatsfan" <nepatsfan@SBXXXIX.com> wrote in message
news:tJidnRF0P7QAZTPfRVn-gw@comcast.com...
> Kevin Morrill wrote:
> > I am having problems connecting this computer to my domain.
> > My boss just bought a brand new dell with xp media center
> > edition on it. But when I try to hook it up to our domain
> > it won't allow me too. I am trying to hook it up like have
> > every other xp or 2000 system but it won't allow me to
> > select domain. Workgroup stays highlighted. Please help
> >
> > thanks
>
> Sorry to tell you this but a PC with Windows XP Media Edition
> 2005 cannot be joined to a domain.
>
> Take a look here for more info:
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;887212
>
> http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/evaluation/faq.mspx
>
> Quoting from the second article:
> "While you can access network resources on a work network or a
> domain, you cannot join a Windows XP Media Center 2005 PC to
> the domain. PCs running Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
> are designed specifically for home use. Professional features,
> specifically Domain Join and Cached Credentials (Credentials
> Manager for logins) are not included. As a result, you will be
> prompted for your login username/password to access network
> resources after a reboot or logging back into the PC. In
> addition, file shares or network resources set to require a
> domain-joined PC for access will not be available. Remote
> Desktop and Encrypting File System support are still included."
>
> Unless your boss has a compelling reason to have MCE installed
> on a computer you might want to tell him to ship this one back
> and order a Dell with XP Pro installed.
>
> Good luck
>
> Nepatsfan
>
>
>

Thanks I appreciate your help and that is what my fear was. I will have to
let him know. Thanks agiain for your help.

Bruce Chambers
07-10-2005, 02:25 AM
Kevin Morrill wrote:
> I am having problems connecting this computer to my domain. My boss just
> bought a brand new dell with xp media center edition on it. But when I try
> to hook it up to our domain it won't allow me too.


That's correct. WinXP MCE 2005 is not designed to be able to join a
domain.




--

Bruce Chambers

Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having
both at once. - RAH


connecting to a domnain