new hard drive



Tricia
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
Hi I wonder if this will work? I have my computer set up the way I want it
and I am going to get a bigger hard drive. If I connect the new hard drive
as the master, install Windows XP Pro on it, then re-connect my old drive
as the master and the new drive as the slave, if I then copy all the files
on the old drive to the new drive, overwriting any existing files, then
connect the new drive back as the master will my Windows XP be exactly the
same as my old drive but on a bigger drive?. Or is there an easier free
method?
Thanks Tricia

Jerry
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
XP comes with FAST (Files and Settings Transfer) wizard. Check it out to see
if it will do what you want. It is in Accessories > System Tools.

"Tricia" <tricialal2000@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:uH$oEl6aFHA.1360@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>
> Hi I wonder if this will work? I have my computer set up the way I want it
> and I am going to get a bigger hard drive. If I connect the new hard drive
> as the master, install Windows XP Pro on it, then re-connect my old drive
> as the master and the new drive as the slave, if I then copy all the files
> on the old drive to the new drive, overwriting any existing files, then
> connect the new drive back as the master will my Windows XP be exactly the
> same as my old drive but on a bigger drive?. Or is there an easier free
> method?
> Thanks Tricia
>
>
>

neil
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
It might work but I think it's a bit unlikely. A number of hard drive
manufacturers provide a copying program to download to do what you are
trying to achieve, so try their website.

Neil
"Tricia" <tricialal2000@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:uH$oEl6aFHA.1360@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Hi I wonder if this will work? I have my computer set up the way I want it
> and I am going to get a bigger hard drive. If I connect the new hard drive
> as the master, install Windows XP Pro on it, then re-connect my old drive
> as the master and the new drive as the slave, if I then copy all the files
> on the old drive to the new drive, overwriting any existing files, then
> connect the new drive back as the master will my Windows XP be exactly the
> same as my old drive but on a bigger drive?. Or is there an easier free
> method?
> Thanks Tricia
>
>

Heirloom
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
In addition to Jerry's good words.........if the drives are Maxtor's, you
can download a utility from their site, called Maxblast, that will "clone"
your old drive to the new.
Heirloom, old and now use Acronis

"Jerry" <NoSpamChiefZeke@MSN.com> wrote in message
news:uOrr8r6aFHA.3048@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>
> XP comes with FAST (Files and Settings Transfer) wizard. Check it out to
> see if it will do what you want. It is in Accessories > System Tools.
>
> "Tricia" <tricialal2000@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:uH$oEl6aFHA.1360@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>>
>> Hi I wonder if this will work? I have my computer set up the way I want
>> it and I am going to get a bigger hard drive. If I connect the new hard
>> drive as the master, install Windows XP Pro on it, then re-connect my
>> old drive as the master and the new drive as the slave, if I then copy
>> all the files on the old drive to the new drive, overwriting any existing
>> files, then connect the new drive back as the master will my Windows XP
>> be exactly the same as my old drive but on a bigger drive?. Or is there
>> an easier free method?
>> Thanks Tricia
>>
>>
>>
>
>
>

David Rios
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
It WILL work.

Just make sure you don't mix up which one is slave and master. Also, if
they are two different brands sometimes they conflict with eachother.

But the simple way:

Connect new drive and remove old.
Install Windows
Connect Old as slave.
Boot from your new (master) drive.
Grab your files off your old (slave) drive.


I do it all of the time at my Site.
_______

-David Rios

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
"Tricia" <tricialal2000@yahoo.co.uk> wrote:

>Hi I wonder if this will work? I have my computer set up the way I want it
>and I am going to get a bigger hard drive. If I connect the new hard drive
>as the master, install Windows XP Pro on it, then re-connect my old drive
>as the master and the new drive as the slave, if I then copy all the files
>on the old drive to the new drive, overwriting any existing files, then
>connect the new drive back as the master will my Windows XP be exactly the
>same as my old drive but on a bigger drive?. Or is there an easier free
>method?
>Thanks Tricia
>

Go to the hard drive manufacturer's web site and download their (free)
disk cloning utility and use it to copy the content of the old drive
to the new one.

Trying to do it the way you describe would be risky and time
consuming, because not all files would be copied.

Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm

David Rios
07-10-2005, 02:21 AM
System files, and program files would not be coppied. But any/all documents
you manually copy would be.

No more risky than the copy utility and, at least for me, takes LESS time.

That is if you dont mind re-installing your programs.

-David Rios

"Ron Martell" <ron.martell@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:5slca153mfoce9qah2igar73tel8kt1anu@4ax.com...
> "Tricia" <tricialal2000@yahoo.co.uk> wrote:
>
>>Hi I wonder if this will work? I have my computer set up the way I want it
>>and I am going to get a bigger hard drive. If I connect the new hard drive
>>as the master, install Windows XP Pro on it, then re-connect my old drive
>>as the master and the new drive as the slave, if I then copy all the files
>>on the old drive to the new drive, overwriting any existing files, then
>>connect the new drive back as the master will my Windows XP be exactly the
>>same as my old drive but on a bigger drive?. Or is there an easier free
>>method?
>>Thanks Tricia
>>
>
> Go to the hard drive manufacturer's web site and download their (free)
> disk cloning utility and use it to copy the content of the old drive
> to the new one.
>
> Trying to do it the way you describe would be risky and time
> consuming, because not all files would be copied.
>
> Good luck
>
>
> Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
> --
> Microsoft MVP
> On-Line Help Computer Service
> http://onlinehelp.bc.ca
>
> In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
> http://aumha.org/alex.htm


new hard drive