Desktop to Laptop



Soofsa
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
I bought a laptop recently and I am wanting to transfer files from my desktop
to the new laptop. I really am not trying to create a network. I am just
wanting to send the files from one to the other.
Is it possible to do this without a lot of headache?

Andrew E.
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
Actually its quite easy,in desktop,open file transfer wizard,set as old
computer,
select files/settings to save,save in a new folder you create,once the
wizard is
thru,move the folder to a cd.On laptop,set as new,browse for files,locate
folder
on cd.

"Soofsa" wrote:

> I bought a laptop recently and I am wanting to transfer files from my desktop
> to the new laptop. I really am not trying to create a network. I am just
> wanting to send the files from one to the other.
> Is it possible to do this without a lot of headache?

Nathan
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
or buy a mover program from a computer store.

--
Nathan Parker
nathan@hsnp.com
http://wx.findu.com/CW1527



"Andrew E." <eckrichco@msn.com> wrote in message
news:EB420B90-41B4-440B-B00D-C214CF898917@microsoft.com...
> Actually its quite easy,in desktop,open file transfer wizard,set as old
> computer,
> select files/settings to save,save in a new folder you create,once the
> wizard is
> thru,move the folder to a cd.On laptop,set as new,browse for files,locate
> folder
> on cd.
>
> "Soofsa" wrote:
>
> > I bought a laptop recently and I am wanting to transfer files from my
desktop
> > to the new laptop. I really am not trying to create a network. I am just
> > wanting to send the files from one to the other.
> > Is it possible to do this without a lot of headache?

BAR
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
If the Desktop has an Ethernet port [there is a 99% chance that your new
laptop has one] then buy a 'straight through' ethernet cable {$5.00} and
plug it into both PCs.

Set up your network using the network setup wizrd [very easy to manage] and
then run FAST on old PC and save the files to a folder on the new laptop.

Run FAST on the Laptop to 'import' the FAST file that you created.

Burning onto a CD is OK if you only have small quantities of data <500Mb or
thereabouts, but most folks have Gbs of data these days.

"Nathan" wrote:

> or buy a mover program from a computer store.
>
> --
> Nathan Parker
> nathan@hsnp.com
> http://wx.findu.com/CW1527
>
>
>
> "Andrew E." <eckrichco@msn.com> wrote in message
> news:EB420B90-41B4-440B-B00D-C214CF898917@microsoft.com...
> > Actually its quite easy,in desktop,open file transfer wizard,set as old
> > computer,
> > select files/settings to save,save in a new folder you create,once the
> > wizard is
> > thru,move the folder to a cd.On laptop,set as new,browse for files,locate
> > folder
> > on cd.
> >
> > "Soofsa" wrote:
> >
> > > I bought a laptop recently and I am wanting to transfer files from my
> desktop
> > > to the new laptop. I really am not trying to create a network. I am just
> > > wanting to send the files from one to the other.
> > > Is it possible to do this without a lot of headache?
>
>
>

Jack
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
BAR, didn't you mean a "crossover cable" ?
a straight through cable won't work in this situation.

Dennis Marks
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
If you want to transfer files only (no programs), the easiest way is with a
USB jumpdrive. They are the size of a package of gum. They are now available
with up to 1 gb of memory for under $100. Plug into a USB port on one
computer, copy files to it, plug into the new computer, copy files.

"Soofsa" <Soofsa@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:CB4043D4-1471-4D15-AB7F-E7B7D91901F9@microsoft.com...
>I bought a laptop recently and I am wanting to transfer files from my
>desktop
> to the new laptop. I really am not trying to create a network. I am just
> wanting to send the files from one to the other.
> Is it possible to do this without a lot of headache?

Rik Bean
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
BAR Wrote:
> If the Desktop has an Ethernet port [there is a 99% chance that your
> new
> laptop has one] then buy a 'straight through' ethernet cable {$5.00}
> and
> plug it into both PCs.
>
>

Surely that should be a crossover ethernet cable if there's no
switch/hub/router involved?


--
Rik Bean


Desktop to Laptop