New motherboard and processor - win xp?



Pete
07-10-2005, 02:14 AM
I'm about to install a new motherboard, processor and matching memory
in my pc, keeping the same hard drive.

Will I have an issue with XP registration? I've taken part in the
genuine check thingy - but will I have to re-register, and is that
permitted?

TIA, pete

Cari \(MS-MVP\)
07-10-2005, 02:14 AM
You will have to do a Repair Installation.
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
--
Cari
(MS-MVP Printing & Imaging)


"Pete" <peteroe@REMOVETHISwritebros.org> wrote in message
news:rf9p91dv18rrfp8m3bigscliimskonolet@4ax.com...
> I'm about to install a new motherboard, processor and matching memory
> in my pc, keeping the same hard drive.
>
> Will I have an issue with XP registration? I've taken part in the
> genuine check thingy - but will I have to re-register, and is that
> permitted?
>
> TIA, pete
>

River_Rat
07-10-2005, 02:14 AM
Registration is strictly voluntary.
Activation is mandatory.
http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.htm

You will be making enough changes that a repair install & new activation
will be required.

--
Good Day
River Rat




"Cari (MS-MVP)" <Newsgroups1@coribright.com> wrote in message
news:Ow48PwgZFHA.1868@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
You will have to do a Repair Installation.
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
--
Cari
(MS-MVP Printing & Imaging)


"Pete" <peteroe@REMOVETHISwritebros.org> wrote in message
news:rf9p91dv18rrfp8m3bigscliimskonolet@4ax.com...
> I'm about to install a new motherboard, processor and matching memory
> in my pc, keeping the same hard drive.
>
> Will I have an issue with XP registration? I've taken part in the
> genuine check thingy - but will I have to re-register, and is that
> permitted?
>
> TIA, pete
>

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 02:14 AM
Pete <peteroe@REMOVETHISwritebros.org> wrote:

>I'm about to install a new motherboard, processor and matching memory
>in my pc, keeping the same hard drive.
>
>Will I have an issue with XP registration? I've taken part in the
>genuine check thingy - but will I have to re-register, and is that
>permitted?
>
>TIA, pete

At a minimum you will have to do a Repair Install as per the
instructions at http://michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm and
then reactivate your Windows XP.

If your Windows XP is an OEM version and if it is "BIOS Locked" then
you may not be able to reactivate it on the new hardware unless the
new motherboard is from the manufacturer/assembler of your computer.

If your Windows XP came preinstalled on a new computer then it is
almost certainly an OEM version. You can check this by opening
Control Panel - System - General and looking at the 20 character
Product I.D. Code shown in the "Registered to:" section of the Window.
If the second segment of the Product I.D. Code is "OEM" then you do
have an OEM version of Windows XP.

To check for a possible "BIOS Locked" version look on the Start menu
in the Accessories - System Tools category. If there is no "Activate
Windows" entry then your OEM Windows XP is a BIOS Locked version and
reactivation on a new motherboard not supplied by the same
manufacturer will not go through.

Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm

Kevin
07-10-2005, 02:14 AM
This helps answer my post of today with the subject of: Building a new PC
can I use my old OEM XP install disk. I checked, and my version of XP is
not tied to the hardware as I DO HAVE the menu item of Activate Windows on
my Accessories>System Tools menu list. Thanks!

"Ron Martell" <ron.martell@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:3mep91lo4kisqgd3em47ula7a168fef8l2@4ax.com...
> Pete <peteroe@REMOVETHISwritebros.org> wrote:
>
> >I'm about to install a new motherboard, processor and matching memory
> >in my pc, keeping the same hard drive.
> >
> >Will I have an issue with XP registration? I've taken part in the
> >genuine check thingy - but will I have to re-register, and is that
> >permitted?
> >
> >TIA, pete
>
> At a minimum you will have to do a Repair Install as per the
> instructions at http://michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm and
> then reactivate your Windows XP.
>
> If your Windows XP is an OEM version and if it is "BIOS Locked" then
> you may not be able to reactivate it on the new hardware unless the
> new motherboard is from the manufacturer/assembler of your computer.
>
> If your Windows XP came preinstalled on a new computer then it is
> almost certainly an OEM version. You can check this by opening
> Control Panel - System - General and looking at the 20 character
> Product I.D. Code shown in the "Registered to:" section of the Window.
> If the second segment of the Product I.D. Code is "OEM" then you do
> have an OEM version of Windows XP.
>
> To check for a possible "BIOS Locked" version look on the Start menu
> in the Accessories - System Tools category. If there is no "Activate
> Windows" entry then your OEM Windows XP is a BIOS Locked version and
> reactivation on a new motherboard not supplied by the same
> manufacturer will not go through.
>
> Good luck
>
>
> Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
> --
> Microsoft MVP
> On-Line Help Computer Service
> http://onlinehelp.bc.ca
>
> In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
> http://aumha.org/alex.htm

Bruce Chambers
07-10-2005, 02:15 AM
Pete wrote:
> I'm about to install a new motherboard, processor and matching memory
> in my pc, keeping the same hard drive.
>
> Will I have an issue with XP registration? I've taken part in the
> genuine check thingy - but will I have to re-register, and is that
> permitted?
>
> TIA, pete



Normally, and assuming a retail license (many OEM installations are
not transferable to a new motherboard - check yours before starting),
unless the new motherboard is virtually identical (same chipset, same
IDE controllers, same BIOS version, etc.) to the one on which the WinXP
installation was originally performed, you'll need to perform a repair
(a.k.a. in-place upgrade) installation, at the very least:

How to Perform an In-Place Upgrade of Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q315341

The "why" is quite simple, really, and has nothing to do with
licensing issues, per se; it's a purely technical matter, at this point.
You've pulled the proverbial hardware rug out from under the OS. (If
you don't like -- or get -- the rug analogy, think of it as picking up a
Cape Cod style home and then setting it down onto a Ranch style
foundation. It just isn't going to fit.) WinXP, like Win2K before it,
is not nearly as "promiscuous" as Win9x when it comes to accepting any
old hardware configuration you throw at it. On installation it
"tailors" itself to the specific hardware found. This is one of the
reasons that the entire WinNT/2K/XP OS family is so much more stable
than the Win9x group.

As always when undertaking such a significant change, back up any
important data before starting.

This will also probably require re-activation, unless you have a
Volume Licensed version of WinXP Pro installed. If it's been more than
120 days since you last activated that specific Product Key, you'll most
likely be able to activate via the Internet without problem. If it's
been less, you might have to make a 5 minute phone call.


--

Bruce Chambers

Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having
both at once. - RAH


New motherboard and processor - win xp?