install WinXP SP2 and now weird error



Joel Hernandez
07-10-2005, 01:11 AM
Hello,

I have installed WinXP SP2 on my work PC to test our Company apps with
SP2. Everything seemed to go Ok, till I rebooted. I now get an error "hkcmd
Module,
hkcme Module has encountered a problem and needs to close". When I click on
the debug it shows:

Error signature AppName: hkcmd.exe AppVer: 3.0.0.1545 ModName: oleaut32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180 Offset: 0004874.

I though it was just my machine so I install SP2 on another PC and got the
same error. MS does not give me any indication what the problem is. I am
running Windows XP SP2 on a Compaq Evo D510s with 768 MB of ram, P4 2Ghz,
20GB drive.

could someone please help......Joel

Michael T
07-10-2005, 01:11 AM
I believe hkcmd.exe is graphics software from Intel.

Go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Information

Under the 'System Summary' tree list expand Components (left click the plus
(+) sign
Select Problem Devices and tell us what you see.

Or you could simply reinstall your display drivers.

Also, you might want to re-register oleaut32.dll. Although this seems like
overkill.

Go to Start > Run and type in:
regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
click OK

--
Michael

"Joel Hernandez" <JoelHernandez@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:81F51A90-BB68-430A-B495-F25FE10300F0@microsoft.com...
> Hello,
>
> I have installed WinXP SP2 on my work PC to test our Company apps with
> SP2. Everything seemed to go Ok, till I rebooted. I now get an error
> "hkcmd
> Module,
> hkcme Module has encountered a problem and needs to close". When I click
> on
> the debug it shows:
>
> Error signature AppName: hkcmd.exe AppVer: 3.0.0.1545 ModName:
> oleaut32.dll
> ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180 Offset: 0004874.
>
> I though it was just my machine so I install SP2 on another PC and got the
> same error. MS does not give me any indication what the problem is. I am
> running Windows XP SP2 on a Compaq Evo D510s with 768 MB of ram, P4 2Ghz,
> 20GB drive.
>
> could someone please help......Joel
>
>

Galen
07-10-2005, 01:11 AM
In news:81F51A90-BB68-430A-B495-F25FE10300F0@microsoft.com,
Joel Hernandez <JoelHernandez@discussions.microsoft.com> had this to say:

My reply is at the bottom of your sent message:

> Hello,
>
> I have installed WinXP SP2 on my work PC to test our Company apps
> with
> SP2. Everything seemed to go Ok, till I rebooted. I now get an error
> "hkcmd Module,
> hkcme Module has encountered a problem and needs to close". When I
> click on the debug it shows:
>
> Error signature AppName: hkcmd.exe AppVer: 3.0.0.1545 ModName:
> oleaut32.dll ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180 Offset: 0004874.
>
> I though it was just my machine so I install SP2 on another PC and
> got the same error. MS does not give me any indication what the
> problem is. I am running Windows XP SP2 on a Compaq Evo D510s with
> 768 MB of ram, P4 2Ghz, 20GB drive.
>
> could someone please help......Joel

According to Google (that should be a book title) the process is likely
an...

Actually, you can read it on your own. <g>

http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/hkcmd.exe.html

I'd update the system's drivers? One specific quote:

"hkcmd.exe description: Hotkey Command Module for Intel Graphics Contollers.
Located in "C:\WINNT\System32\" on Windows NT/2000 and
"C:\WINDOWS\System32\" on Windows XP. File hkcmd.exe removal: Described file
hkcmd.exe is not related to the security threats. However the same or
similar file name can be used by spyware or adware programs to decept user.
We advice you to scan your computer and eliminate possible threats."

Galen
--

"And that recommendation, with the exaggerated estimate of my ability
with which he prefaced it, was, if you will believe me, Watson, the
very first thing which ever made me feel that a profession might be
made out of what had up to that time been the merest hobby."

Sherlock Holmes

Joel Hernandez
07-10-2005, 01:11 AM
Thanks,

I checked the System Info, Problem Drivers and nothing was in there. I
went to Msconfig and diabled hkcmd.exe from starting restarted the machine
and it is working fine. Check the applications and no problem so far.

thanks again guys.

"Galen" wrote:

> In news:81F51A90-BB68-430A-B495-F25FE10300F0@microsoft.com,
> Joel Hernandez <JoelHernandez@discussions.microsoft.com> had this to say:
>
> My reply is at the bottom of your sent message:
>
> > Hello,
> >
> > I have installed WinXP SP2 on my work PC to test our Company apps
> > with
> > SP2. Everything seemed to go Ok, till I rebooted. I now get an error
> > "hkcmd Module,
> > hkcme Module has encountered a problem and needs to close". When I
> > click on the debug it shows:
> >
> > Error signature AppName: hkcmd.exe AppVer: 3.0.0.1545 ModName:
> > oleaut32.dll ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180 Offset: 0004874.
> >
> > I though it was just my machine so I install SP2 on another PC and
> > got the same error. MS does not give me any indication what the
> > problem is. I am running Windows XP SP2 on a Compaq Evo D510s with
> > 768 MB of ram, P4 2Ghz, 20GB drive.
> >
> > could someone please help......Joel
>
> According to Google (that should be a book title) the process is likely
> an...
>
> Actually, you can read it on your own. <g>
>
> http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/hkcmd.exe.html
>
> I'd update the system's drivers? One specific quote:
>
> "hkcmd.exe description: Hotkey Command Module for Intel Graphics Contollers.
> Located in "C:\WINNT\System32\" on Windows NT/2000 and
> "C:\WINDOWS\System32\" on Windows XP. File hkcmd.exe removal: Described file
> hkcmd.exe is not related to the security threats. However the same or
> similar file name can be used by spyware or adware programs to decept user.
> We advice you to scan your computer and eliminate possible threats."
>
> Galen
> --
>
> "And that recommendation, with the exaggerated estimate of my ability
> with which he prefaced it, was, if you will believe me, Watson, the
> very first thing which ever made me feel that a profession might be
> made out of what had up to that time been the merest hobby."
>
> Sherlock Holmes
>
>
>


install WinXP SP2 and now weird error