my power supply power fan...



Happy
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
hi, my power supply has a power fan cable but my motherboard doesnt have the
spot for it. Is it important to get the power fan cable running? and how?
Can i plug this power fan cable into the chasis fan on the motherboard slot?
I guess no because then there is no spot for my chassis fan. Please help me
how to get the power fan in my PSU running. Thanx alot.

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
Apparently, you acquired the wrong power supply unit
for your PC. Take your PC to a qualified PC technician
for assistance.

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Happy" wrote:

| hi, my power supply has a power fan cable but my motherboard doesnt have the
| spot for it. Is it important to get the power fan cable running? and how?
| Can i plug this power fan cable into the chasis fan on the motherboard slot?
| I guess no because then there is no spot for my chassis fan. Please help me
| how to get the power fan in my PSU running. Thanx alot.

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
The fan gets it's power from the power supply it resides within. If the fan
is not turning the power supply needs replacement. The wire you are
referring to is only a speed sensor wire and has nothing to do with the fans
spinning - or not!

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"Happy" <cathypham@sympatico.ca> wrote in message
news:9eQke.11087$Ot6.804391@news20.bellglobal.com...
> hi, my power supply has a power fan cable but my motherboard doesnt have
> the spot for it. Is it important to get the power fan cable running? and
> how? Can i plug this power fan cable into the chasis fan on the
> motherboard slot? I guess no because then there is no spot for my chassis
> fan. Please help me how to get the power fan in my PSU running. Thanx
> alot.
>

John
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
Happy wrote:

> hi, my power supply has a power fan cable but my motherboard doesnt have the
> spot for it. Is it important to get the power fan cable running? and how?
> Can i plug this power fan cable into the chasis fan on the motherboard slot?
> I guess no because then there is no spot for my chassis fan. Please help me
> how to get the power fan in my PSU running. Thanx alot.
>
>

If you need to do an either or, definately plug in the power supply,
*assuming* it fits the motherboard connector with *no modifications*. If
the power supply is equipped with a fan (most do, did your old one?)
then you can be assured that it absolutely needs it to last more than a
few weeks.

Case cooling: Remove the case door and duct tape a box fan to the side
of the case with a suitably sized furnace filter between ;)

I am sure you would get better answers here:

alt.comp.hardware

John

Nog
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
"Happy" <cathypham@sympatico.ca> wrote in message
news:9eQke.11087$Ot6.804391@news20.bellglobal.com...
> hi, my power supply has a power fan cable but my motherboard doesnt have
> the spot for it. Is it important to get the power fan cable running? and
> how? Can i plug this power fan cable into the chasis fan on the
> motherboard slot? I guess no because then there is no spot for my chassis
> fan. Please help me how to get the power fan in my PSU running. Thanx
> alot.

Is it not a cable to power an aux case fan if you put one in? Don't plug it
on your motherboard, you could blow something out.

D.Currie
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
"Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:O46dx6MYFHA.580@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> The fan gets it's power from the power supply it resides within. If the
> fan is not turning the power supply needs replacement. The wire you are
> referring to is only a speed sensor wire and has nothing to do with the
> fans spinning - or not!
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

Richard:

I've seen some HPs with the mini power supplies that have a power connector
for the fan, and it needs to plug into the motherboard. Why they designed
them like that is another question...

WTC
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
"Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:O46dx6MYFHA.580@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> The fan gets it's power from the power supply it resides within. If
> the fan is not turning the power supply needs replacement. The wire
> you are referring to is only a speed sensor wire and has nothing to do
> with the fans spinning - or not!
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)
>
> If you knew as much as you think you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>
> "Happy" <cathypham@sympatico.ca> wrote in message
> news:9eQke.11087$Ot6.804391@news20.bellglobal.com...
>> hi, my power supply has a power fan cable but my motherboard doesnt
>> have the spot for it. Is it important to get the power fan cable
>> running? and how? Can i plug this power fan cable into the chasis fan
>> on the motherboard slot? I guess no because then there is no spot for
>> my chassis fan. Please help me how to get the power fan in my PSU
>> running. Thanx alot.
>>
>
>

Look at a Dell, HP and then take a laugh.

--
William


my power supply power fan...