unable to use 'standby' mode



martinbliss
07-10-2005, 01:10 AM
since installing xp pro on my laptop, the standby function has gone
leaving only 'shut down' or 'restart'. i'm not sure if this is a
feature of xp pro or not but i wouldnt have thought thats the case.
:confused:

any ideas?


--
martinbliss

Mark L. Ferguson
07-10-2005, 01:11 AM
Not every BIOS can handle ACPI.

http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q216/2/51.ASP

--

Mark L. Ferguson
FAQ for MS Antispyware version 1.0.509
http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
marfers notes for windows xp http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/chatNotes.htm
..
"martinbliss" <martinbliss.1pk7qx@pcbanter.net> wrote in message news:martinbliss.1pk7qx@pcbanter.net...
>
> since installing xp pro on my laptop, the standby function has gone
> leaving only 'shut down' or 'restart'. i'm not sure if this is a
> feature of xp pro or not but i wouldnt have thought thats the case.
> :confused:
>
> any ideas?
>
>
> --
> martinbliss

Treeman
07-10-2005, 01:11 AM
martinbliss Wrote:
> since installing xp pro on my laptop, the standby function has gone
> leaving only 'shut down' or 'restart'. i'm not sure if this is a
> feature of xp pro or not but i wouldnt have thought thats the case.
> :confused:
>
> any ideas?
Your computer more than likely is not ACPI compatible with XP. Win9X
and ME use a different implementation of ACPI than does XP or for that
matter Win 2000. Machines that are able to use the Standby and
Hibernate function in 9X/ME are not necessarily able to do the same in
Win2000 and XP.

Open Control Panel, click System, click hardware, click Device Manager.
Expand the hardware tree. Click on the first item at the top labeled
"Computer". (click the + sign) If
it says "Standard PC", it will never be able to use Standby. If it
says ACPI Computer, then you may have unsigned drivers preventing your
machine from using Standby.
Best,
Treeman


--
Treeman


unable to use 'standby' mode