start up/log in



C. Lion
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
Somehow I goofed when cleaning my machine of temp files using windo washer
and spy sweeper.I stupidly also had system restore turned off. Now when I
start up I get a message stating "the system could not log you on. make sure
your name and domain are correct then retype your password. letters in
passwords must be typed using the correct case" Since I am the only one with
access to my machine I do not use a password. when I click ok the machine now
takes 5 minutes or more to load personal settings before it goes to desktop
if I'm lucky.
Can anyone advise me as to how to correct this?
Thanks in advance

Michael T
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
I would begin with the following. Then let us know your status.

Go to Start > Run and type

control userpasswords2
Click OK

Then uncheck "Users must enter a user name and password to use this
computer".

--
Michael



"C. Lion" <CLion@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:3E0A8DBD-21A9-4E3F-BDE5-55B4C6E01F5A@microsoft.com...
> Somehow I goofed when cleaning my machine of temp files using windo washer
> and spy sweeper.I stupidly also had system restore turned off. Now when I
> start up I get a message stating "the system could not log you on. make
> sure
> your name and domain are correct then retype your password. letters in
> passwords must be typed using the correct case" Since I am the only one
> with
> access to my machine I do not use a password. when I click ok the machine
> now
> takes 5 minutes or more to load personal settings before it goes to
> desktop
> if I'm lucky.
> Can anyone advise me as to how to correct this?
> Thanks in advance

C. Lion
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
I did that and the box was unchecked already

"Michael T" wrote:

> I would begin with the following. Then let us know your status.
>
> Go to Start > Run and type
>
> control userpasswords2
> Click OK
>
> Then uncheck "Users must enter a user name and password to use this
> computer".
>
> --
> Michael
>
>
>
> "C. Lion" <CLion@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:3E0A8DBD-21A9-4E3F-BDE5-55B4C6E01F5A@microsoft.com...
> > Somehow I goofed when cleaning my machine of temp files using windo washer
> > and spy sweeper.I stupidly also had system restore turned off. Now when I
> > start up I get a message stating "the system could not log you on. make
> > sure
> > your name and domain are correct then retype your password. letters in
> > passwords must be typed using the correct case" Since I am the only one
> > with
> > access to my machine I do not use a password. when I click ok the machine
> > now
> > takes 5 minutes or more to load personal settings before it goes to
> > desktop
> > if I'm lucky.
> > Can anyone advise me as to how to correct this?
> > Thanks in advance
>
>
>

Michael T
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
You might see if this web page offers any help as this one has me baffled as
well.
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;300433&Product=winxp

"C. Lion" <CLion@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5B03B3C9-57EC-4A95-8A93-DF75D1209411@microsoft.com...
>I did that and the box was unchecked already
>
> "Michael T" wrote:
>
>> I would begin with the following. Then let us know your status.
>>
>> Go to Start > Run and type
>>
>> control userpasswords2
>> Click OK
>>
>> Then uncheck "Users must enter a user name and password to use this
>> computer".
>>
>> --
>> Michael
>>
>>
>>
>> "C. Lion" <CLion@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:3E0A8DBD-21A9-4E3F-BDE5-55B4C6E01F5A@microsoft.com...
>> > Somehow I goofed when cleaning my machine of temp files using windo
>> > washer
>> > and spy sweeper.I stupidly also had system restore turned off. Now when
>> > I
>> > start up I get a message stating "the system could not log you on.
>> > make
>> > sure
>> > your name and domain are correct then retype your password. letters in
>> > passwords must be typed using the correct case" Since I am the only one
>> > with
>> > access to my machine I do not use a password. when I click ok the
>> > machine
>> > now
>> > takes 5 minutes or more to load personal settings before it goes to
>> > desktop
>> > if I'm lucky.
>> > Can anyone advise me as to how to correct this?
>> > Thanks in advance
>>
>>
>>

Raztax
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
Is this machine at home or at an office? The error message refers to a
domain.
If you are at home, then you are almost certainly not on a domain, if
the pc thinks you are, then thats yer problem.

C. Lion
07-10-2005, 02:10 AM
This is a home machine connected to cable using a linksys router.
How can I repair it?

"Raztax" wrote:

> Is this machine at home or at an office? The error message refers to a
> domain.
> If you are at home, then you are almost certainly not on a domain, if
> the pc thinks you are, then thats yer problem.
>
>


start up/log in