Is there a way to UNDO the FAST Wizard?



Bruce D
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Hello everyone,

My client has upgraded from an XP Pro SP1 computer to a new XP Pro SP2
computer. We ran the File and Settings Transfer Wizard on both ends to,
well, transfer the files and the settings.

However, at this point, 2 weeks later, we're having a problem with the
client's proprietary program. Our latest brainstorm is that somehow, some
registry entry or somethig got messed up in the transfer.

So, the question is: Is there a way to roll back the "This is the NEW
computer" part of the File and Settings Transfer Wizard? Automated would be
nice, but manual is acceptable.

Thanks!

-Bruce D

Kevin
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
FAST shouldn't be doing anything but what it is designed to do. Have you
considered that SP2 may be causing the problem with the proprietary
software? Have you ascertained that this software is compatible with
Service Pack 2?

"Bruce D" <BruceD@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:04EC5A0C-DEFC-4F50-8107-CA4CBA965513@microsoft.com...
> Hello everyone,
>
> My client has upgraded from an XP Pro SP1 computer to a new XP Pro SP2
> computer. We ran the File and Settings Transfer Wizard on both ends to,
> well, transfer the files and the settings.
>
> However, at this point, 2 weeks later, we're having a problem with the
> client's proprietary program. Our latest brainstorm is that somehow, some
> registry entry or somethig got messed up in the transfer.
>
> So, the question is: Is there a way to roll back the "This is the NEW
> computer" part of the File and Settings Transfer Wizard? Automated would
be
> nice, but manual is acceptable.
>
> Thanks!
>
> -Bruce D


Is there a way to UNDO the FAST Wizard?