Help please



melsmommy
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
I have just recently hooked up my computer which has Windows XP on it and I
was trying to load an ISP on it....and I'm running into problems. I keep
getting a message that says:

there is no RAS installation on your system. Install Microsoft RAS and
restart

I had no problem with connecting to the internet when I lived
elsewhere...and now I don't know what to do. I'm hoping that I can download
something from the internet to fix this....since my computer CD's are
somewhere in a box in storage.

Any help would be appreciated greatly! I am NOT a computer whiz....and so
if it can be put in laymans terms that would be even better! Thanks!

Cindy

Michael T
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Any chance your ISP software is *not* for Windows XP - but for Windows 9x?

--
Michael

"melsmommy" <melsmommy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5E35CC90-3FD3-4C38-9F52-DA8715038526@microsoft.com...
>I have just recently hooked up my computer which has Windows XP on it and I
> was trying to load an ISP on it....and I'm running into problems. I keep
> getting a message that says:
>
> there is no RAS installation on your system. Install Microsoft RAS and
> restart
>
> I had no problem with connecting to the internet when I lived
> elsewhere...and now I don't know what to do. I'm hoping that I can
> download
> something from the internet to fix this....since my computer CD's are
> somewhere in a box in storage.
>
> Any help would be appreciated greatly! I am NOT a computer whiz....and so
> if it can be put in laymans terms that would be even better! Thanks!
>
> Cindy

Michael T
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Not sure this applies, but it is a start. Hopefully you can access the web
on another PC.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330163/

--
Michael


"melsmommy" <melsmommy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5E35CC90-3FD3-4C38-9F52-DA8715038526@microsoft.com...
>I have just recently hooked up my computer which has Windows XP on it and I
> was trying to load an ISP on it....and I'm running into problems. I keep
> getting a message that says:
>
> there is no RAS installation on your system. Install Microsoft RAS and
> restart
>
> I had no problem with connecting to the internet when I lived
> elsewhere...and now I don't know what to do. I'm hoping that I can
> download
> something from the internet to fix this....since my computer CD's are
> somewhere in a box in storage.
>
> Any help would be appreciated greatly! I am NOT a computer whiz....and so
> if it can be put in laymans terms that would be even better! Thanks!
>
> Cindy

Byte
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
My first suggestion is to buy a new modem for if yours uses RAS, and that
will give you less than 40k speed. You can get a 56k modem from eBay or
TigerDirect for under $20.
What is Remote Access Service? - A Word Definition From the Webopedia Computer
http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/R/Remote_Access_Service.html
--
Today is the first day of the rest of
your life.


"melsmommy" wrote:

> I have just recently hooked up my computer which has Windows XP on it and I
> was trying to load an ISP on it....and I'm running into problems. I keep
> getting a message that says:
>
> there is no RAS installation on your system. Install Microsoft RAS and
> restart
>
> I had no problem with connecting to the internet when I lived
> elsewhere...and now I don't know what to do. I'm hoping that I can download
> something from the internet to fix this....since my computer CD's are
> somewhere in a box in storage.
>
> Any help would be appreciated greatly! I am NOT a computer whiz....and so
> if it can be put in laymans terms that would be even better! Thanks!
>
> Cindy


Help please