System Restore Failure



Ken
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore points.
However, I am unable to restore. Restore process to a previous
restore point goes through the boot sequence; then receive an error
message that system restore failed and that no changes were made.
When I try to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message.

Once I receive the error message, the computer returns to current
status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?

Ken

CharlieC
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Ken: This is almost exactly the same problem I've had (although I have one
application that is messed up, but everything else is okay). The only
solution I've heard is to disable System Restore, then reboot and re-enable
it. However, this kills all your earlier restore points-- it cures the
disease, but kills the patient.

If you find a better solution than this one, could you post it and email me
as well?
Thanks... Charlie

"Ken" wrote:

> System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore points.
> However, I am unable to restore. Restore process to a previous
> restore point goes through the boot sequence; then receive an error
> message that system restore failed and that no changes were made.
> When I try to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message.
>
> Once I receive the error message, the computer returns to current
> status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
> Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>
> Ken
>

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Ken wrote:

> System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore points.
> However, I am unable to restore. Restore process to a previous
> restore point goes through the boot sequence; then receive an error
> message that system restore failed and that no changes were made.
> When I try to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message.
>
> Once I receive the error message, the computer returns to current
> status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
> Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>
> Ken

This happened to me with SP2 installation and MSFT has an free number for
SP2 problems 800/937-5700/0=rep (until 1500 on Sunday). I spent several
hours on Sunday with three guys on the East Coast all of whom sluffed me
off on the Security Dept, who sent me back each time until they closed!
Called back Monday and demanded a mgr. or 2nd level tech and a lady in
India called me back Tuesday who was as sharp as a tack. We went through
it for an hour, then researched, called me back the next day, spent an
hour on the phone, did some more research, called me back and had it
fixed in 20 minutes. Your problem could be entirely different.

Basically what I found was that System Volume Information was empty and
it would not open to reveal the Restore contents, even though System
Restore showed more than one Point. And I had permission, and it still
wouldn't operate even if logged on as administrator.

It is necessary to open in Safe Mode and right click to see the Security
Tab on System Volume Information, then Properties/add/advanced/find
now/add Administrator & Everyone.

In passing, she also mentioned that multiple restorations could break it.
Don't know if that means in one day, one after the other, back and
forth to one restore point, or what. At any rate, I will be conservative!

Good luck,
Miles

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 01:09 AM
Hi Ken,

Here are some troubleshooting tips for System Restore in Windows XP.
Please post the event information from Event Viewer as suggested in
the page below along with any other error message generated by System
Restore. This will help us in diagnosing the problem.
System Restore Failures to restore:
http://bertk.mvps.org/html/srfail.html
System Restore fails to create an automatic restore point:
http://bertk.mvps.org/html/srauto.html

--
Regards,
Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/


Ken wrote:
> System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore
> points. However, I am unable to restore. Restore process
> to a previous restore point goes through the boot
> sequence; then receive an error message that system
> restore failed and that no changes were made. When I try
> to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same
> message.
>
> Once I receive the error message, the computer returns to
> current status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
> Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>
> Ken

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:13 AM
Ken wrote:
> System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore points.
> However, I am unable to restore. Restore process to a previous
> restore point goes through the boot sequence; then receive an error
> message that system restore failed and that no changes were made.
> When I try to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message.
>
> Once I receive the error message, the computer returns to current
> status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
> Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>
> Ken

Just completed another call with MSFT, due to Sys Restore again failed.
This caused five hours work due to necessity to use an image two weeks
old, then bring it up to date.

What transpired today on the phone call was:

1) Could not restore to two points made two weeks ago. (There was nothing
in between then and yesterday due to using an image two weeks old.)

3) Created a new test restore point. And could restore to it.

4) Still could not restore to 3 points two weeks ago. But could restore
to the last one yesterday, and again, back to the test restore made today.

Obviously some of these restore points become corrupt. This has occurred
three times in the past month and has created about two days work
bringing images up to date. Today will make another image, after first
deleting the restore points in order to reduce image size. (This is
done by turning off System Restore, not deleting each one individually
from System Volume Information. Then will make daily restore points for
the week before making another image next Friday. And, of course, will
get back to MSFT is any of these points become corrupt.

They have no knowledge as to why the points become corrupt. I asked if
it could be related to an index or whatever file regulates and was told no.

At any rate, it is obvious that System Restore is not to be trusted,
hence I will make daily Acronis True Image incremental images. And I
will get back to this group if MSFT ever offers a solution.

Oh, and FYI, was told that if you restore using safe mode, you cannot
undo and return to the current point.

Miles

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 01:13 AM
< inline >

Miles wrote:
> Ken wrote:
>> System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore
>> points. However, I am unable to restore. Restore
>> process to a previous restore point goes through the
>> boot sequence; then receive an error message that system
>> restore failed and that no changes were made. When I try
>> to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message. Once I
>> receive the error message, the computer returns
>> to current status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
>> Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>>
>> Ken
>
> Just completed another call with MSFT, due to Sys Restore
> again failed. This caused five hours work due to
> necessity to use an image two weeks old, then bring it up to date.
> What transpired today on the phone call was:
>
> 1) Could not restore to two points made two weeks ago.
> (There was nothing in between then and yesterday due to
> using an image two weeks old.)
> 3) Created a new test restore point. And could restore to it.
> 4) Still could not restore to 3 points two weeks ago. But could
> restore to the last one yesterday, and again,
> back to the test restore made today.
> Obviously some of these restore points become corrupt. This has
> occurred three times in the past month and has
> created about two days work bringing images up to date. Today will
> make another
> image, after first deleting the restore points in order
> to reduce image size. (This is done by turning off System Restore,
> not deleting each one
> individually from System Volume Information. Then will
> make daily restore points for the week before making
> another image next Friday. And, of course, will get back
> to MSFT is any of these points become corrupt.

Well, here are some possible causes for Restore Point corruption:
3ed party application that interferes the SR filter drive, such as an
anti virus program, or as I suspect, Norton System Works.
Improper shutdown
Power outage causing an improper shutdown
Due to changes made to files on a system from another OS

> They have no knowledge as to why the points become corrupt. I asked
> if it could be related to an index or whatever file regulates and
> was told no.
> At any rate, it is obvious that System Restore is not to be trusted,
> hence I will make daily Acronis True Image incremental
> images. And I will get back to this group if MSFT ever
> offers a solution.

Question, does Acronis True Image run from with in Windows, or before
windows starts?

Have you tried performing a clean boot?
How to perform a clean boot in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310353

How to troubleshoot by using the System Configuration utility in
Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310560

> Oh, and FYI, was told that if you restore using safe mode, you
> cannot undo and return to the current point.
>
> Miles

Zilbandy
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Search for a program called ERUNT (Emergency Recovery Utility for NT).
This will allow you to make registry backups that are stored as normal
files on your hard drive. They won't disappear on you. Excellent
documentation comes with the free program. I have ERUNT configured to
make a backup at each bootup. I manually manage the backups and keep a
couple weeks worth on hand, just in case.

Miles <mileschap@REMOVEMEpacbell.net> wrote:

>At any rate, it is obvious that System Restore is not to be trusted,
>hence I will make daily Acronis True Image incremental images.

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Bert Kinney wrote:
> < inline >
>
> Miles wrote:
>
>>Ken wrote:
>>
>>>System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore
>>>points. However, I am unable to restore. Restore
>>>process to a previous restore point goes through the
>>>boot sequence; then receive an error message that system
>>>restore failed and that no changes were made. When I try
>>>to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message. Once I
>>>receive the error message, the computer returns
>>>to current status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
>>>Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>>>
>>>Ken
>>
>>Just completed another call with MSFT, due to Sys Restore
>>again failed. This caused five hours work due to
>>necessity to use an image two weeks old, then bring it up to date.
>>What transpired today on the phone call was:
>>
>>1) Could not restore to two points made two weeks ago.
>>(There was nothing in between then and yesterday due to
>>using an image two weeks old.)
>>3) Created a new test restore point. And could restore to it.
>>4) Still could not restore to 3 points two weeks ago. But could
>>restore to the last one yesterday, and again,
>>back to the test restore made today.
>>Obviously some of these restore points become corrupt. This has
>>occurred three times in the past month and has
>>created about two days work bringing images up to date. Today will
>>make another
>>image, after first deleting the restore points in order
>>to reduce image size. (This is done by turning off System Restore,
>>not deleting each one
>>individually from System Volume Information. Then will
>>make daily restore points for the week before making
>>another image next Friday. And, of course, will get back
>>to MSFT is any of these points become corrupt.
>
>
> Well, here are some possible causes for Restore Point corruption:
> 3ed party application that interferes the SR filter drive, such as an
> anti virus program, or as I suspect, Norton System Works.
> Improper shutdown
> Power outage causing an improper shutdown
> Due to changes made to files on a system from another OS
>
>
>>They have no knowledge as to why the points become corrupt. I asked
>>if it could be related to an index or whatever file regulates and
>>was told no.
>>At any rate, it is obvious that System Restore is not to be trusted,
>>hence I will make daily Acronis True Image incremental
>>images. And I will get back to this group if MSFT ever
>>offers a solution.
>
>
> Question, does Acronis True Image run from with in Windows, or before
> windows starts?

Before windows starts in Linux.
>
> Have you tried performing a clean boot?
> How to perform a clean boot in Windows XP
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310353

Yes.


>
> How to troubleshoot by using the System Configuration utility in
> Windows XP
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310560

Used MS config last week with the problem and started windows with
diagnostic startup -- virtually nothing running.
>
>
>>Oh, and FYI, was told that if you restore using safe mode, you
>>cannot undo and return to the current point.
>>
>>Miles
>

Guess what, Restore again failed -- couldn't even use the point that was
created this morning. Tried several points, but nothing. Then found
that Roxio ECDC Player was inoperative to play VCD's. Don't understand
how this could be caused by playing with Sys Restore, but that's all that
was done.

Again called MSFT SP2, and spent some time on the phone while it was
researched and she checked with others. Couldn't come up with anything.
So I have again gone back to the two-week old image, and spent two
hours getting all back to where it was -- and Roxio again works. And
I've shut down Sys Restore. Incidentally, I did send the ailing restore
info to MSFT as you suggested.

Now, all that's needed is to complete the various checks and make a new
TI image. Will not be turning on Sys Restore again!

Miles

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Zilbandy wrote:

> Search for a program called ERUNT (Emergency Recovery Utility for NT).
> This will allow you to make registry backups that are stored as normal
> files on your hard drive. They won't disappear on you. Excellent
> documentation comes with the free program. I have ERUNT configured to
> make a backup at each bootup. I manually manage the backups and keep a
> couple weeks worth on hand, just in case.
>
> Miles <mileschap@REMOVEMEpacbell.net> wrote:
>
>
>>At any rate, it is obvious that System Restore is not to be trusted,
>>hence I will make daily Acronis True Image incremental images.
>
>

Sounds good and will look for it - depends on cost -- but it is a method
to preserve things before installing or updating a program as opposed to
making a TI image.

Miles

Zilbandy
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
How does FREE sound? :)

Miles <mileschap@REMOVEMEpacbell.net> wrote:

>Sounds good and will look for it - depends on cost

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Zilbandy wrote:
> How does FREE sound? :)
>
> Miles <mileschap@REMOVEMEpacbell.net> wrote:
>
>
>>Sounds good and will look for it - depends on cost
>
>

Sounds like a great price! But what's the difference between that
program and simply making a compressed backup of the registry?
Miles

Zilbandy
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Miles <mileschap@REMOVEMEpacbell.net> wrote:

>Sounds like a great price! But what's the difference between that
>program and simply making a compressed backup of the registry?

First of all, I'm not guru when it comes to computers. As I understand
it, XP has managed to scatter the registry over several places, called
'hives'... this number can vary with the number of users; unlike
Windows 98 that just had two files to worry about for the registry.
ERUNT takes the work out of finding all the hiding places and makes a
takes the load off the user to manually backup all the parts of the
registry. I think, I could be totally wrong here, but I think Windows
restore points backup the registry and additional selected files from
your system, while ERUNT strictly backs up registry entries. Whatever
it does, it's saved my bacon more than once, and believe me... I've
got a load of bacon to save. LOL System Restore points have
disappeared on me more than once, while ERUNT's files are nicely
stored as a single folder on the drive / folder of your choosing. Each
registy backup has its own location, and its own .exe file to start
the restore process. I'd better shut up hear before I get in too deep.
:) The price is right; give it a try and decide whether you like it
or not.

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Miles wrote:
>> Question, does Acronis True Image run from with in
>> Windows, or before windows starts?
>
> Before windows starts in Linux.

Is this a dual boot (two OS on one partition) or multi boot system
(two OS each on it's own partition)?

>>
>> Have you tried performing a clean boot?
>> How to perform a clean boot in Windows XP
>> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310353
>>
>> How to troubleshoot by using the System Configuration
>> utility in Windows XP
>> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310560
>
> Used MS config last week with the problem and started
> windows with diagnostic startup -- virtually nothing
> running.
>>
>>
>>> Oh, and FYI, was told that if you restore using safe
>>> mode, you cannot undo and return to the current point.
>
> Guess what, Restore again failed -- couldn't even use the
> point that was created this morning. Tried several
> points, but nothing. Then found that Roxio ECDC Player
> was inoperative to play VCD's. Don't understand how
> this could be caused by playing with Sys Restore, but
> that's all that was done.
> Again called MSFT SP2, and spent some time on the phone
> while it was researched and she checked with others. Couldn't come
> up with anything. So I have again gone
> back to the two-week old image, and spent two hours getting all back
> to where it was -- and Roxio again
> works. And I've shut down Sys Restore. Incidentally, I
> did send the ailing restore info to MSFT as you suggested.
>
> Now, all that's needed is to complete the various checks
> and make a new TI image. Will not be turning on Sys
> Restore again!
> Miles

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Bert Kinney wrote:
> < inline >
>
> Miles wrote:
>
>>Ken wrote:
>>
>>>System restore is monitoring C drive and creatng restore
>>>points. However, I am unable to restore. Restore
>>>process to a previous restore point goes through the
>>>boot sequence; then receive an error message that system
>>>restore failed and that no changes were made. When I try
>>>to rerstore to an earlier restore point - the same message. Once I
>>>receive the error message, the computer returns
>>>to current status and works fine. SP2 is installed.
>>>Any ideaas what is wrong / how to fix?
>>>
>>>Ken
>>
>>Just completed another call with MSFT, due to Sys Restore
>>again failed. This caused five hours work due to
>>necessity to use an image two weeks old, then bring it up to date.
>>What transpired today on the phone call was:
>>
>>1) Could not restore to two points made two weeks ago.
>>(There was nothing in between then and yesterday due to
>>using an image two weeks old.)
>>3) Created a new test restore point. And could restore to it.
>>4) Still could not restore to 3 points two weeks ago. But could
>>restore to the last one yesterday, and again,
>>back to the test restore made today.
>>Obviously some of these restore points become corrupt. This has
>>occurred three times in the past month and has
>>created about two days work bringing images up to date. Today will
>>make another
>>image, after first deleting the restore points in order
>>to reduce image size. (This is done by turning off System Restore,
>>not deleting each one
>>individually from System Volume Information. Then will
>>make daily restore points for the week before making
>>another image next Friday. And, of course, will get back
>>to MSFT is any of these points become corrupt.
>
>
> Well, here are some possible causes for Restore Point corruption:
> 3ed party application that interferes the SR filter drive, such as an
> anti virus program, or as I suspect, Norton System Works.
> Improper shutdown
> Power outage causing an improper shutdown
> Due to changes made to files on a system from another OS
>
>
>>They have no knowledge as to why the points become corrupt. I asked
>>if it could be related to an index or whatever file regulates and
>>was told no.
>>At any rate, it is obvious that System Restore is not to be trusted,
>>hence I will make daily Acronis True Image incremental
>>images. And I will get back to this group if MSFT ever
>>offers a solution.
>
>
> Question, does Acronis True Image run from with in Windows, or before
> windows starts?
>
> Have you tried performing a clean boot?
> How to perform a clean boot in Windows XP
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310353
>
> How to troubleshoot by using the System Configuration utility in
> Windows XP
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310560
>
>
>>Oh, and FYI, was told that if you restore using safe mode, you
>>cannot undo and return to the current point.
>>
>>Miles
>
>
>

You need to make a very small "hidden partition" of a few MB's for
Acronis and it starts in Linux. Don't ask me any more details than that
for I could not tell you how it operates. What occurs is when the
computer is booted up, prior to windows opening a one line entry on the
black screen reads to the effect, "To open Acronis True Image, press
F11." From here, outside of windows, is where backups of C are made and
where C is restored from. The backup can be anywhere, CD's, DVD's,
another partition, or a removable drive -- when True Image is opened, a
listing of drives appears and you search for the image you wish to use
for restoration. A similar event takes place when making an image.)

If you would like more information you might go to:

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65

Believe you would need to first register for the forums.

Also, of course, you can read what is said at Acronis' website --
acronis.com. Apparently they have recently released update, Version 8,
for US$ 50.

Miles





Miles

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Bert Kinney wrote:

> Miles wrote:
>
>>>Question, does Acronis True Image run from with in
>>>Windows, or before windows starts?
>>
>>Before windows starts in Linux.
>
>
> Is this a dual boot (two OS on one partition) or multi boot system
> (two OS each on it's own partition)?
>
>
>>>Have you tried performing a clean boot?
>>>How to perform a clean boot in Windows XP
>>>http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310353
>>>
>>>How to troubleshoot by using the System Configuration
>>>utility in Windows XP
>>>http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310560
>>
>>Used MS config last week with the problem and started
>>windows with diagnostic startup -- virtually nothing
>>running.
>>
>>>
>>>>Oh, and FYI, was told that if you restore using safe
>>>>mode, you cannot undo and return to the current point.
>>
>>Guess what, Restore again failed -- couldn't even use the
>>point that was created this morning. Tried several
>>points, but nothing. Then found that Roxio ECDC Player
>>was inoperative to play VCD's. Don't understand how
>>this could be caused by playing with Sys Restore, but
>>that's all that was done.
>>Again called MSFT SP2, and spent some time on the phone
>>while it was researched and she checked with others. Couldn't come
>>up with anything. So I have again gone
>>back to the two-week old image, and spent two hours getting all back
>>to where it was -- and Roxio again
>>works. And I've shut down Sys Restore. Incidentally, I
>>did send the ailing restore info to MSFT as you suggested.
>>
>>Now, all that's needed is to complete the various checks
>>and make a new TI image. Will not be turning on Sys
>>Restore again!
>>Miles
>
>
>
You need to make a very small "hidden partition" of a few MB's for
Acronis and it starts in Linux. Don't ask me any more details than that
for I could not tell you how it operates. What occurs is when the
computer is booted up, prior to windows opening a one line entry on the
black screen reads to the effect, "To open Acronis True Image, press
F11." From here, outside of windows, is where backups of C are made and
where C is restored from. The backup can be anywhere, CD's, DVD's,
another partition, or a removable drive -- when True Image is opened, a
listing of drives appears and you search for the image you wish to use
for restoration. A similar event takes place when making an image.)

If you would like more information you might go to:

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65

Believe you would need to first register for the forums.

Also, of course, you can read what is said at Acronis' website --
acronis.com. Apparently they have recently released update, Version 8,
for US$ 50.

Miles

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Hi Miles,

The reason I ask is that if any changes are made to a monitored drive
while SR is not running can cause corruption of the restore points. I
see that Acronis has the ability to restore individual files and
folders. If this is done while SR is not running that would cause
restore point corruption. I am just wondering if Acronis is causing
the corruption.

--
Regards,
Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/

Miles wrote:
>> Is this a dual boot (two OS on one partition) or multi
>> boot system (two OS each on it's own partition)?
>>
> You need to make a very small "hidden partition" of a few
> MB's for Acronis and it starts in Linux. Don't ask me
> any more details than that for I could not tell you how
> it operates. What occurs is when the computer is booted
> up, prior to windows opening a one line entry on the
> black screen reads to the effect, "To open Acronis True
> Image, press F11." From here, outside of windows, is
> where backups of C are made and where C is restored from.
> The backup can be anywhere, CD's, DVD's, another
> partition, or a removable drive -- when True Image is
> opened, a listing of drives appears and you search for
> the image you wish to use for restoration. A similar
> event takes place when making an image.)
> If you would like more information you might go to:
>
> http://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65
>
> Believe you would need to first register for the forums.
>
> Also, of course, you can read what is said at Acronis'
> website -- acronis.com. Apparently they have recently
> released update, Version 8, for US$ 50.
>
> Miles

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Bert Kinney wrote:

> Hi Miles,
>
> The reason I ask is that if any changes are made to a monitored drive
> while SR is not running can cause corruption of the restore points. I
> see that Acronis has the ability to restore individual files and
> folders. If this is done while SR is not running that would cause
> restore point corruption. I am just wondering if Acronis is causing
> the corruption.
>

Never thought of that, but you could be right. However, no, I have not
restored any individual files for many months. If SysRestore ever again
becomes of value I will need to be careful of that -- although I'm not
quite certain which files SysRestore would not be interested in, other
than data. If we are talking about 100% of all programs files, then we
could be in trouble.

Miles

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Hi Miles,

Here's a list of Files and Folders System Restore Monitors.
http://bertk.mvps.org/html/filesfolders.html

--
Regards,
Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/

Miles wrote:
>> The reason I ask is that if any changes are made to a
>> monitored drive while SR is not running can cause
>> corruption of the restore points. I see that Acronis has
>> the ability to restore individual files and folders. If
>> this is done while SR is not running that would cause
>> restore point corruption. I am just wondering if Acronis
>> is causing the corruption.
>
> Never thought of that, but you could be right. However,
> no, I have not restored any individual files for many
> months. If SysRestore ever again becomes of value I
> will need to be careful of that -- although I'm not quite
> certain which files SysRestore would not be interested
> in, other than data. If we are talking about 100% of all
> programs files, then we could be in trouble.
> Miles

Miles
07-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Bert Kinney wrote:

> Hi Miles,
>
> Here's a list of Files and Folders System Restore Monitors.
> http://bertk.mvps.org/html/filesfolders.html
>

Thanks, now I feel a bit more secure! Interesting that the list of
files not monitored evidently includes all under Docs & Settings/"user"
-- at least those extensions listed in the monitored section.

Miles


System Restore Failure