New Hardware Issues



David
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
Last week me and my cousin were adding new ram to both mine and his PC's
somehow we got our HardDrives mixed up I got his and he got mine. Were PC
Gamers who meet up 1ce every 3 mo.and live in 2 diff states. Once we was done
I had taken my PC home w/out testing the new ram, when I finally turned on my
PC it said I had 3 days to re-register windows. I had to leave at that time
for a flight so I could not do it then. When I got home today My PC Would not
start and went to the Chose a way to boot screen (no matter what i chose it
auto restarts the PC w/out loading) What can I do to get window's to start
w/out formating as ALL HIS BUSNIESS AND CONTRACTING information work for the
past year is on it? Thanks for any help...

Mike Hall \(MS-MVP\)
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
David

I would recommend that you find some way to swap the drives back.. if you
mess with it too much, you might lose all of the information, and I doubt
that your cousin would think you for that..

--
Mike Hall
MVP - Windows Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm





"David" <David@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:7B7A5E6A-A842-4F5B-AA85-59FCA9395DDD@microsoft.com...
> Last week me and my cousin were adding new ram to both mine and his PC's
> somehow we got our HardDrives mixed up I got his and he got mine. Were PC
> Gamers who meet up 1ce every 3 mo.and live in 2 diff states. Once we was
> done
> I had taken my PC home w/out testing the new ram, when I finally turned on
> my
> PC it said I had 3 days to re-register windows. I had to leave at that
> time
> for a flight so I could not do it then. When I got home today My PC Would
> not
> start and went to the Chose a way to boot screen (no matter what i chose
> it
> auto restarts the PC w/out loading) What can I do to get window's to start
> w/out formating as ALL HIS BUSNIESS AND CONTRACTING information work for
> the
> past year is on it? Thanks for any help...

Kevin
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
Frankly, I find your story hard to believe. RAM can be installed without
removing anything but the side panel of the computer. And mixing up your
hard drives . . . ? Come on! So why don't you just make a trip to your
friendly, local UPS center and ship the drives back to their respective
owners. And lay off the pot when working on your PC . . . dude.

"David" <David@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:7B7A5E6A-A842-4F5B-AA85-59FCA9395DDD@microsoft.com...
> Last week me and my cousin were adding new ram to both mine and his PC's
> somehow we got our HardDrives mixed up I got his and he got mine. Were PC
> Gamers who meet up 1ce every 3 mo.and live in 2 diff states. Once we was
done
> I had taken my PC home w/out testing the new ram, when I finally turned on
my
> PC it said I had 3 days to re-register windows. I had to leave at that
time
> for a flight so I could not do it then. When I got home today My PC Would
not
> start and went to the Chose a way to boot screen (no matter what i chose
it
> auto restarts the PC w/out loading) What can I do to get window's to start
> w/out formating as ALL HIS BUSNIESS AND CONTRACTING information work for
the
> past year is on it? Thanks for any help...

Al Romanosky
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
Hmm -accidentally swapped HDs? - Anyway, there are approximately ten
installed or functional items on a PC which if changed requires XP
reactivation When you booted the computer you saw a message stating that
there was significant change requiring reactivation in three days - the
key here is "days" (different from usual "times used") meaning that it was
not necessary to be actually using the computer - internal clock says three
days gone - that is it!
--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AL(KB3U) & Darlene Romanosky N. Ft.
Myers, FL
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


New Hardware Issues