Re-install of wondows xp



mikeyman
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
Can I install Windows XP pro Sp2 over the top of windows XP Home SP2 or does
it have to be a clean install.
I changed my motherboard and processor but only have a reload disk for XP
home which now doesn't work.

Thanks
Mike

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
If your computer cannot boot, then you'll have to
purchase a "Full Version" of Windows XP Home
Edition and perform a "Repair Install". If you
wish to install Windows XP Professional, you'll
need to purchase a "Full Version" and perform a
"Clean Install".

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
http://www.michaelstevenstech.­com/XPrepairinstall.htm

Clean Install Windows XP
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/cleanxpinstall.html

Changing a Motherboard or Moving a Hard Drive with XP Installed
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/moving_xp.html

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Mike" wrote:

| Can I install Windows XP pro Sp2 over the top of windows XP Home SP2 or does
| it have to be a clean install.
| I changed my motherboard and processor but only have a reload disk for XP
| home which now doesn't work.
|
| Thanks
| Mike

Rick
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
If you are trying to upgrade from Home OEM to Pro Oem, you can "upgrade"
from Home. Put the Pro disc in your CD and select "upgrade."

mikeyman wrote:
> Can I install Windows XP pro Sp2 over the top of windows XP Home SP2 or does
> it have to be a clean install.
> I changed my motherboard and processor but only have a reload disk for XP
> home which now doesn't work.
>
> Thanks
> Mike
>
>

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
One cannot use an OEM version of Windows XP Pro
to upgrade over Windows XP Home. You would need
a "Retail Upgrade Version" in order to do so.

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Rick" wrote:

| If you are trying to upgrade from Home OEM to Pro Oem, you can "upgrade"
| from Home. Put the Pro disc in your CD and select "upgrade."

AJR
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
What seems to have been glossed over is the statement that after changing
the motherboard and processor...assuming you are using the original HD with
XP installed - the computer should have booted with XP Home and a warning
given that the "innards" have changed significantly thereby requiring
reactivation (with three days). You referred to a "reload disk for XP"- is
this the original XP CD and explain "doesn't work"

mikeyman
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
I have the original HD with windows XP home (and all my other files) as well
as an additional HD still installed.

On booting from the MB & processor upgrade (this was changed from AMD to
Pentium) it runs through the bios but windows will not start, I get a screen
stating that windows didn't start properly and due to a possible hardware
upgrade (other reasons are listed) and to choose from the list below - this
include start windows normally, start in safe mode etc.
Whichever option I choose the PC just restarts and goes through the bios
checks again.

Guidance from a previous posting stated that due to the amount of change I
have made I would have to do a repair or a reinstall.
This wasn't a problem until I found my original XP disk and found it was
only a reload disk
Placing it in the drive hoping something would happen as I believe the
original XP files are on my C drive but I got a message saying the drive
could not be read and I got the DOS screen.
From here I could check and see all my files on the C: & D: drives.
It appears the reload CD is no longer working perhaps this is because of the
bios change, I'm not too sure.

Another thought, if I an get into DOS mode, can I do a repair from the
C:\windows directory?

Thanks
Mike



"AJR" <ajrjdr@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:uJTU7QZXFHA.1040@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> What seems to have been glossed over is the statement that after changing
> the motherboard and processor...assuming you are using the original HD
> with XP installed - the computer should have booted with XP Home and a
> warning given that the "innards" have changed significantly thereby
> requiring reactivation (with three days). You referred to a "reload disk
> for XP"- is this the original XP CD and explain "doesn't work"
>

Al Romanosky
07-10-2005, 02:07 AM
Unfortunately some of the advice you received were kinda "half truths". As
I stated in my previous post - a significant change (XP considers
approximately ten items - singular or plural) requires reactivation within
three days (not repair or reinstall)- the key here is "three days" - meaning
that whether you use the computer or not internal clock tracks three days
and XP will not boot afterwards.

If it is a problem of reactivation I am not sure if an activation key can be
implemented through DOS since you would need the key string generated by xp
to submit.

Will do more "research" pending solution -
--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AL(KB3U) & Darlene Romanosky N. Ft.
Myers, FL
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Re-install of wondows xp