Spybot OT?



Ian
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial check
and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the technical
data says..."following files will be included in this error report
\Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again and
reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its checking
routine.
Thanks for any help.

dazedandconfused
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
there is a strong possibilty you have a virus or trojan that has recognised
and disabled spybot.

I have seen this b4.

try starting in safe mode and run spybot b4 anything else

to start in safe mode reboot your machine and press F8 while it is booting up
sometimes its easy to miss the chance to press F8 so I just keep hitting it
till I get the startup screen where it asks you to select safe mode


"Ian" wrote:

> I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial check
> and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
> message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the technical
> data says..."following files will be included in this error report
> \Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
> What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again and
> reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
> checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its checking
> routine.
> Thanks for any help.
>
>
>

Moir
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
On behalf of Ian (I was the one who initiated the message from Ian's
computer) we ran Spybot in Safe Mode with system restore turned off and it
still stopped its checking routine.

We ran Ad-Aware also and it did not pick up anything.

I agree with your thoughts about the virus or trojan but how to rid the
computer of it (when and if we should recognise it)?


"dazedandconfused" <dazedandconfused@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:CA786D6C-7702-4F00-8224-A8103E63C7D8@microsoft.com...
> there is a strong possibilty you have a virus or trojan that has
> recognised
> and disabled spybot.
>
> I have seen this b4.
>
> try starting in safe mode and run spybot b4 anything else
>
> to start in safe mode reboot your machine and press F8 while it is booting
> up
> sometimes its easy to miss the chance to press F8 so I just keep hitting
> it
> till I get the startup screen where it asks you to select safe mode
>
>
> "Ian" wrote:
>
>> I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial
>> check
>> and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
>> message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the
>> technical
>> data says..."following files will be included in this error report
>> \Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND
>> \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
>> What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again
>> and
>> reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
>> checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its
>> checking
>> routine.
>> Thanks for any help.
>>
>>
>>

Michael Cecil
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
On Fri, 20 May 2005 14:48:00 +1000, "Ian" <evosmail@NOSPAMdodo.com.au>
wrote:

>I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial check
>and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
>message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the technical
>data says..."following files will be included in this error report
>\Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
>What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again and
>reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
>checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its checking
>routine.
>Thanks for any help.

Beta version of Spybot? Did you try the stable 1.3 version or the new
beta 1.4 that has some bugs still?

Did you eliminate the possibility of disk errors? Maybe run the full
chkdsk /r on the drive to make sure.

--
Michael Cecil
http://home.comcast.net/~macecil/
http://home.comcast.net/~safehex/

Michael T
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
You might try these online virus scans

I use Panda On-Line scan as it seems to catch things that others
won't/can't.
http://us.mcafee.com/root/mfs/default.asp
http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/default.asp?langid=ie&venid=sym
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

--
Michael


"Moir" <lvr181@nospamhotmail.com> wrote in message
news:uNoiOKQXFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> On behalf of Ian (I was the one who initiated the message from Ian's
> computer) we ran Spybot in Safe Mode with system restore turned off and it
> still stopped its checking routine.
>
> We ran Ad-Aware also and it did not pick up anything.
>
> I agree with your thoughts about the virus or trojan but how to rid the
> computer of it (when and if we should recognise it)?
>
>
> "dazedandconfused" <dazedandconfused@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
> message news:CA786D6C-7702-4F00-8224-A8103E63C7D8@microsoft.com...
>> there is a strong possibilty you have a virus or trojan that has
>> recognised
>> and disabled spybot.
>>
>> I have seen this b4.
>>
>> try starting in safe mode and run spybot b4 anything else
>>
>> to start in safe mode reboot your machine and press F8 while it is
>> booting up
>> sometimes its easy to miss the chance to press F8 so I just keep hitting
>> it
>> till I get the startup screen where it asks you to select safe mode
>>
>>
>> "Ian" wrote:
>>
>>> I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial
>>> check
>>> and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
>>> message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the
>>> technical
>>> data says..."following files will be included in this error report
>>> \Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND
>>> \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
>>> What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again
>>> and
>>> reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
>>> checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its
>>> checking
>>> routine.
>>> Thanks for any help.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>
>
>

Moir
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
Thanks Michael and Michael - will try what you have indicated.


"Michael Cecil" <macecil@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:tl6r81dh9a5h8ufuivj90jb31figqsovbk@4ax.com...
> On Fri, 20 May 2005 14:48:00 +1000, "Ian" <evosmail@NOSPAMdodo.com.au>
> wrote:
>
>>I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial check
>>and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
>>message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the
>>technical
>>data says..."following files will be included in this error report
>>\Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
>>What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again and
>>reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
>>checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its
>>checking
>>routine.
>>Thanks for any help.
>
> Beta version of Spybot? Did you try the stable 1.3 version or the new
> beta 1.4 that has some bugs still?
>
> Did you eliminate the possibility of disk errors? Maybe run the full
> chkdsk /r on the drive to make sure.
>
> --
> Michael Cecil
> http://home.comcast.net/~macecil/
> http://home.comcast.net/~safehex/

usasma
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
I had this problem a while ago with my SpyBot. The solution was to
uninstall, then reinstall SpyBot. (after doing one of the online scans)

Good Luck!

-John

"Moir" wrote:

> Thanks Michael and Michael - will try what you have indicated.
>
>
> "Michael Cecil" <macecil@comcast.net> wrote in message
> news:tl6r81dh9a5h8ufuivj90jb31figqsovbk@4ax.com...
> > On Fri, 20 May 2005 14:48:00 +1000, "Ian" <evosmail@NOSPAMdodo.com.au>
> > wrote:
> >
> >>I am using XP Pro SP2 and when running SpyBot it only does a partial check
> >>and then does not respond. When I go to close the program down, I get a
> >>message telling me that it wishes to send a message to MS and the
> >>technical
> >>data says..."following files will be included in this error report
> >>\Temp\WERbe0f.dir00\SpybotSD.exe.mdmp AND \Temp\WERbe0f\appcompat.txt"....
> >>What is happening? I have uninstalled the program and downloaded again and
> >>reinstalled and still the program fails to respond after doing some
> >>checking. The program does not always stop at the same place in its
> >>checking
> >>routine.
> >>Thanks for any help.
> >
> > Beta version of Spybot? Did you try the stable 1.3 version or the new
> > beta 1.4 that has some bugs still?
> >
> > Did you eliminate the possibility of disk errors? Maybe run the full
> > chkdsk /r on the drive to make sure.
> >
> > --
> > Michael Cecil
> > http://home.comcast.net/~macecil/
> > http://home.comcast.net/~safehex/
>
>
>

Rudy
07-10-2005, 01:08 AM
I picked up 4 Java Exploit trojans tonite:
<Getaccess.class
<Insecureclassleader.class
<dummy.class
<installer.class (This one was a "SHINWOW.Q" Java Trojan.)


***Neither SPYBOT or AdAware detected them.***
I know because I was alerted by my AV (always running) program (CA EzTrust
AV) and ran SPY and ADA with no results.

The AV (on its own) told me where they were hiding and I did a AV scan of
the two different folders:
C\Documents andsettings\name\local folders\Temp\temporarydirectory\ Java
Jar files, and
C\Doc " \ApplicationData\ Java Jar files

and there they were. Do you have an updated AV program..if not, try the
maker for an upgrade and run it.
it should find the Trojan(s) for you.

Deleted them per "How To" from CA website..Sofar so good. No trace of them
now. Good luck

Rudy


> we ran Spybot in Safe Mode with system restore turned off and it still
> stopped its checking routine.
>
> We ran Ad-Aware also and it did not pick up anything.
>
> I agree with your thoughts about the virus or trojan but how to rid the
> computer of it (when and if we should recognise it)?


Spybot OT?