hardware monitor chipset



Mairead
07-10-2005, 01:06 AM
After I installed windows xp on my pc a message appeared on start up which
said "computer must have hardware monitor chipset" - could someone tell me
what this is please. My pc has now stopped working - could this be the
problem? Any advice gratefully received.

Jaymon
07-10-2005, 01:06 AM
Was this an XP upgrade over an existing OS on an older computer?
Did you check your system compatibility before install?
You may need to reinstall your old OS with the OEM setup disks that came
with your computer. Then run the XP cd and check for compatibility issuses.
More information would help..

"Mairead" wrote:

> After I installed windows xp on my pc a message appeared on start up which
> said "computer must have hardware monitor chipset" - could someone tell me
> what this is please. My pc has now stopped working - could this be the
> problem? Any advice gratefully received.

Mairead
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
Thank you for your reply.

I put the Windows xp professional on a computer that is about 5 years old
which has windows 98. The reason I got the xp was because I needed drivers
for new devices and I couldn't find the windows 98 disks supplied with the
orginal computer. The pc was working OK until 3 days ago when first it kept
shutting down, then it wouldn't boot and the monitor was blank. Now when
switched on the monitor displays 3 broad bands of red, green and blue which
switch positions every 5 seconds. I don't know if the "monitor chipset"
message has any connection with the pc collapse.

Unfortunatley, I didn't think to check for compatability before installing
the xp.

"Jaymon" wrote:

> Was this an XP upgrade over an existing OS on an older computer?
> Did you check your system compatibility before install?
> You may need to reinstall your old OS with the OEM setup disks that came
> with your computer. Then run the XP cd and check for compatibility issuses.
> More information would help..
>
> "Mairead" wrote:
>
> > After I installed windows xp on my pc a message appeared on start up which
> > said "computer must have hardware monitor chipset" - could someone tell me
> > what this is please. My pc has now stopped working - could this be the
> > problem? Any advice gratefully received.

Jaymon
07-10-2005, 01:07 AM
If you can test the monitor and video card on another computer and if it's a
bad card? Then a new or used video card may solve the problem. If you are
unable or don't feel comfortable with that, take it to the repair shop for an
accurate diagnosis.

"Mairead" wrote:

> Thank you for your reply.
>
> I put the Windows xp professional on a computer that is about 5 years old
> which has windows 98. The reason I got the xp was because I needed drivers
> for new devices and I couldn't find the windows 98 disks supplied with the
> orginal computer. The pc was working OK until 3 days ago when first it kept
> shutting down, then it wouldn't boot and the monitor was blank. Now when
> switched on the monitor displays 3 broad bands of red, green and blue which
> switch positions every 5 seconds. I don't know if the "monitor chipset"
> message has any connection with the pc collapse.
>
> Unfortunatley, I didn't think to check for compatability before installing
> the xp.
>
> "Jaymon" wrote:
>
> > Was this an XP upgrade over an existing OS on an older computer?
> > Did you check your system compatibility before install?
> > You may need to reinstall your old OS with the OEM setup disks that came
> > with your computer. Then run the XP cd and check for compatibility issuses.
> > More information would help..
> >
> > "Mairead" wrote:
> >
> > > After I installed windows xp on my pc a message appeared on start up which
> > > said "computer must have hardware monitor chipset" - could someone tell me
> > > what this is please. My pc has now stopped working - could this be the
> > > problem? Any advice gratefully received.


hardware monitor chipset