Re: Error in Winsock Module



Rosenstein
07-10-2005, 02:05 AM
Sorry Bîtta: I have exactly the same problem, but none of the removal tools
(Symantec and McAfee) found a virus. both said "no virus, troyans or spyware,
status ok

any other good ideas ???

"Bitta" wrote:

>
> Hey guys
> This error is real mind twister but believe it or not it has nothing
> to do with your winsock files, firewall or anything associated. It is
> actually a VIRUS. Yes a virus - Sober.o(SYMANTEC) to be exact. Good
> news is that McAfee's Stinger - http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/ - is
> able to remove the affected files and Symantec has a removal tool -
> http://tinyurl.com/yst4j :thumb: :D YAY!!
>
> Hope this helps :cool:
>
>
> --
> Bitta
>

Bitta
07-10-2005, 02:05 AM
Go to msconfig and remove everything form startup. Don't reboot, then
run stinger - Go into pref and select "Scan all Files". Once the scan
has finished reboot in Safe Mode and run the Removal Tool from Symantec
and Stinger once more. Hopefully this will pick up and remove the Virus.


--
BittaPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

rosenstein
07-10-2005, 02:05 AM
stinger did find infections during the first run, the symantec removal tool
did not find anything and the popups are still here!

"Bitta" wrote:

>
> Go to msconfig and remove everything form startup. Don't reboot, then
> run stinger - Go into pref and select "Scan all Files". Once the scan
> has finished reboot in Safe Mode and run the Removal Tool from Symantec
> and Stinger once more. Hopefully this will pick up and remove the Virus.
>
>
> --
> BittaPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>
>

Bitta
07-10-2005, 02:05 AM
Sounds to me you could also have some Spyware try Spy Sweeper :
http://www.webroot.com/downloads


--
BittaPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

rosenstein
07-10-2005, 02:05 AM
Uuf, Re-installation of Norton Internet Security solved the problem with the
popups, NAV then also found and eliminated three infected files; do you still
recommend that I apply spyware?

"Bitta" wrote:

>
> Sounds to me you could also have some Spyware try Spy Sweeper :
> http://www.webroot.com/downloads
>
>
> --
> BittaPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>
>


Re: Error in Winsock Module