Re: Backup



cafox513
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
MS pros, please broadcast your answer to this one.

My situation is similar, but worse. Before Dell replaced my (very new) hard
drive, they told me how to find the Backup utility on the Windows XP CD that
shipped with my new desktop.

I used Backup to create five folders (almost 20Gb of various items) on a
second hard drive -- external, in case that makes a difference.

When my new drive was installed by Dell, and I tried using the Files &
Settings Transfer Wizard to retrieve that data, it couldn't access anything.

Can you instruct me, step by step, how to retrieve the stuff? A ton of
important recent e-mails (including Dell's telling me how to get Backup
loaded) plus my entire family history back to 1650 is hiding in there
somewhere. I would really like to get it all back out.

Thanks up front
--
Charles


"PattiChati" wrote:

> I installed Word, Quicken, Turbo Tax - the information is not in there. It
> is in a file buried deep called "backup". I need to know how to get it from
> the backup file into the program. Thanks.
>
> "Shenan Stanley" <newshelper@gmail.com> wrote in message
> news:O7WZZQcNFHA.568@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> > PattiChati wrote:
> >> I did a complete reinstall on windows xp and it backed the data up to
> >> my hard drive. I had to reinstall all my programs. Now how do I put
> >> that information back into the programs that I had to reinstall?
> >
> > Programs usually ACCESS iinformation. For example.. Word creates
> > documents, Excel creates spreadsheets, Access creates databases, etc..
> >
> > You simply load the files with their proper applications.
> >
> > --
> > <- Shenan ->
> > --
> > The information is provided "as is", it is suggested you research for
> > yourself before you take any advice - you are the one ultimately
> > responsible for your actions/problems/solutions. Know what you are
> > getting into before you jump in with both feet.
> >
>
>
>

Maurice N ~ MVP
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
If you use Windows XP Backup (Ntbackup) to do the backup, then you use the same program to restore "selected" files back.
Make sure the external hard drive is on-line, then bring up Ntbackup. (All Programs> Accessories > System Tools --> Backup).

If Backup is not in the Programs menu, get it from XP CD (Dell labels CD Operating System CD). Its named NTBackup.exe and it is on the XP CD. (in the \Valueadd folder.) Some OEM editions may not have it.

Better yet, place your XP CD in CD drive & go to Control Panel---Add Remove Program---and select Add
Remove Windows Components, and navigate in the Accessories section, and
select (CHECK mark) Backup.

--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

"cafox513" wrote
> MS pros, please broadcast your answer to this one.
>
> My situation is similar, but worse. Before Dell replaced my (very new) hard
> drive, they told me how to find the Backup utility on the Windows XP CD that
> shipped with my new desktop.
>
> I used Backup to create five folders (almost 20Gb of various items) on a
> second hard drive -- external, in case that makes a difference.
>
> When my new drive was installed by Dell, and I tried using the Files &
> Settings Transfer Wizard to retrieve that data, it couldn't access anything.
>
> Can you instruct me, step by step, how to retrieve the stuff? A ton of
> important recent e-mails (including Dell's telling me how to get Backup
> loaded) plus my entire family history back to 1650 is hiding in there
> somewhere. I would really like to get it all back out.
>
> Thanks up front
> --
> Charles

cafox513
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
A warm thank you for such clear explanation, complete, with two options. Hot
diggity, I think I can now attack it.

--
Charles


"cafox513" wrote:

> MS pros, please broadcast your answer to this one.
>
> My situation is similar, but worse. Before Dell replaced my (very new) hard
> drive, they told me how to find the Backup utility on the Windows XP CD that
> shipped with my new desktop.
>
> I used Backup to create five folders (almost 20Gb of various items) on a
> second hard drive -- external, in case that makes a difference.
>
> When my new drive was installed by Dell, and I tried using the Files &
> Settings Transfer Wizard to retrieve that data, it couldn't access anything.
>
> Can you instruct me, step by step, how to retrieve the stuff? A ton of
> important recent e-mails (including Dell's telling me how to get Backup
> loaded) plus my entire family history back to 1650 is hiding in there
> somewhere. I would really like to get it all back out.
>
> Thanks up front
> --
> Charles
>
>
> "PattiChati" wrote:
>
> > I installed Word, Quicken, Turbo Tax - the information is not in there. It
> > is in a file buried deep called "backup". I need to know how to get it from
> > the backup file into the program. Thanks.
> >
> > "Shenan Stanley" <newshelper@gmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:O7WZZQcNFHA.568@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> > > PattiChati wrote:
> > >> I did a complete reinstall on windows xp and it backed the data up to
> > >> my hard drive. I had to reinstall all my programs. Now how do I put
> > >> that information back into the programs that I had to reinstall?
> > >
> > > Programs usually ACCESS iinformation. For example.. Word creates
> > > documents, Excel creates spreadsheets, Access creates databases, etc..
> > >
> > > You simply load the files with their proper applications.
> > >
> > > --
> > > <- Shenan ->
> > > --
> > > The information is provided "as is", it is suggested you research for
> > > yourself before you take any advice - you are the one ultimately
> > > responsible for your actions/problems/solutions. Know what you are
> > > getting into before you jump in with both feet.
> > >
> >
> >
> >

Maurice N ~ MVP
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
Charles, You are very welcome. Post back with your progress.
--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

"cafox513" <cafox513@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:C26D50E4-2DAF-4104-A1DF-E1819E2695E1@microsoft.com...
>A warm thank you for such clear explanation, complete, with two options. Hot
> diggity, I think I can now attack it.
>

cafox513
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
Will do!
--
Charles


"Maurice N ~ MVP" wrote:

> Charles, You are very welcome. Post back with your progress.
> --
> Maurice N
> MVP Windows - Shell / User
> -----
>
> "cafox513" <cafox513@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:C26D50E4-2DAF-4104-A1DF-E1819E2695E1@microsoft.com...
> >A warm thank you for such clear explanation, complete, with two options. Hot
> > diggity, I think I can now attack it.
> >
>
>

cafox513
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
POSSIBLE FAILURE . . .

This does NOT want to work. I have Home edition of XP, and the file I'm
supposed to backup from won't allow me to change it. (I have no clue what the
'ASR' is that is guaranteed not to work under Home edition.)

What now?
--
Charles


"Maurice N ~ MVP" wrote:

> Charles, You are very welcome. Post back with your progress.
> --
> Maurice N
> MVP Windows - Shell / User
> -----
>
> "cafox513" <cafox513@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:C26D50E4-2DAF-4104-A1DF-E1819E2695E1@microsoft.com...
> >A warm thank you for such clear explanation, complete, with two options. Hot
> > diggity, I think I can now attack it.
> >
>
>

Maurice N ~ MVP
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
ASR backup is in XP Pro only. (iirc) I have not seen it in XP Home.
Have you located your backup-data-file from before?
You do not want to change it. You only want to do a selective "restore" by selecting only the file(s) you need restored.
--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

"cafox513" wrote
> POSSIBLE FAILURE . . .
>
> This does NOT want to work. I have Home edition of XP, and the file I'm
> supposed to backup from won't allow me to change it. (I have no clue what the
> 'ASR' is that is guaranteed not to work under Home edition.)
>
> What now?
> --
> Charles

cafox513
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
Took me a long time -- my other computer is also giving me fits, but a
different way (same program is the problem, though, I believe: Trend Micro
PC-cillin).

Sorry about that. But it does seem to be restoring items at least to their
right locations. Don't know if they'll function again, but we'll tackle that
after the restoration.
--
Charles


"Maurice N ~ MVP" wrote:

> ASR backup is in XP Pro only. (iirc) I have not seen it in XP Home.
> Have you located your backup-data-file from before?
> You do not want to change it. You only want to do a selective "restore" by selecting only the file(s) you need restored.
> --
> Maurice N
> MVP Windows - Shell / User
> -----
>
> "cafox513" wrote
> > POSSIBLE FAILURE . . .
> >
> > This does NOT want to work. I have Home edition of XP, and the file I'm
> > supposed to backup from won't allow me to change it. (I have no clue what the
> > 'ASR' is that is guaranteed not to work under Home edition.)
> >
> > What now?
> > --
> > Charles
>
>


Re: Backup