New install or fix?



ceb39
07-10-2005, 01:03 AM
My wife has brought home an IBM Think Pad from work
which no one wanted, too slow I guess. The previous employee who had this
computer can not remember his password so no one can get into the computer
and use it. A case of slective memory loss since the employee was let go.

I have a brand new copy of XP Pro I purchased and was going to install.
Prior to doing this I have been reading up on the ins and outs of installing
XP Pro. In the Visual Quickstart Guide for Windows XP (p. 440) it states
that, "If Setup finds a previous Windows XP installation, it asks whether
you want to repair it or install a fresh (clean) copy."

Question - Can a new XP Pro be used to repair an already installed version
of XP Pro, or does it have to be the same CD which was used to install the
software originally?

Thanks

CEB
xceb39@myway.com

When replying please remove the x.

Maurice N ~ MVP
07-10-2005, 01:03 AM
CEB,

Yes, you can do a repair install with your XP CD, but you really should not.

You should do a clean install, given what you mentioned. You really want to wipe away what the prior user had on this system.
Plus, (hooray for having XP Pro), during the setup process of XP, arrange the administrator account & be sure to setup (& to document) the administrator password; and you will also setup the main user accounts.

Set pc BIOS to boot from CDROM first. Boot from XP CD.
Do a clean install (new) choice, and choose "advanced" options-button. This will allow a re-format of system drive.

See Paul Thurrott's website on guide for XP clean install
http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_clean.asp

Guide to upgrading (or new install) Win XP at Aumha.org
http://aumha.org/win5/a/xpupgrad.htm

--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

"ceb39" wrote
> My wife has brought home an IBM Think Pad from work
> which no one wanted, too slow I guess. The previous employee who had this
> computer can not remember his password so no one can get into the computer
> and use it. A case of slective memory loss since the employee was let go.
>
> I have a brand new copy of XP Pro I purchased and was going to install.
> Prior to doing this I have been reading up on the ins and outs of installing
> XP Pro. In the Visual Quickstart Guide for Windows XP (p. 440) it states
> that, "If Setup finds a previous Windows XP installation, it asks whether
> you want to repair it or install a fresh (clean) copy."
>
> Question - Can a new XP Pro be used to repair an already installed version
> of XP Pro, or does it have to be the same CD which was used to install the
> software originally?
>
> Thanks
>
> CEB
> xceb39@myway.com
>
> When replying please remove the x.

Al Romanosky
07-10-2005, 01:03 AM
Bit curious - how are you planning on defeating the password requirement to
install XP?

--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AL(KB3U) & Darlene Romanosky N. Ft.
Myers, FL
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maurice N ~ MVP
07-10-2005, 01:03 AM
Dan,

As Al mentions, find out first if this notebook pc ( IBM think Pad) requires a password.

--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

ceb39
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
In it's current configuration it is asking for a password, which nobody can
come up with.
So my solution was to buy a new copy of XP Pro and do a new installation,
but then
I saw the paragraph in the Quickstart Guide and wondered if I could do a
repair. Based upon the advice I have received I think a new installation is
best.

ceb39


"Maurice N ~ MVP" <maurice@mvps.org> wrote in message
news:OYL%23%23uXWFHA.2472@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
Dan,

As Al mentions, find out first if this notebook pc ( IBM think Pad) requires
a password.

--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

ceb39
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
Thanks, I'll take your advice. Also thanks for the two site URLs, they
have a lot in interesting information.

Chuck

"Maurice N ~ MVP" <maurice@mvps.org> wrote in message
news:OX4z1$WWFHA.3076@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
CEB,

Yes, you can do a repair install with your XP CD, but you really should not.

You should do a clean install, given what you mentioned. You really want to
wipe away what the prior user had on this system.
Plus, (hooray for having XP Pro), during the setup process of XP, arrange
the administrator account & be sure to setup (& to document) the
administrator password; and you will also setup the main user accounts.

Set pc BIOS to boot from CDROM first. Boot from XP CD.
Do a clean install (new) choice, and choose "advanced" options-button. This
will allow a re-format of system drive.

See Paul Thurrott's website on guide for XP clean install
http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_clean.asp

Guide to upgrading (or new install) Win XP at Aumha.org
http://aumha.org/win5/a/xpupgrad.htm

--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

"ceb39" wrote
> My wife has brought home an IBM Think Pad from work
> which no one wanted, too slow I guess. The previous employee who had this
> computer can not remember his password so no one can get into the computer
> and use it. A case of slective memory loss since the employee was let go.
>
> I have a brand new copy of XP Pro I purchased and was going to install.
> Prior to doing this I have been reading up on the ins and outs of
> installing
> XP Pro. In the Visual Quickstart Guide for Windows XP (p. 440) it states
> that, "If Setup finds a previous Windows XP installation, it asks whether
> you want to repair it or install a fresh (clean) copy."
>
> Question - Can a new XP Pro be used to repair an already installed version
> of XP Pro, or does it have to be the same CD which was used to install the
> software originally?
>
> Thanks
>
> CEB
> xceb39@myway.com
>
> When replying please remove the x.

Maurice N ~ MVP
07-10-2005, 01:04 AM
Al & I are concerned that this notebook has a hardware-based password which you do not have, and that may prevent you from loading the new Windows.

As to the other tips, you are very welcome.
--
Maurice N
MVP Windows - Shell / User
-----

"ceb39" wrote
> In it's current configuration it is asking for a password, which nobody can
> come up with.
> So my solution was to buy a new copy of XP Pro and do a new installation,
> but then
> I saw the paragraph in the Quickstart Guide and wondered if I could do a
> repair. Based upon the advice I have received I think a new installation is
> best.
>
> ceb39
>
>
> "Maurice N ~ MVP" wrote in message
> Dan,
>
> As Al mentions, find out first if this notebook pc ( IBM think Pad) requires
> a password.
>
> --
> Maurice N
> MVP Windows - Shell / User
> -----


New install or fix?