MS DOS



Brain Fart
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Brain Fart:
How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that only
likes MS DOS

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Windows XP is not based on MS-DOS, therefore there is
no MS-DOS to boot into.

How to use the Program Compatibility Wizard in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767

Error message when you install or start an MS-DOS or 16-bit Windows-based program
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767

How to Troubleshoot 16-Bit Windows Programs in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;314495

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Brain Fart" wrote:

| Brain Fart:
| How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that only
| likes MS DOS


---
avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean.
Virus Database (VPS): 0519-2, 05/12/2005
Tested on: 5/14/2005 9:47:56 PM
avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2005 ALWIL Software.
http://www.avast.com

Steve H.
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Brain Fart wrote:
> Brain Fart:
> How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that only
> likes MS DOS

My understanding
is that Windows XP does not like to run MS-DOS. Try going to run, type
in cmd, then try that dos-looking console.

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Hi,

No such thing, there is no underlying DOS layer in an NT system (WindowsXP
is based on the NT kernel). However, many DOS applications can be run in the
NT Virtual DOS Machine (ntvdm.exe) environment. Just click start/run and
type cmd to open it. Try running the application here, as you will find that
most of the old DOS commands still work. If your application requires direct
hardware access, chances are that component will not work, as XP does not
allow for direct hardware access by applications.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Brain Fart" <Brain Fart@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:3A77402F-242E-486E-9134-038B4E7B6490@microsoft.com...
> Brain Fart:
> How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that
> only
> likes MS DOS

Nog
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
"Brain Fart" <Brain Fart@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:3A77402F-242E-486E-9134-038B4E7B6490@microsoft.com...
> Brain Fart:
> How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that
> only
> likes MS DOS

What you DOS diehards need to do is load up an old computer with MSDOS 6.22
and run your junk on that computer. Yes, you can still buy MSDOS 6.22.

Bruce Chambers
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Brain Fart wrote:
> Brain Fart:
> How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that only
> likes MS DOS


Not to put too fine a point on it, you can't.

There is no way to reboot a WinXP PC into Real Mode DOS unless
you've set up a dual-boot system. The WinNT family of 32-bit
graphical operating systems, of which WinXP is the latest generation,
has never used, included, or "ridden upon" MS-DOS. The Recovery
Console's CLI (Command Line Interface) is the closest you can come to
the old "DOS mode."


--

Bruce Chambers

Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having
both at once. - RAH

Bob Davis
07-10-2005, 02:11 AM
"Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" <rick@mvps.org> wrote in message
news:%23uRjKyUWFHA.2692@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...

> No such thing, there is no underlying DOS layer in an NT system (WindowsXP
> is based on the NT kernel). However, many DOS applications can be run in
> the NT Virtual DOS Machine (ntvdm.exe) environment. Just click start/run
> and type cmd to open it. Try running the application here, as you will
> find that most of the old DOS commands still work. If your application
> requires direct hardware access, chances are that component will not work,
> as XP does not allow for direct hardware access by applications.

Exactly what does this mean? I'm running Foxpro v2.6 for DOS and it
accesses all three of my printers just by identifying the port, even the USB
inkjet. It also accesses any drive, including three firewire and one USB
device. I can't figure out anything it won't access.

Bob Davis
07-10-2005, 02:11 AM
"Nog" <nognog@adelphia.net> wrote in message
news:Gb-dnY53cucQyxrfRVn-1w@adelphia.com...

> "Brain Fart" <Brain Fart@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:3A77402F-242E-486E-9134-038B4E7B6490@microsoft.com...
>> Brain Fart:
>> How do I start or change to MS Dos? I am trying to run a program that
>> only
>> likes MS DOS
>
> What you DOS diehards need to do is load up an old computer with MSDOS
> 6.22 and run your junk on that computer. Yes, you can still buy MSDOS
> 6.22.

XP runs several DOS apps fine for me. I can't imagine why you'd need a
separate computer for this purpose.


MS DOS