Sony Digital Camcorder and failure to capture



Chris
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
I am trying to use Movie Maker to capture video from my Sony digital
camcorder (DCR-TRV11E). I have firewire card installed on my PC and am using
a firewire cable.

The camera is recognised by the PC and also by Movie Maker but when I try to
start video capture either Movie Maker hangs or it tells me that I have no
tape installed (which I do).

My PC runs on Windows XP (SP2) and I've searched the Sony website and cannot
find any answers there.

Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Have you ever been able to get it to capture, or is this your first try?
Have you got the cam powered by mains and in the vcr/playback position?
Ttry downloading and using windv a free and generally very good capture app
and let us know if that works.
http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Chris" <Chris@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:048D7650-206F-49C8-A5FB-57CD1EA95538@microsoft.com...
>I am trying to use Movie Maker to capture video from my Sony digital
> camcorder (DCR-TRV11E). I have firewire card installed on my PC and am
> using
> a firewire cable.
>
> The camera is recognised by the PC and also by Movie Maker but when I try
> to
> start video capture either Movie Maker hangs or it tells me that I have no
> tape installed (which I do).
>
> My PC runs on Windows XP (SP2) and I've searched the Sony website and
> cannot
> find any answers there.
>
> Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Treeman
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Hmmm,
You might try looking in Network Connections to see if your
firewire1394 device is firewalled. You can either turn off the firewall
or allow port 80 access. Just a hunch,
Treeman


--
Treeman


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870439834

Chris
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Hello Graham,

Thank you for replying.

First let me answer your questions: yes I can confirm that the camera is in
playback mode and it is connected to the mains. Also this is my first attempt
at this - so it is something that I'm new to.

I downloaded the WinDV program and sorry to say it too didn't work. The
message came up that it was 'capturing' but absolutely nothing happened and
when I eventually pressed 'cancel' WinDV simply hung as well.

I should also say that I had my firewall switched off throughout just in
case that was the cause of the error.

Do you have any more thoughts at all?

"Graham Hughes" wrote:

> Have you ever been able to get it to capture, or is this your first try?
> Have you got the cam powered by mains and in the vcr/playback position?
> Ttry downloading and using windv a free and generally very good capture app
> and let us know if that works.
> http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm
>
> --
> Graham Hughes
> MVP Digital Media
> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> www.dvds2treasure.com
> www.simplydv.com
>
>
> "Chris" <Chris@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:048D7650-206F-49C8-A5FB-57CD1EA95538@microsoft.com...
> >I am trying to use Movie Maker to capture video from my Sony digital
> > camcorder (DCR-TRV11E). I have firewire card installed on my PC and am
> > using
> > a firewire cable.
> >
> > The camera is recognised by the PC and also by Movie Maker but when I try
> > to
> > start video capture either Movie Maker hangs or it tells me that I have no
> > tape installed (which I do).
> >
> > My PC runs on Windows XP (SP2) and I've searched the Sony website and
> > cannot
> > find any answers there.
> >
> > Can anyone offer any suggestions?
>
>
>

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Chris,
See if you can try the cam on a friends pc, so at least we know the cam and
cable work properly.
Then read this page of mine and let me have as many details as possible.
http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Problem%20Pages/CamNotWorkingUnderSP2.htm

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Chris" <Chris@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C394FFB6-9517-4576-B367-3BBEDD8AD251@microsoft.com...
> Hello Graham,
>
> Thank you for replying.
>
> First let me answer your questions: yes I can confirm that the camera is
> in
> playback mode and it is connected to the mains. Also this is my first
> attempt
> at this - so it is something that I'm new to.
>
> I downloaded the WinDV program and sorry to say it too didn't work. The
> message came up that it was 'capturing' but absolutely nothing happened
> and
> when I eventually pressed 'cancel' WinDV simply hung as well.
>
> I should also say that I had my firewall switched off throughout just in
> case that was the cause of the error.
>
> Do you have any more thoughts at all?
>
> "Graham Hughes" wrote:
>
>> Have you ever been able to get it to capture, or is this your first try?
>> Have you got the cam powered by mains and in the vcr/playback position?
>> Ttry downloading and using windv a free and generally very good capture
>> app
>> and let us know if that works.
>> http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm
>>
>> --
>> Graham Hughes
>> MVP Digital Media
>> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
>> www.dvds2treasure.com
>> www.simplydv.com
>>
>>
>> "Chris" <Chris@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:048D7650-206F-49C8-A5FB-57CD1EA95538@microsoft.com...
>> >I am trying to use Movie Maker to capture video from my Sony digital
>> > camcorder (DCR-TRV11E). I have firewire card installed on my PC and am
>> > using
>> > a firewire cable.
>> >
>> > The camera is recognised by the PC and also by Movie Maker but when I
>> > try
>> > to
>> > start video capture either Movie Maker hangs or it tells me that I have
>> > no
>> > tape installed (which I do).
>> >
>> > My PC runs on Windows XP (SP2) and I've searched the Sony website and
>> > cannot
>> > find any answers there.
>> >
>> > Can anyone offer any suggestions?
>>
>>
>>

Chris
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Graham,

I followed the advice on your website and eventually plucked up the courage
to get into my PC and swap the PCI cards around. To my delight it has
resolved the problem. Movie Maker is now caturing from my camcorder no
problem.

Thank you for your help.

"Graham Hughes" wrote:

> Chris,
> See if you can try the cam on a friends pc, so at least we know the cam and
> cable work properly.
> Then read this page of mine and let me have as many details as possible.
> http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Problem%20Pages/CamNotWorkingUnderSP2.htm
>
> --
> Graham Hughes
> MVP Digital Media
> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> www.dvds2treasure.com
> www.simplydv.com
>
>
> "Chris" <Chris@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:C394FFB6-9517-4576-B367-3BBEDD8AD251@microsoft.com...
> > Hello Graham,
> >
> > Thank you for replying.
> >
> > First let me answer your questions: yes I can confirm that the camera is
> > in
> > playback mode and it is connected to the mains. Also this is my first
> > attempt
> > at this - so it is something that I'm new to.
> >
> > I downloaded the WinDV program and sorry to say it too didn't work. The
> > message came up that it was 'capturing' but absolutely nothing happened
> > and
> > when I eventually pressed 'cancel' WinDV simply hung as well.
> >
> > I should also say that I had my firewall switched off throughout just in
> > case that was the cause of the error.
> >
> > Do you have any more thoughts at all?
> >
> > "Graham Hughes" wrote:
> >
> >> Have you ever been able to get it to capture, or is this your first try?
> >> Have you got the cam powered by mains and in the vcr/playback position?
> >> Ttry downloading and using windv a free and generally very good capture
> >> app
> >> and let us know if that works.
> >> http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm
> >>
> >> --
> >> Graham Hughes
> >> MVP Digital Media
> >> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> >> www.dvds2treasure.com
> >> www.simplydv.com
> >>
> >>
> >> "Chris" <Chris@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:048D7650-206F-49C8-A5FB-57CD1EA95538@microsoft.com...
> >> >I am trying to use Movie Maker to capture video from my Sony digital
> >> > camcorder (DCR-TRV11E). I have firewire card installed on my PC and am
> >> > using
> >> > a firewire cable.
> >> >
> >> > The camera is recognised by the PC and also by Movie Maker but when I
> >> > try
> >> > to
> >> > start video capture either Movie Maker hangs or it tells me that I have
> >> > no
> >> > tape installed (which I do).
> >> >
> >> > My PC runs on Windows XP (SP2) and I've searched the Sony website and
> >> > cannot
> >> > find any answers there.
> >> >
> >> > Can anyone offer any suggestions?
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>


Sony Digital Camcorder and failure to capture