XL2 Capture problems in WMM



Rob
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
WMM is not recognizing my Canon XL2. Do I need to update the software? It is
current version.

Also what type of Video card do you recommend? I've got a new Dell 4700 with
a P4 and 80gigs of hardrive space.

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
How are you connecting? What happens when you do connect? Do you get any
error messages?
Video cards don't do much in video editing, so it's not really a problem
with which one to pick, why do you want to replace it?

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Rob" <Rob @discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:06CFDEBA-F404-4180-87C7-35FA7CF0FDD6@microsoft.com...
> WMM is not recognizing my Canon XL2. Do I need to update the software? It
> is
> current version.
>
> Also what type of Video card do you recommend? I've got a new Dell 4700
> with
> a P4 and 80gigs of hardrive space.
>

Rob
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Hi Graham, I am using belkin video bus I, the error message says that it
doesn't recognized the device.

Video card: I guess it should have been a separate question, but the one I
have right now doesn't allow for TV output, also I may want to use 2 screens
for editiing.

Thanks

"Graham Hughes" wrote:

> How are you connecting? What happens when you do connect? Do you get any
> error messages?
> Video cards don't do much in video editing, so it's not really a problem
> with which one to pick, why do you want to replace it?
>
> --
> Graham Hughes
> MVP Digital Media
> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> www.dvds2treasure.com
> www.simplydv.com
>
>
> "Rob" <Rob @discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:06CFDEBA-F404-4180-87C7-35FA7CF0FDD6@microsoft.com...
> > WMM is not recognizing my Canon XL2. Do I need to update the software? It
> > is
> > current version.
> >
> > Also what type of Video card do you recommend? I've got a new Dell 4700
> > with
> > a P4 and 80gigs of hardrive space.
> >
>
>
>

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Is the video bus an analogue to usb convertor? If so it won't work, use
firewire to connect the cam to the pc. After spending a fortune on your cam
to get good quality images you don't want to ruin it by crap capture.
I use a n-vidia fx5200 with dual output and tv out on my editing pc, good
and not too expensive.

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Rob" <Rob@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A2CF814D-9F29-4559-B113-472BD5A6923F@microsoft.com...
> Hi Graham, I am using belkin video bus I, the error message says that it
> doesn't recognized the device.
>
> Video card: I guess it should have been a separate question, but the one I
> have right now doesn't allow for TV output, also I may want to use 2
> screens
> for editiing.
>
> Thanks
>
> "Graham Hughes" wrote:
>
>> How are you connecting? What happens when you do connect? Do you get any
>> error messages?
>> Video cards don't do much in video editing, so it's not really a problem
>> with which one to pick, why do you want to replace it?
>>
>> --
>> Graham Hughes
>> MVP Digital Media
>> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
>> www.dvds2treasure.com
>> www.simplydv.com
>>
>>
>> "Rob" <Rob @discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:06CFDEBA-F404-4180-87C7-35FA7CF0FDD6@microsoft.com...
>> > WMM is not recognizing my Canon XL2. Do I need to update the software?
>> > It
>> > is
>> > current version.
>> >
>> > Also what type of Video card do you recommend? I've got a new Dell 4700
>> > with
>> > a P4 and 80gigs of hardrive space.
>> >
>>
>>
>>

Rob
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Graham, I was afraid that it wouldn't work...yes it is analog....I guess it
is for the best, because it will not capture audio either. Firewire it
is...yeah...after spending a fortune on the camera...Im broke. Thanks for the
advice.
Rob

"Graham Hughes" wrote:

> Is the video bus an analogue to usb convertor? If so it won't work, use
> firewire to connect the cam to the pc. After spending a fortune on your cam
> to get good quality images you don't want to ruin it by crap capture.
> I use a n-vidia fx5200 with dual output and tv out on my editing pc, good
> and not too expensive.
>
> --
> Graham Hughes
> MVP Digital Media
> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> www.dvds2treasure.com
> www.simplydv.com
>
>
> "Rob" <Rob@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:A2CF814D-9F29-4559-B113-472BD5A6923F@microsoft.com...
> > Hi Graham, I am using belkin video bus I, the error message says that it
> > doesn't recognized the device.
> >
> > Video card: I guess it should have been a separate question, but the one I
> > have right now doesn't allow for TV output, also I may want to use 2
> > screens
> > for editiing.
> >
> > Thanks
> >
> > "Graham Hughes" wrote:
> >
> >> How are you connecting? What happens when you do connect? Do you get any
> >> error messages?
> >> Video cards don't do much in video editing, so it's not really a problem
> >> with which one to pick, why do you want to replace it?
> >>
> >> --
> >> Graham Hughes
> >> MVP Digital Media
> >> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> >> www.dvds2treasure.com
> >> www.simplydv.com
> >>
> >>
> >> "Rob" <Rob @discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:06CFDEBA-F404-4180-87C7-35FA7CF0FDD6@microsoft.com...
> >> > WMM is not recognizing my Canon XL2. Do I need to update the software?
> >> > It
> >> > is
> >> > current version.
> >> >
> >> > Also what type of Video card do you recommend? I've got a new Dell 4700
> >> > with
> >> > a P4 and 80gigs of hardrive space.
> >> >
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
A firewire card should be ponly about 15 / $20 the difference will blow you
away and prove the investment in that lovely cam was worth it.

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Rob" <Rob@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:AFF2E2ED-DB4B-4FF3-A3FF-AEA11403BDBC@microsoft.com...
> Graham, I was afraid that it wouldn't work...yes it is analog....I guess
> it
> is for the best, because it will not capture audio either. Firewire it
> is...yeah...after spending a fortune on the camera...Im broke. Thanks for
> the
> advice.
> Rob
>
> "Graham Hughes" wrote:
>
>> Is the video bus an analogue to usb convertor? If so it won't work, use
>> firewire to connect the cam to the pc. After spending a fortune on your
>> cam
>> to get good quality images you don't want to ruin it by crap capture.
>> I use a n-vidia fx5200 with dual output and tv out on my editing pc, good
>> and not too expensive.
>>
>> --
>> Graham Hughes
>> MVP Digital Media
>> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
>> www.dvds2treasure.com
>> www.simplydv.com
>>
>>
>> "Rob" <Rob@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:A2CF814D-9F29-4559-B113-472BD5A6923F@microsoft.com...
>> > Hi Graham, I am using belkin video bus I, the error message says that
>> > it
>> > doesn't recognized the device.
>> >
>> > Video card: I guess it should have been a separate question, but the
>> > one I
>> > have right now doesn't allow for TV output, also I may want to use 2
>> > screens
>> > for editiing.
>> >
>> > Thanks
>> >
>> > "Graham Hughes" wrote:
>> >
>> >> How are you connecting? What happens when you do connect? Do you get
>> >> any
>> >> error messages?
>> >> Video cards don't do much in video editing, so it's not really a
>> >> problem
>> >> with which one to pick, why do you want to replace it?
>> >>
>> >> --
>> >> Graham Hughes
>> >> MVP Digital Media
>> >> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
>> >> www.dvds2treasure.com
>> >> www.simplydv.com
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> "Rob" <Rob @discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> >> news:06CFDEBA-F404-4180-87C7-35FA7CF0FDD6@microsoft.com...
>> >> > WMM is not recognizing my Canon XL2. Do I need to update the
>> >> > software?
>> >> > It
>> >> > is
>> >> > current version.
>> >> >
>> >> > Also what type of Video card do you recommend? I've got a new Dell
>> >> > 4700
>> >> > with
>> >> > a P4 and 80gigs of hardrive space.
>> >> >
>> >>
>> >>
>> >>
>>
>>
>>


XL2 Capture problems in WMM