Re: Problems capturing video



Leigh Ann
07-09-2005, 09:33 PM
My JVC GR-D33U does the same thing on a Compaq Presario but works on other
computers also. I tried unplugging like you did and it worked for me also. I
have been at this for days. If you figure out how to work it correctly please
let me know. But for now I guess unplugging/replugging will do.

"aschocker" wrote:

> I have a JVC GR-D72 camera with the same problem. The factory installed
> (VIA)USB/1394 hubs (front & back) will only operate camera but not capture.
> I installed a Texas Instruments firewire card, works with no problems,
> although I would still like to get the factory installed hubs to work. Have
> you found any solutions?
>
> "monteman" wrote:
>
> > Ben thanks for the reply. I downloaded this update, but it still did not
> > solve the problem. However let me add this. I have been able to get the
> > computer to capture video in a strange way. If I start movie maker and try to
> > capture video nothing happens, however during this if i pull out the firewire
> > cable and put it back in it redects the camera the preview window starts to
> > work and it captures video fine. Its a workable solution, but also a pain in
> > the neck. I still would like it to work the proper way. (And Yes, I have
> > tried 2 different firewire cards)
> >
> > "Ben" wrote:
> >
> > >
> > > Have you try this "After you install Windows XP Service Pack 2, some 1394
> > > devices (such as digital cameras that use S400 speed) may not perform as
> > > expected..."
> > > http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=5c076e4c-aec8-434d-9849-e668a50e6e81&DisplayLang=en
> > >
> > > Please post if you get it work
> > >
> > > Ben
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "monteman" <monteman@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > > news:54A27AE6-B8D6-4726-B88D-7E4206371D29@microsoft.com...
> > > > I have already tried this. It didn't solve the problem. THe funny thing is
> > > > that will work on any other computer. This is a brand new dell dimension
> > > 3000
> > > > and it will not work.
> > > >
> > > > Brian
> > > >
> > > > "johng" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > I have the same camera and same problem. To resolve, try capturing with
> > > the
> > > > > preview turned off. This works great for me.
> > > > >
> > > > > John
> > > > >
> > > > > "monteman" wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > > I am unable to capture video with my JVC GR-D33US digital camcorder. I
> > > am
> > > > > > using firewire connection and my Dell dimension detects the camera no
> > > > > > problem, however when I use windows movie maker, or any other
> > > software, it
> > > > > > will not capture video. If i hit the play button i can hear and see
> > > the video
> > > > > > on the camcorder, however the preview screen on the computer will not
> > > show
> > > > > > anything and the video caputed time and size of video file just stay
> > > at
> > > > > > 0:00:00 and 0 kb. When I end the capture I get the error message "the
> > > video
> > > > > > was not captured correctly. Verify that you video camera and capture
> > > device
> > > > > > are configured properly" If i use this camera on any other computer it
> > > works
> > > > > > fine.
> > >
> > >
> > >

Treeman
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Microsoft KB Article Article ID : 894480
Last Review : April 19, 2005
Revision : 1.0
You start a Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 1 (SP1)-based computer or
a Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2)-based computer. Certain Institute of
Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE) 1394 devices such as a
hard disk drive or a digital video (DV) camera are not correctly
enumerated.
'Sbp2port.sys'
(http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;894480)
Best,
Treeman


--
Treeman


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870437193


Re: Problems capturing video