Please Help!! Cannot capture video threw firewire



Leigh Ann
07-09-2005, 09:33 PM
Pc: Compaq Presario
3200 + AMD Athon Xp Processor
512 MB
160 GB
Windows XP

IEEE1394: VIA OHCI Compliant Bus Host Controller

DV: JVC GR-D33U
connected using: DV -> 4 pin -> 6 pin -> PC (IEEE1394)

Under Image Device in Device Manager--
Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder
Manufacturer: Generic

I can play, rewind, fast forward from Windows Movie Maker and also the
software provided with camcorder. But neither will let me capture or see the
image of what is being played on my computer. It tells me "Video was not
captured correctly and to verify my video camera and capture device are
configured properly". I tried it on my sister's Emachine and it works fine
with both programs. She has the same
AMD Athon processor, 512MB, 160GB, Windows XP, and same VIA OHCI Compliant
Bus Compliant, and Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder. Why
won't it work on my Compaq???
I am very confused and don't know much about computers. And just got the
camcorder recently. Please Help!!!

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Leigh Ann,
Download the free app called windv, a link from here
http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm
and see if that will capture ok.

Graham

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Leigh Ann" <Leigh Ann@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:76A2DC83-C206-40BE-83FF-0912489827CD@microsoft.com...
> Pc: Compaq Presario
> 3200 + AMD Athon Xp Processor
> 512 MB
> 160 GB
> Windows XP
>
> IEEE1394: VIA OHCI Compliant Bus Host Controller
>
> DV: JVC GR-D33U
> connected using: DV -> 4 pin -> 6 pin -> PC (IEEE1394)
>
> Under Image Device in Device Manager--
> Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder
> Manufacturer: Generic
>
> I can play, rewind, fast forward from Windows Movie Maker and also the
> software provided with camcorder. But neither will let me capture or see
> the
> image of what is being played on my computer. It tells me "Video was not
> captured correctly and to verify my video camera and capture device are
> configured properly". I tried it on my sister's Emachine and it works fine
> with both programs. She has the same
> AMD Athon processor, 512MB, 160GB, Windows XP, and same VIA OHCI Compliant
> Bus Compliant, and Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder. Why
> won't it work on my Compaq???
> I am very confused and don't know much about computers. And just got the
> camcorder recently. Please Help!!!
>

Leigh Ann
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
O.K. I will try the download. I did get it to work however, it's a pain, you
have to go to capture video then pull out the firewire then put the firewire
back in then it finally captures and shows picture in preview window. Weird.
It also worked on the software (Image Mixer) that came with the camera by
doing the same thing. Thanks!!
"Graham Hughes" wrote:

> Leigh Ann,
> Download the free app called windv, a link from here
> http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm
> and see if that will capture ok.
>
> Graham
>
> --
> Graham Hughes
> MVP Digital Media
> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> www.dvds2treasure.com
> www.simplydv.com
>
>
> "Leigh Ann" <Leigh Ann@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:76A2DC83-C206-40BE-83FF-0912489827CD@microsoft.com...
> > Pc: Compaq Presario
> > 3200 + AMD Athon Xp Processor
> > 512 MB
> > 160 GB
> > Windows XP
> >
> > IEEE1394: VIA OHCI Compliant Bus Host Controller
> >
> > DV: JVC GR-D33U
> > connected using: DV -> 4 pin -> 6 pin -> PC (IEEE1394)
> >
> > Under Image Device in Device Manager--
> > Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder
> > Manufacturer: Generic
> >
> > I can play, rewind, fast forward from Windows Movie Maker and also the
> > software provided with camcorder. But neither will let me capture or see
> > the
> > image of what is being played on my computer. It tells me "Video was not
> > captured correctly and to verify my video camera and capture device are
> > configured properly". I tried it on my sister's Emachine and it works fine
> > with both programs. She has the same
> > AMD Athon processor, 512MB, 160GB, Windows XP, and same VIA OHCI Compliant
> > Bus Compliant, and Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder. Why
> > won't it work on my Compaq???
> > I am very confused and don't know much about computers. And just got the
> > camcorder recently. Please Help!!!
> >
>
>
>

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 09:34 PM
If you have to pull out and reinsert teh cable it sounds like a good quality
cable purchase might solve the problem.
Graham

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Leigh Ann" <LeighAnn@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:0B14929A-F73A-4CE5-85C2-AC3906053B91@microsoft.com...
> O.K. I will try the download. I did get it to work however, it's a pain,
> you
> have to go to capture video then pull out the firewire then put the
> firewire
> back in then it finally captures and shows picture in preview window.
> Weird.
> It also worked on the software (Image Mixer) that came with the camera by
> doing the same thing. Thanks!!
> "Graham Hughes" wrote:
>
>> Leigh Ann,
>> Download the free app called windv, a link from here
>> http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Web%20Pages/UsefulProgrammes.htm
>> and see if that will capture ok.
>>
>> Graham
>>
>> --
>> Graham Hughes
>> MVP Digital Media
>> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
>> www.dvds2treasure.com
>> www.simplydv.com
>>
>>
>> "Leigh Ann" <Leigh Ann@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:76A2DC83-C206-40BE-83FF-0912489827CD@microsoft.com...
>> > Pc: Compaq Presario
>> > 3200 + AMD Athon Xp Processor
>> > 512 MB
>> > 160 GB
>> > Windows XP
>> >
>> > IEEE1394: VIA OHCI Compliant Bus Host Controller
>> >
>> > DV: JVC GR-D33U
>> > connected using: DV -> 4 pin -> 6 pin -> PC (IEEE1394)
>> >
>> > Under Image Device in Device Manager--
>> > Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder
>> > Manufacturer: Generic
>> >
>> > I can play, rewind, fast forward from Windows Movie Maker and also the
>> > software provided with camcorder. But neither will let me capture or
>> > see
>> > the
>> > image of what is being played on my computer. It tells me "Video was
>> > not
>> > captured correctly and to verify my video camera and capture device are
>> > configured properly". I tried it on my sister's Emachine and it works
>> > fine
>> > with both programs. She has the same
>> > AMD Athon processor, 512MB, 160GB, Windows XP, and same VIA OHCI
>> > Compliant
>> > Bus Compliant, and Windows detects it as: AVC Compliant DV Camcorder.
>> > Why
>> > won't it work on my Compaq???
>> > I am very confused and don't know much about computers. And just got
>> > the
>> > camcorder recently. Please Help!!!
>> >
>>
>>
>>


Please Help!! Cannot capture video threw firewire