Invisible HDD after reinstalling WinXP



Perseus75
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave) that
worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that the 200gb
hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as hardware
with all its stats and is operative. But there’s no way to access it.
Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated. Thanx

--
Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's request
Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
Topic URL: http://www.windowsforumz.com/Hardware-Invisible-HDD-reinstalling-WinXP-ftopict554830.html
Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse: http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1762283

Andrew E.
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
Try going to run,type:diskmgmt.msc If it shows in msc,L.click on the
drive,go to
actions,all,select,make drive active.If it doesnt show,go to run,type:cmd In
cmd type:DiskPart In DiskPart,type:list disk Then:list volume And/or type:
HELP For all cmds

"Perseus75" wrote:

> Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave) that
> worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that the 200gb
> hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as hardware
> with all its stats and is operative. But there’s no way to access it.
> Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated. Thanx
>
> --
> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's request
> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
> Topic URL: http://www.windowsforumz.com/Hardware-Invisible-HDD-reinstalling-WinXP-ftopict554830.html
> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse: http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1762283
>

Keith S
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
"Perseus75" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
news:3_1762283_c88c97c6f434a9c8ef49f7aae69e54ae@windowsforumz.com...
> Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave) that
> worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that the 200gb
> hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as hardware
> with all its stats and is operative. But there's no way to access it.
> Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated. Thanx
>

Go to disk management and allocate a drive letter , should do it.

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
Did you reapply SP2?

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

Quote from: George Ankner
"If you knew as much as you thought you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!"

"Perseus75" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
news:3_1762283_c88c97c6f434a9c8ef49f7aae69e54ae@windowsforumz.com...
> Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave) that
> worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that the 200gb
> hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as hardware
> with all its stats and is operative. But there's no way to access it.
> Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated. Thanx
>
> --
> Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
> request
> Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
> Topic URL:
> http://www.windowsforumz.com/Hardware-Invisible-HDD-reinstalling-WinXP-ftopict554830.html
> Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse:
> http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1762283

Perseus75
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
"" wrote:
> "Perseus75" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in
> message
> news:3_1762283_c88c97c6f434a9c8ef49f7aae69e54ae@windowsforumz.com...
> > Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave)
> that
> > worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that
> the 200gb
> > hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as
> hardware
> > with all its stats and is operative. But there's no way to
> access it.
> > Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated.
> Thanx
> >
>
> Go to disk management and allocate a drive letter , should do
> it.

In Disk management the hdd is "active" (italian xp version) but
still no way to access its menu to change or assign a letter. In all
activities the only submenu open is "cancel partition". any other
tip? thanx

--
Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's request
Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet standards
Topic URL: http://www.windowsforumz.com/Hardware-Invisible-HDD-reinstalling-WinXP-ftopict554830.html
Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report abuse: http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1762615

Perseus75
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
"" wrote:
> Did you reapply SP2?
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> Quote from: George Ankner
> "If you knew as much as you thought you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you
> knew!"
>
> "Perseus75" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in
> message
> news:3_1762283_c88c97c6f434a9c8ef49f7aae69e54ae@windowsforumz.com...
> > Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave)
> that
> > worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that
> the 200gb
> > hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as
> hardware
> > with all its stats and is operative. But there's no way to
> access it.
> > Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated.
> Thanx
> >
> > --
> > Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
> > request
> > Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet
> standards
> > Topic URL:
> > http://www.windowsforumz.com/Hardware-Invisible-HDD-reinstalling-WinXP-ftopict554830.html
> > Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report
> abuse:
> > http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1762283

no. I wanted to do that but discovered that the hdd 200 was missing in
My Computer but present in Disk Management. Do u think it depends on
XP?

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
If you have one large partition, larger than 137 gig - it might (-:

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

Quote from: George Ankner
"If you knew as much as you thought you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!"

"Perseus75" <DoNotEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in message
news:3_1762742_1ba2a956908ebac96fbfa90bd1fe756e@windowsforumz.com...
> "" wrote:
> > Did you reapply SP2?
> >
> > --
> > Regards,
> >
> > Richard Urban
> >
> > Quote from: George Ankner
> > "If you knew as much as you thought you know,
> > You would realize that you don't know what you thought you
> > knew!"
> >
> > "Perseus75" <UseLinkToEmail@WindowsForumz.com> wrote in
> > message
> > news:3_1762283_c88c97c6f434a9c8ef49f7aae69e54ae@windowsforumz.com...
> > > Hi guys, I have 2 maxtor (60gb pr master and 200gb pr slave)
> > that
> > > worked perfectly until I reinstalled Winxp, just to see that
> > the 200gb
> > > hdd has become invisibile in My Computer but can be seen as
> > hardware
> > > with all its stats and is operative. But there's no way to
> > access it.
> > > Is there a way to set that? Any help would be appreciated.
> > Thanx
> > >
> > > --
> > > Posted using the http://www.windowsforumz.com interface, at author's
> > > request
> > > Articles individually checked for conformance to usenet
> > standards
> > > Topic URL:
> > > http://www.windowsforumz.com/Hardware-Invisible-HDD-reinstalling-WinXP-ftopict554830.html
> > > Visit Topic URL to contact author (reg. req'd). Report
> > abuse:
> > > http://www.windowsforumz.com/eform.php?p=1762283
>
> no. I wanted to do that but discovered that the hdd 200 was missing in
> My Computer but present in Disk Management. Do u think it depends on
> XP?


Invisible HDD after reinstalling WinXP