Re: Loss of Com Ports



Henry
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
On Sat, 5 Feb 2005 09:31:49 -0000, "Philip Herlihy"
<foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote:

>You'll have gathered I'm no expert on this topic, but I can tell you that
>I'm using a standard serial port on my machine running SP2 and coexisting
>with USB ports.
....
>All guesswork, of course...

Anybody out there who had this problem, and found a way to get their COM port
working?

I have this problem, and can't find any way to use my "COMM connected" devices.
It keeps saying that the comm port is in use, and I just can't figure out what
is using it.
------------------------------

Henry

Posted Using Agent 2.0
[to reply, delete the AT]

******************************

Si Ballenger
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
On Sun, 03 Jul 2005 11:26:40 -0400, Henry <hziembaAT@comcast.net>
wrote:


>Anybody out there who had this problem, and found a way to get their COM port
>working?
>
>I have this problem, and can't find any way to use my "COMM connected" devices.
>It keeps saying that the comm port is in use, and I just can't figure out what
>is using it.

Are you using a hardware com port or some serial device using a
USB port? There are various "hotsync" types of programs that will
grab the com port on boot up and cause these types of problems.

John Coode
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
> Anybody out there who had this problem, and found a way to get their COM port
> working?
>
> I have this problem, and can't find any way to use my "COMM connected" devices.
> It keeps saying that the comm port is in use, and I just can't figure out what
> is using it.
> ------------------------------
>
> Henry
>
> Posted Using Agent 2.0
> [to reply, delete the AT]
>
> ******************************

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315539
Should allow you to see what 'ghosted' devices are hogging
the COM ports and uninstall them.

Henry
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
On Mon, 04 Jul 2005 01:11:03 +0100, John Coode <faecius@yahoo.co.uk> wrote:

>http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315539
>Should allow you to see what 'ghosted' devices are hogging
>the COM ports and uninstall them.

I went to that web page, set the environment variable, and sure enough I see
more devices.

Unfortunately, the entries under Port (COM & LPT) are unchanged - I see
Communications Port (COM2) and ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

FWIW, I have Active Sync 3.8 which I used for my PPC - I sync through the
wireless network, and under Active sync Connection Settings..., I have the
Network box checked, and both serial cable and USB unchecked. Although serial
cable is unchecked, it shows the status of COM2 as "COM port is not available"

I want to use the COM port to connect a Palm PDA, GPS, pen scanner, etc.
------------------------------

Henry

Posted Using Agent 2.0
[to reply, delete the AT]

******************************

Henry
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
On Sun, 03 Jul 2005 15:47:59 GMT, shb*NO*SPAM*@comporium.net (Si Ballenger)
wrote:
>
>Are you using a hardware com port or some serial device using a
>USB port? There are various "hotsync" types of programs that will
>grab the com port on boot up and cause these types of problems.

It's a "native" com port on the back of the Dell PC - NOT an add in card.

FWIW, I have Active Sync 3.8 which I used for my PPC - I sync through the
wireless network, and under Active sync Connection Settings..., I have the
Network box checked, and both serial cable and USB unchecked. Although serial
cable is unchecked, it shows the status of COM2 as "COM port is not available"

I want to use the COM port to connect a Palm PDA, GPS, pen scanner, etc.
------------------------------

Henry

Posted Using Agent 2.0
[to reply, delete the AT]

******************************

Si Ballenger
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
On Mon, 04 Jul 2005 08:04:21 -0400, Henry <hziembaAT@comcast.net>
wrote:

>On Sun, 03 Jul 2005 15:47:59 GMT, shb*NO*SPAM*@comporium.net (Si Ballenger)
>wrote:
>>
>>Are you using a hardware com port or some serial device using a
>>USB port? There are various "hotsync" types of programs that will
>>grab the com port on boot up and cause these types of problems.
>
>It's a "native" com port on the back of the Dell PC - NOT an add in card.
>
>FWIW, I have Active Sync 3.8 which I used for my PPC - I sync through the
>wireless network, and under Active sync Connection Settings..., I have the
>Network box checked, and both serial cable and USB unchecked. Although serial
>cable is unchecked, it shows the status of COM2 as "COM port is not available"
>
>I want to use the COM port to connect a Palm PDA, GPS, pen scanner, etc.

I'd try shutting down the active sync and then see if the com
port is released. You might also as a test set the active sync to
use some non existant com port to see if it will then allow com2
to be available. You might also consider getting a USB serial
adapter like below (don't get the ones that have the thumb screws
on the DB9 connector end!) if you have an available USB port.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=41995&item=6782214672&rd=1

Chris Kusmierz
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
Check under device manager for serial pointing devices. If found right click
and choose disable. XP often thinks serial data is a ball pointing device or
such and takes over the port, especially during the boot sequence.


"Henry" <hziembaAT@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:2q8ic1p8t5v8fcekg5s77uv5lcaq9vob9k@4ax.com...
> On Mon, 04 Jul 2005 01:11:03 +0100, John Coode <faecius@yahoo.co.uk>
wrote:
>
> >http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315539
> >Should allow you to see what 'ghosted' devices are hogging
> >the COM ports and uninstall them.
>
> I went to that web page, set the environment variable, and sure enough I
see
> more devices.
>
> Unfortunately, the entries under Port (COM & LPT) are unchanged - I see
> Communications Port (COM2) and ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
>
> FWIW, I have Active Sync 3.8 which I used for my PPC - I sync through the
> wireless network, and under Active sync Connection Settings..., I have the
> Network box checked, and both serial cable and USB unchecked. Although
serial
> cable is unchecked, it shows the status of COM2 as "COM port is not
available"
>
> I want to use the COM port to connect a Palm PDA, GPS, pen scanner, etc.
> ------------------------------
>
> Henry
>
> Posted Using Agent 2.0
> [to reply, delete the AT]
>
> ******************************


Re: Loss of Com Ports