power down A7N8X-E and XP SP2



DaveP
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
I am working on a computer with the above MB and OS. The system will down
completely shutdown or restart.

It goes all the way through the shutdown process except when it attempts to
turn off the power supply, it doesn't.. Monitor goes black but not off and
fans continue to run, power supply stays on. If I boot into safe mode, it
will power down or restart just fine. I have disabled every possible service
or program in MSCONFIG no help. I have scanned for virus's but nothing. I
have updated every driver. I have tried a different power supply.

Why does it work right in safe mode but not normal mode?

Any help would be appreciated.

Dave P

Treeman
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
DaveP,
Anything in the event logs that might point out a problem between the
shut down sequence in normal mode Vs safe mode?
(you can clear the logs to view the most recent event activities)
Sounds like you've tried everything already, except updating the bios.
Thanks,
Treeman


--
Treeman


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870581651

DaveP
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
No events listed except "information events"; And yes, I had updated the
BIOS also.

thanks for your reply

Dave P


"Treeman" <Treeman.1rjtwi@no-mx.msusenet.com> wrote in message
news:Treeman.1rjtwi@no-mx.msusenet.com...
>
> DaveP,
> Anything in the event logs that might point out a problem between the
> shut down sequence in normal mode Vs safe mode?
> (you can clear the logs to view the most recent event activities)
> Sounds like you've tried everything already, except updating the bios.
> Thanks,
> Treeman
>
>
> --
> Treeman
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
> View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870581651
>

Treeman
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
I don't want to sound like a n00b here, and the A7N8X-E is a good board.
How about your ram assignments? In my mind it's something in the low
level circuitry that's hosed up. Something simple yet goofy. A jumper
on the wrong pin . . . you know what I mean!
Anyway, good luck sorting it out.
Best,
Treeman


--
Treeman


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870581651

DaveP
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
I partitioned the harddrive and reloaded XP to make a dual boot. Everything
works fine with this new load.
It's in the software somewhere. Gonna recover data and go with the new
install.

Thanks again,

Dave P


power down A7N8X-E and XP SP2