previously-working HD now hoses BIOS settings



malrost
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
Hi! Searched the forums, found similar problems but not quite exactly
the same.

I have an 80Gb Maxtor HD that I'd previously successfully used alone
and in a 2 disc jbod setup. I've had XP running on it successfully,
even had it partitioned out to run XP, Mandrake, and FreeBSD just for
kicks. I haven't made any hardware changes.

It's about 3 years old, and I'm hoping I can get some life out of it.
Recently (yet again) I got some corrupted XP files and had to do the
yet-again OS reinstall. This time however, no matter the configuration
(slave, master, alone or paired) it not only keeps the BIOS from
recognizing it, but also keeps the BIOS from recognizing ANY boot
device-- CDROM, Floppy, or Network. So I can't even reformat this
baby.

Strangely, it does the same thing when I attach it as a slave/secondary
drive to a HD with a working XP install. WIthout attached all's good,
but once it's plugged in the BIOS is completely wiped out. Again, this
HD used to work fine with all the hardware I'm using.

In the meantime I'm running an XP on a 4 Gb disc a decade old.

Anyone have an idea how I can get in to reformat this thing? Are there
jumper override settings besides master, slave, and cable select,
perhaps?


--
malrost
------------------------------------------------------------------------
malrost's Profile: http://www.highdots.com/forums/member.php?userid=395
View this thread: http://www.highdots.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1622511

GTS
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
Throw it out. There's a failure in the drive electronics.
--

"malrost" <malrost.1rijlz@no-mx.forums.yourdomain.com.au> wrote in message
news:malrost.1rijlz@no-mx.forums.yourdomain.com.au...
>
> Hi! Searched the forums, found similar problems but not quite exactly
> the same.
>
> I have an 80Gb Maxtor HD that I'd previously successfully used alone
> and in a 2 disc jbod setup. I've had XP running on it successfully,
> even had it partitioned out to run XP, Mandrake, and FreeBSD just for
> kicks. I haven't made any hardware changes.
>
> It's about 3 years old, and I'm hoping I can get some life out of it.
> Recently (yet again) I got some corrupted XP files and had to do the
> yet-again OS reinstall. This time however, no matter the configuration
> (slave, master, alone or paired) it not only keeps the BIOS from
> recognizing it, but also keeps the BIOS from recognizing ANY boot
> device-- CDROM, Floppy, or Network. So I can't even reformat this
> baby.
>
> Strangely, it does the same thing when I attach it as a slave/secondary
> drive to a HD with a working XP install. WIthout attached all's good,
> but once it's plugged in the BIOS is completely wiped out. Again, this
> HD used to work fine with all the hardware I'm using.
>
> In the meantime I'm running an XP on a 4 Gb disc a decade old.
>
> Anyone have an idea how I can get in to reformat this thing? Are there
> jumper override settings besides master, slave, and cable select,
> perhaps?
>
>
> --
> malrost
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> malrost's Profile: http://www.highdots.com/forums/member.php?userid=395
> View this thread: http://www.highdots.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1622511
>

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
All hardware devices that go bad "used to" work just fine.

I certainly hope you have any pertinent information backed up.

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

If you knew as much as you thought you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"malrost" <malrost.1rijlz@no-mx.forums.yourdomain.com.au> wrote in message
news:malrost.1rijlz@no-mx.forums.yourdomain.com.au...
>
> Hi! Searched the forums, found similar problems but not quite exactly
> the same.
>
> I have an 80Gb Maxtor HD that I'd previously successfully used alone
> and in a 2 disc jbod setup. I've had XP running on it successfully,
> even had it partitioned out to run XP, Mandrake, and FreeBSD just for
> kicks. I haven't made any hardware changes.
>
> It's about 3 years old, and I'm hoping I can get some life out of it.
> Recently (yet again) I got some corrupted XP files and had to do the
> yet-again OS reinstall. This time however, no matter the configuration
> (slave, master, alone or paired) it not only keeps the BIOS from
> recognizing it, but also keeps the BIOS from recognizing ANY boot
> device-- CDROM, Floppy, or Network. So I can't even reformat this
> baby.
>
> Strangely, it does the same thing when I attach it as a slave/secondary
> drive to a HD with a working XP install. WIthout attached all's good,
> but once it's plugged in the BIOS is completely wiped out. Again, this
> HD used to work fine with all the hardware I'm using.
>
> In the meantime I'm running an XP on a 4 Gb disc a decade old.
>
> Anyone have an idea how I can get in to reformat this thing? Are there
> jumper override settings besides master, slave, and cable select,
> perhaps?
>
>
> --
> malrost
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> malrost's Profile: http://www.highdots.com/forums/member.php?userid=395
> View this thread: http://www.highdots.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1622511
>


previously-working HD now hoses BIOS settings