Capturing to AVI possible?



Mikael Sterley
07-09-2005, 10:33 PM
I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to AVI
using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the choices in
the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of WMV formats.

How do I capture to AVI?

/Mike

NoNoBadDog!
07-09-2005, 10:33 PM
MovieMaker has the option to capture to DV-AVI. IIRC, it captures in type
1. Please be sure your video editing software can use type 1 DV-AVI.

Bobby

"Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
news:u6wmUyZWFHA.628@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
>A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to AVI
>using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the choices in
>the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of WMV formats.
>
> How do I capture to AVI?
>
> /Mike
>
>
>

PapaJohn \(MVP\)
07-09-2005, 10:33 PM
the DV-AVI choice isn't available with a USB connection.... it needs to be a
digital camcorder with a firewire connection.

--
PapaJohn

Movie Maker 2 and Photo Story 3 - www.papajohn.org
Photo Story 2 - www.photostory.papajohn.org
..
"Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
news:u6wmUyZWFHA.628@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
>A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to AVI
>using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the choices in
>the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of WMV formats.
>
> How do I capture to AVI?
>
> /Mike
>
>
>

NoNoBadDog!
07-09-2005, 10:33 PM
Thanks, PapaJohn. I do not have a camera with a USB connection, so I just
assumed the DV-AVI was available. My apologies for the confusion.

Bobby

"PapaJohn (MVP)" <PapaJohn@CharterMI.net> wrote in message
news:ew56PebWFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> the DV-AVI choice isn't available with a USB connection.... it needs to be
> a digital camcorder with a firewire connection.
>
> --
> PapaJohn
>
> Movie Maker 2 and Photo Story 3 - www.papajohn.org
> Photo Story 2 - www.photostory.papajohn.org
> .
> "Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
> news:u6wmUyZWFHA.628@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>>I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
>>A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to
>>AVI using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the choices
>>in the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of WMV
>>formats.
>>
>> How do I capture to AVI?
>>
>> /Mike
>>
>>
>>
>
>

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 10:33 PM
Although I think he's using an analogue composite connection, it is the same
as USB. If the ASUS software will capture in AVI, use this to capture and
then MM to edit.

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"PapaJohn (MVP)" <PapaJohn@CharterMI.net> wrote in message
news:ew56PebWFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> the DV-AVI choice isn't available with a USB connection.... it needs to be
> a digital camcorder with a firewire connection.
>
> --
> PapaJohn
>
> Movie Maker 2 and Photo Story 3 - www.papajohn.org
> Photo Story 2 - www.photostory.papajohn.org
> .
> "Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
> news:u6wmUyZWFHA.628@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>>I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
>>A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to
>>AVI using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the choices
>>in the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of WMV
>>formats.
>>
>> How do I capture to AVI?
>>
>> /Mike
>>
>>
>>
>
>

Mikael Sterley
07-09-2005, 10:34 PM
Yes that's correct. I am trying to capture composite video. Thank you
everybody for the information!

I still dont understand why capturing to AVI is is not available in MM. Will
it be supported in a later version? My ASUS software does not work very
well. After about 5 minutes of capture there is a time delay between video
and sound of about 5-10 seconds! Does anybody know the reason? I know this
is not an MM issue, but anyway...

Does anybody know any other software that captures composite video to AVI?

/Mike

"Graham Hughes" <graham.hughes@dvds2treasure.co.uk> wrote in message
news:esg6uAgWFHA.1796@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Although I think he's using an analogue composite connection, it is the
> same as USB. If the ASUS software will capture in AVI, use this to capture
> and then MM to edit.
>
> --
> Graham Hughes
> MVP Digital Media
> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
> www.dvds2treasure.com
> www.simplydv.com
>
>
> "PapaJohn (MVP)" <PapaJohn@CharterMI.net> wrote in message
> news:ew56PebWFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>> the DV-AVI choice isn't available with a USB connection.... it needs to
>> be a digital camcorder with a firewire connection.
>>
>> --
>> PapaJohn
>>
>> Movie Maker 2 and Photo Story 3 - www.papajohn.org
>> Photo Story 2 - www.photostory.papajohn.org
>> .
>> "Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
>> news:u6wmUyZWFHA.628@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>>>I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
>>>A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to
>>>AVI using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the
>>>choices in the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of
>>>WMV formats.
>>>
>>> How do I capture to AVI?
>>>
>>> /Mike
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

Graham Hughes
07-09-2005, 10:34 PM
Audio video sync is the biggest problem with analogue capture as both the
sound card and video cards e used and sample the data at different rates.
The best way to get around this is to buy a decent analogue/digital
convertor. Canopus and Miglia both make ones with chips which are designed
to keep the signals in sync. Cheaper versions like dazzle can often have the
same problem as you do.
Check out http://www.simplydv.co.uk/reviews.html
for more info on these models.
When using these you will connect to the pc using firewire, which will allow
you then to pick the app you want to use, MM or whatever and will capture as
a dv-avi file.

--
Graham Hughes
MVP Digital Media
www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
www.dvds2treasure.com
www.simplydv.com


"Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
news:%23CSRNpyWFHA.1796@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Yes that's correct. I am trying to capture composite video. Thank you
> everybody for the information!
>
> I still dont understand why capturing to AVI is is not available in MM.
> Will it be supported in a later version? My ASUS software does not work
> very well. After about 5 minutes of capture there is a time delay between
> video and sound of about 5-10 seconds! Does anybody know the reason? I
> know this is not an MM issue, but anyway...
>
> Does anybody know any other software that captures composite video to AVI?
>
> /Mike
>
> "Graham Hughes" <graham.hughes@dvds2treasure.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:esg6uAgWFHA.1796@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> Although I think he's using an analogue composite connection, it is the
>> same as USB. If the ASUS software will capture in AVI, use this to
>> capture and then MM to edit.
>>
>> --
>> Graham Hughes
>> MVP Digital Media
>> www.myvideoproblems.co.uk
>> www.dvds2treasure.com
>> www.simplydv.com
>>
>>
>> "PapaJohn (MVP)" <PapaJohn@CharterMI.net> wrote in message
>> news:ew56PebWFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>>> the DV-AVI choice isn't available with a USB connection.... it needs to
>>> be a digital camcorder with a firewire connection.
>>>
>>> --
>>> PapaJohn
>>>
>>> Movie Maker 2 and Photo Story 3 - www.papajohn.org
>>> Photo Story 2 - www.photostory.papajohn.org
>>> .
>>> "Mikael Sterley" <mikael.nospam.sterley@telia.com> wrote in message
>>> news:u6wmUyZWFHA.628@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>>>>I want to capture video from my VCR to AVI format. I have an ASUS Radeon
>>>>A9600 Graphics card which contains a video input port. I can capture to
>>>>AVI using the ASUS software, but not with Movie Maker 2.1. All the
>>>>choices in the Video Settings Dialog box are about 14 diffent kinds of
>>>>WMV formats.
>>>>
>>>> How do I capture to AVI?
>>>>
>>>> /Mike
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>


Capturing to AVI possible?