Re: 4GB RAM, only 3 show up in WinXP SP2



Lester67
07-10-2005, 12:58 AM
Unless Asus is making the Dell GX280 motherboards, I don't know that I'd
lay it all on them. I'm only able to access 2.99gb of a 4gb system.

The BIOS recognizes it, but XP won't.

(By the way, the knowlegebase reference - 316739, applies to Windows
2003 Server, not XP.)

Mark Levy wrote:
> *Hi all,
>
> I've just installed a new system with Windows XP SP2. I'm planning
> on using
> this system as a VMWare host, so I need to get as much RAM into the
> system
> as possible.
>
> I purposely bought a system board that can take 4GB of RAM (and I
> checked to
> make sure that WinXP will support 4GB as well).
>
> The board is an Asus A8V Deluxe, with 4GB RAM, and an AMD Athalon 64
> 3500+
> processor. While POST finds all 4GB of RAM, when I open the "General
> Tab"
> from System Properties, it shows the processor, 3.00GB of RAM,
> "Physical
> Address Extension." From within the "Performance" tab of Task
> Manager, it
> shows a total physical memory of 3144932KB.
>
> The system board documentation mentions that if you don't remap
> reserved
> memory (for on-board devices) above 4GB, you will have reduced RAM
> available, but I did that in the BIOS.
>
> I can't find anything through google or in the MS knowledgebase. Any
> advice
> would be very much appreciated.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Mark *



--
Lester67
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1518844.html

Steven Wabik
07-10-2005, 12:58 AM
i am very sorry to say but from what i know Windows XP only saupports up to
3GB of RAM.
i think i might know how to fix it though.
can you please tell me what version of Windows XP you have.

from,
Steven

"Lester67" <Lester67.1rd05z@mail.mcse.ms> wrote in message
news:Lester67.1rd05z@mail.mcse.ms...
>
> Unless Asus is making the Dell GX280 motherboards, I don't know that I'd
> lay it all on them. I'm only able to access 2.99gb of a 4gb system.
>
> The BIOS recognizes it, but XP won't.
>
> (By the way, the knowlegebase reference - 316739, applies to Windows
> 2003 Server, not XP.)
>
> Mark Levy wrote:
>> *Hi all,
>>
>> I've just installed a new system with Windows XP SP2. I'm planning
>> on using
>> this system as a VMWare host, so I need to get as much RAM into the
>> system
>> as possible.
>>
>> I purposely bought a system board that can take 4GB of RAM (and I
>> checked to
>> make sure that WinXP will support 4GB as well).
>>
>> The board is an Asus A8V Deluxe, with 4GB RAM, and an AMD Athalon 64
>> 3500+
>> processor. While POST finds all 4GB of RAM, when I open the "General
>> Tab"
>> from System Properties, it shows the processor, 3.00GB of RAM,
>> "Physical
>> Address Extension." From within the "Performance" tab of Task
>> Manager, it
>> shows a total physical memory of 3144932KB.
>>
>> The system board documentation mentions that if you don't remap
>> reserved
>> memory (for on-board devices) above 4GB, you will have reduced RAM
>> available, but I did that in the BIOS.
>>
>> I can't find anything through google or in the MS knowledgebase. Any
>> advice
>> would be very much appreciated.
>>
>> Thanks,
>>
>> Mark *
>
>
>
> --
> Lester67
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1518844.html
>

Jim Macklin
07-10-2005, 12:58 AM
XP supports up to 4 GB since 2^32 is 4 GB, but exactly how
the RAM is used varies with the mobo and the registry
settings. 4,294,967,296 bytes

BTW Windows 64 will support 2^64 or
18,446,744,073,709,551,616 bytes

Note, a 64bit system can address 4 billion times as much
RAM.

But you'll need a lot of money to buy that much until the
price comes way, WAY down.


--
The people think the Constitution protects their rights;
But government sees it as an obstacle to be overcome.
some support
http://www.usdoj.gov/olc/secondamendment2.htm




"Steven Wabik" <Stevenw45@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:uSIFc4EfFHA.3164@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
|i am very sorry to say but from what i know Windows XP only
saupports up to
| 3GB of RAM.
| i think i might know how to fix it though.
| can you please tell me what version of Windows XP you
have.
|
| from,
| Steven
|
| "Lester67" <Lester67.1rd05z@mail.mcse.ms> wrote in message
| news:Lester67.1rd05z@mail.mcse.ms...
| >
| > Unless Asus is making the Dell GX280 motherboards, I
don't know that I'd
| > lay it all on them. I'm only able to access 2.99gb of a
4gb system.
| >
| > The BIOS recognizes it, but XP won't.
| >
| > (By the way, the knowlegebase reference - 316739,
applies to Windows
| > 2003 Server, not XP.)
| >
| > Mark Levy wrote:
| >> *Hi all,
| >>
| >> I've just installed a new system with Windows XP SP2.
I'm planning
| >> on using
| >> this system as a VMWare host, so I need to get as much
RAM into the
| >> system
| >> as possible.
| >>
| >> I purposely bought a system board that can take 4GB of
RAM (and I
| >> checked to
| >> make sure that WinXP will support 4GB as well).
| >>
| >> The board is an Asus A8V Deluxe, with 4GB RAM, and an
AMD Athalon 64
| >> 3500+
| >> processor. While POST finds all 4GB of RAM, when I
open the "General
| >> Tab"
| >> from System Properties, it shows the processor, 3.00GB
of RAM,
| >> "Physical
| >> Address Extension." From within the "Performance" tab
of Task
| >> Manager, it
| >> shows a total physical memory of 3144932KB.
| >>
| >> The system board documentation mentions that if you
don't remap
| >> reserved
| >> memory (for on-board devices) above 4GB, you will have
reduced RAM
| >> available, but I did that in the BIOS.
| >>
| >> I can't find anything through google or in the MS
knowledgebase. Any
| >> advice
| >> would be very much appreciated.
| >>
| >> Thanks,
| >>
| >> Mark *
| >
| >
| >
| > --
| > Lester67
|
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
| > Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
|
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
| > View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1518844.html
| >
|
|

Jerry
07-10-2005, 12:58 AM
You have to edit the boot.ini file to add the switch /3GB on the line
starting XP. Do a Google search on boot.ini switches and you should find
explanations.

"Lester67" <Lester67.1rd05z@mail.mcse.ms> wrote in message
news:Lester67.1rd05z@mail.mcse.ms...
>
> Unless Asus is making the Dell GX280 motherboards, I don't know that I'd
> lay it all on them. I'm only able to access 2.99gb of a 4gb system.
>
> The BIOS recognizes it, but XP won't.
>
> (By the way, the knowlegebase reference - 316739, applies to Windows
> 2003 Server, not XP.)
>
> Mark Levy wrote:
>> *Hi all,
>>
>> I've just installed a new system with Windows XP SP2. I'm planning
>> on using
>> this system as a VMWare host, so I need to get as much RAM into the
>> system
>> as possible.
>>
>> I purposely bought a system board that can take 4GB of RAM (and I
>> checked to
>> make sure that WinXP will support 4GB as well).
>>
>> The board is an Asus A8V Deluxe, with 4GB RAM, and an AMD Athalon 64
>> 3500+
>> processor. While POST finds all 4GB of RAM, when I open the "General
>> Tab"
>> from System Properties, it shows the processor, 3.00GB of RAM,
>> "Physical
>> Address Extension." From within the "Performance" tab of Task
>> Manager, it
>> shows a total physical memory of 3144932KB.
>>
>> The system board documentation mentions that if you don't remap
>> reserved
>> memory (for on-board devices) above 4GB, you will have reduced RAM
>> available, but I did that in the BIOS.
>>
>> I can't find anything through google or in the MS knowledgebase. Any
>> advice
>> would be very much appreciated.
>>
>> Thanks,
>>
>> Mark *
>
>
>
> --
> Lester67
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1518844.html
>

Jetro
07-10-2005, 12:59 AM
Thoroughly read the manual: "When all four sockets are populated with 1GB
DIMMs (total 4GB), the system may detect only 3+GB due to the Southbridge
resource allocation". But the reasons are far away the Southbridge:

1. Having all 4 slots populated CPU will automatically get RAM down to
DDR333.
2. Processor can recognize four unbuffered DIMMs but 6 sides of memory (3
per memory controller channel) of double-sided memory modules only. No
problem with single-sided modules and this is what you need.


Re: 4GB RAM, only 3 show up in WinXP SP2