How do I enable DMA



ricardo
07-10-2005, 12:57 AM
I have a Dimension 8400 with 2*200meg drives in it.
The first drive DMA is enabled but the second is not. I have looked all
over for a solution but have'nt been able to find one. I am running XP
Pro SP2

MAP
07-10-2005, 12:57 AM
ricardo wrote:
> I have a Dimension 8400 with 2*200meg drives in it.
> The first drive DMA is enabled but the second is not. I have looked
> all over for a solution but have'nt been able to find one. I am
> running XP Pro SP2

Uninstall it through device manager,then reinstall it through add/remove
hardware or a simple reboot.

--
Mike Pawlak

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:57 AM
ricardo wrote:

> I have a Dimension 8400 with 2*200meg drives in it.
> The first drive DMA is enabled but the second is not. I have looked
> all over for a solution but have'nt been able to find one. I am
> running XP Pro SP2

Here is a link to a page by MVP Hans-Georg Michna explaining how to
reset DMA:

http://www.michna.com/kb/WxDMA.htm

If the drive continues to use PIO after you've followed Mr. Michna's
advice, then either the drive or the motherboard is bad.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User


How do I enable DMA