COM 1 or 2 usage



Greg Crawford
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
I am trying to use a software that came with a radio and it requires that the
radio be assigned to COM 1 or COM 2. I can't figure out how to accomplish
this on my new laptop. I have 4 USB ports that assign themselves to COM 4-
COM 7...but no COM 1 or 2? I can't seem to find COM 1 or 2 in the system
properties??

How would I go about doing this?

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
COM1 and COM2 are traditionally reserved for built-in serial ports (old
serial mouse, external serial modem etc.). You will have to turn these
devices OFF in your computer bios to make the ports available for other
system uses when in Windows XP.

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"Greg Crawford" <GregCrawford@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:B99278B2-9C4D-458A-BC9F-6809382DAF13@microsoft.com...
>I am trying to use a software that came with a radio and it requires that
>the
> radio be assigned to COM 1 or COM 2. I can't figure out how to accomplish
> this on my new laptop. I have 4 USB ports that assign themselves to COM
> 4-
> COM 7...but no COM 1 or 2? I can't seem to find COM 1 or 2 in the system
> properties??
>
> How would I go about doing this?

Greg Crawford
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
How would you go about doing that? I'm on a laptop, so there is no external
hardware execpt for the radio I'm trying to attach through usb ports. There
is also no old serial mouse attached as there is no serial port?? if the
laptop has assigned the COM ports...it must be to internal items like the
modem and internal mouse?? I can't seem to find out where to see what's been
assigned to COM 1 or 2.

"Richard Urban" wrote:

> COM1 and COM2 are traditionally reserved for built-in serial ports (old
> serial mouse, external serial modem etc.). You will have to turn these
> devices OFF in your computer bios to make the ports available for other
> system uses when in Windows XP.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> If you knew as much as you think you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>
> "Greg Crawford" <GregCrawford@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:B99278B2-9C4D-458A-BC9F-6809382DAF13@microsoft.com...
> >I am trying to use a software that came with a radio and it requires that
> >the
> > radio be assigned to COM 1 or COM 2. I can't figure out how to accomplish
> > this on my new laptop. I have 4 USB ports that assign themselves to COM
> > 4-
> > COM 7...but no COM 1 or 2? I can't seem to find COM 1 or 2 in the system
> > properties??
> >
> > How would I go about doing this?
>
>
>

Bob I
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
IRda port perhaps? Modem? See owner/user manual and BIOS.

Greg Crawford wrote:

> How would you go about doing that? I'm on a laptop, so there is no external
> hardware execpt for the radio I'm trying to attach through usb ports. There
> is also no old serial mouse attached as there is no serial port?? if the
> laptop has assigned the COM ports...it must be to internal items like the
> modem and internal mouse?? I can't seem to find out where to see what's been
> assigned to COM 1 or 2.
>
> "Richard Urban" wrote:
>
>
>>COM1 and COM2 are traditionally reserved for built-in serial ports (old
>>serial mouse, external serial modem etc.). You will have to turn these
>>devices OFF in your computer bios to make the ports available for other
>>system uses when in Windows XP.
>>
>>--
>>Regards,
>>
>>Richard Urban
>>
>>If you knew as much as you think you know,
>>You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>>
>>
>>"Greg Crawford" <GregCrawford@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>>news:B99278B2-9C4D-458A-BC9F-6809382DAF13@microsoft.com...
>>
>>>I am trying to use a software that came with a radio and it requires that
>>>the
>>>radio be assigned to COM 1 or COM 2. I can't figure out how to accomplish
>>>this on my new laptop. I have 4 USB ports that assign themselves to COM
>>>4-
>>>COM 7...but no COM 1 or 2? I can't seem to find COM 1 or 2 in the system
>>>properties??
>>>
>>>How would I go about doing this?
>>
>>
>>


COM 1 or 2 usage