DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.



Jill haoulder
07-10-2005, 01:54 AM
DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.


Ive got a Nvidia 6600 Gt Video card. And i want to connect it to my TV
but the Tv only has componate connections no DVI.

Anyway if i connect it like this would i get the same picture as if i
connected it via DVI or HDMI or atleast alot better than Svideo and
Rcas ??


And if i had some of those MicroSoft HD 720p and 1080i Trailers and
stuff would they be in realy HD on my TV ???

/ps my Tv is fully 720p and 1080i compatible.


Not sure if that would work. I was sure you neded DVi or HDMI to get
true HD from a Disc or fromy oru Media PC harddisc ?>?>?


Thanks for any help.

Rube
07-10-2005, 01:54 AM
There are a few online vendors that sell DVI to Component cables. A better
solution is to see if your TV has an RGB connector designed specifically for
PC's.
Video cards don't do interlaced video so you will only get 720P. The
resolution (assuming you have a real HDTV and not one of those Gateway
specials which are EDTV) of the display will be 1280 x 720. Your 6600 should
have that as one of its desktop size options.

"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
news:dhaea1hbrg47vg13atgaqnim4ko6p8k3bs@4ax.com...
>
> DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.
>
>
> Ive got a Nvidia 6600 Gt Video card. And i want to connect it to my TV
> but the Tv only has componate connections no DVI.
>
> Anyway if i connect it like this would i get the same picture as if i
> connected it via DVI or HDMI or atleast alot better than Svideo and
> Rcas ??
>
>
> And if i had some of those MicroSoft HD 720p and 1080i Trailers and
> stuff would they be in realy HD on my TV ???
>
> /ps my Tv is fully 720p and 1080i compatible.
>
>
> Not sure if that would work. I was sure you neded DVi or HDMI to get
> true HD from a Disc or fromy oru Media PC harddisc ?>?>?
>
>
> Thanks for any help.

Jill haoulder
07-10-2005, 01:54 AM
The Videocard plays 1080i Video just fine ???

And the Tv does 1080i so why would it not beable to show 1080I via a
DVi to componate connection to the TV ???

Thanks.

/ps you mean a monitor Input on the TV. No i dont think it has that.


On Thu, 9 Jun 2005 09:23:38 -0700, "Rube" <dont@spam.me> wrote:

>There are a few online vendors that sell DVI to Component cables. A better
>solution is to see if your TV has an RGB connector designed specifically for
>PC's.
>Video cards don't do interlaced video so you will only get 720P. The
>resolution (assuming you have a real HDTV and not one of those Gateway
>specials which are EDTV) of the display will be 1280 x 720. Your 6600 should
>have that as one of its desktop size options.
>
>"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
>news:dhaea1hbrg47vg13atgaqnim4ko6p8k3bs@4ax.com...
>>
>> DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.
>>
>>
>> Ive got a Nvidia 6600 Gt Video card. And i want to connect it to my TV
>> but the Tv only has componate connections no DVI.
>>
>> Anyway if i connect it like this would i get the same picture as if i
>> connected it via DVI or HDMI or atleast alot better than Svideo and
>> Rcas ??
>>
>>
>> And if i had some of those MicroSoft HD 720p and 1080i Trailers and
>> stuff would they be in realy HD on my TV ???
>>
>> /ps my Tv is fully 720p and 1080i compatible.
>>
>>
>> Not sure if that would work. I was sure you neded DVi or HDMI to get
>> true HD from a Disc or fromy oru Media PC harddisc ?>?>?
>>
>>
>> Thanks for any help.
>

Rube
07-10-2005, 01:54 AM
Sorry, I meant to imply that video cards CAN do 1920x1080 but the TV
interlaces it and some complain that its un readable for text & such, but
great for HD video. I keep mine at 1280x720 (my old vid card can't do
1920x1080.)

DVI & HDMI will give you a better picture quality but depending on the
source, the cable, the image displayed and the quality of the TV, it can be
a big difference or hardly noticable. Its really something you will have to
try and decide for yourself. But you will definitely see a HUGE difference
compared to RCA or s-video.

"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
news:vlgja1ha2q0dq40t4a9fdle2ha2j5f1cjo@4ax.com...
>
>
>
> The Videocard plays 1080i Video just fine ???
>
> And the Tv does 1080i so why would it not beable to show 1080I via a
> DVi to componate connection to the TV ???
>
> Thanks.
>
> /ps you mean a monitor Input on the TV. No i dont think it has that.
>
>
> On Thu, 9 Jun 2005 09:23:38 -0700, "Rube" <dont@spam.me> wrote:
>
> >There are a few online vendors that sell DVI to Component cables. A
better
> >solution is to see if your TV has an RGB connector designed specifically
for
> >PC's.
> >Video cards don't do interlaced video so you will only get 720P. The
> >resolution (assuming you have a real HDTV and not one of those Gateway
> >specials which are EDTV) of the display will be 1280 x 720. Your 6600
should
> >have that as one of its desktop size options.
> >
> >"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
> >news:dhaea1hbrg47vg13atgaqnim4ko6p8k3bs@4ax.com...
> >>
> >> DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.
> >>
> >>
> >> Ive got a Nvidia 6600 Gt Video card. And i want to connect it to my TV
> >> but the Tv only has componate connections no DVI.
> >>
> >> Anyway if i connect it like this would i get the same picture as if i
> >> connected it via DVI or HDMI or atleast alot better than Svideo and
> >> Rcas ??
> >>
> >>
> >> And if i had some of those MicroSoft HD 720p and 1080i Trailers and
> >> stuff would they be in realy HD on my TV ???
> >>
> >> /ps my Tv is fully 720p and 1080i compatible.
> >>
> >>
> >> Not sure if that would work. I was sure you neded DVi or HDMI to get
> >> true HD from a Disc or fromy oru Media PC harddisc ?>?>?
> >>
> >>
> >> Thanks for any help.
> >
>

Jill haoulder
07-10-2005, 01:55 AM
Ive only had Composite connection on my Old TV :(

But my DVD player can do Svideo so when i get the new TV ill hook that
up to Svideo beter that a poke in the eye with a BIG stick :)



On Fri, 10 Jun 2005 14:37:00 -0700, "Rube" <dont@spam.me> wrote:

>Sorry, I meant to imply that video cards CAN do 1920x1080 but the TV
>interlaces it and some complain that its un readable for text & such, but
>great for HD video. I keep mine at 1280x720 (my old vid card can't do
>1920x1080.)
>
>DVI & HDMI will give you a better picture quality but depending on the
>source, the cable, the image displayed and the quality of the TV, it can be
>a big difference or hardly noticable. Its really something you will have to
>try and decide for yourself. But you will definitely see a HUGE difference
>compared to RCA or s-video.
>
>"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
>news:vlgja1ha2q0dq40t4a9fdle2ha2j5f1cjo@4ax.com...
>>
>>
>>
>> The Videocard plays 1080i Video just fine ???
>>
>> And the Tv does 1080i so why would it not beable to show 1080I via a
>> DVi to componate connection to the TV ???
>>
>> Thanks.
>>
>> /ps you mean a monitor Input on the TV. No i dont think it has that.
>>
>>
>> On Thu, 9 Jun 2005 09:23:38 -0700, "Rube" <dont@spam.me> wrote:
>>
>> >There are a few online vendors that sell DVI to Component cables. A
>better
>> >solution is to see if your TV has an RGB connector designed specifically
>for
>> >PC's.
>> >Video cards don't do interlaced video so you will only get 720P. The
>> >resolution (assuming you have a real HDTV and not one of those Gateway
>> >specials which are EDTV) of the display will be 1280 x 720. Your 6600
>should
>> >have that as one of its desktop size options.
>> >
>> >"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
>> >news:dhaea1hbrg47vg13atgaqnim4ko6p8k3bs@4ax.com...
>> >>
>> >> DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> Ive got a Nvidia 6600 Gt Video card. And i want to connect it to my TV
>> >> but the Tv only has componate connections no DVI.
>> >>
>> >> Anyway if i connect it like this would i get the same picture as if i
>> >> connected it via DVI or HDMI or atleast alot better than Svideo and
>> >> Rcas ??
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> And if i had some of those MicroSoft HD 720p and 1080i Trailers and
>> >> stuff would they be in realy HD on my TV ???
>> >>
>> >> /ps my Tv is fully 720p and 1080i compatible.
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> Not sure if that would work. I was sure you neded DVi or HDMI to get
>> >> true HD from a Disc or fromy oru Media PC harddisc ?>?>?
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> Thanks for any help.
>> >
>>
>

Rube
07-10-2005, 01:55 AM
S-video really is a poor connection for DVD video, but if its your only
choice. . .
The poor video quality will make you feel like you were poked in the eye.
;-)

Progressive scan dvd players with component out are about $50 at bestbuy
these days.



"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
news:3dcpa1hi8qbfj9pbre3vd5570c9cegh2dm@4ax.com...
>
>
>
>
> Ive only had Composite connection on my Old TV :(
>
> But my DVD player can do Svideo so when i get the new TV ill hook that
> up to Svideo beter that a poke in the eye with a BIG stick :)
>
>
>
> On Fri, 10 Jun 2005 14:37:00 -0700, "Rube" <dont@spam.me> wrote:
>
> >Sorry, I meant to imply that video cards CAN do 1920x1080 but the TV
> >interlaces it and some complain that its un readable for text & such, but
> >great for HD video. I keep mine at 1280x720 (my old vid card can't do
> >1920x1080.)
> >
> >DVI & HDMI will give you a better picture quality but depending on the
> >source, the cable, the image displayed and the quality of the TV, it can
be
> >a big difference or hardly noticable. Its really something you will have
to
> >try and decide for yourself. But you will definitely see a HUGE
difference
> >compared to RCA or s-video.
> >
> >"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
> >news:vlgja1ha2q0dq40t4a9fdle2ha2j5f1cjo@4ax.com...
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> The Videocard plays 1080i Video just fine ???
> >>
> >> And the Tv does 1080i so why would it not beable to show 1080I via a
> >> DVi to componate connection to the TV ???
> >>
> >> Thanks.
> >>
> >> /ps you mean a monitor Input on the TV. No i dont think it has that.
> >>
> >>
> >> On Thu, 9 Jun 2005 09:23:38 -0700, "Rube" <dont@spam.me> wrote:
> >>
> >> >There are a few online vendors that sell DVI to Component cables. A
> >better
> >> >solution is to see if your TV has an RGB connector designed
specifically
> >for
> >> >PC's.
> >> >Video cards don't do interlaced video so you will only get 720P. The
> >> >resolution (assuming you have a real HDTV and not one of those Gateway
> >> >specials which are EDTV) of the display will be 1280 x 720. Your 6600
> >should
> >> >have that as one of its desktop size options.
> >> >
> >> >"Jill haoulder" <43434.com.au> wrote in message
> >> >news:dhaea1hbrg47vg13atgaqnim4ko6p8k3bs@4ax.com...
> >> >>
> >> >> DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> Ive got a Nvidia 6600 Gt Video card. And i want to connect it to my
TV
> >> >> but the Tv only has componate connections no DVI.
> >> >>
> >> >> Anyway if i connect it like this would i get the same picture as if
i
> >> >> connected it via DVI or HDMI or atleast alot better than Svideo and
> >> >> Rcas ??
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> And if i had some of those MicroSoft HD 720p and 1080i Trailers and
> >> >> stuff would they be in realy HD on my TV ???
> >> >>
> >> >> /ps my Tv is fully 720p and 1080i compatible.
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> Not sure if that would work. I was sure you neded DVi or HDMI to get
> >> >> true HD from a Disc or fromy oru Media PC harddisc ?>?>?
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> Thanks for any help.
> >> >
> >>
> >
>


DVI to Component adaptor advice needed for a Media Centre PC.