Print Server Question



Charlie
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Unfortunately I do not have access to high speed Internet and have to rely
on dial-up. I have 3 computers networked together (Win XP Home) using a
switch (not a router). All computers have a static IP address. Can I install
a print server without having a router? One of the setup parameters for the
print server is the
IP address of the router. Any help will be appreciated.

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:54 AM
YES! Just follow the direction for the print server. As long as the print
server is connected to a network (on a hub, switch or router) it does not
matter. Just need to assign an IP address to it.


"Charlie" <Charlie@nowhere.com> wrote in message
news:PP3pe.16995$iu.7887@tornado.ohiordc.rr.com...
> Unfortunately I do not have access to high speed Internet and have to rely
> on dial-up. I have 3 computers networked together (Win XP Home) using a
> switch (not a router). All computers have a static IP address. Can I
> install
> a print server without having a router? One of the setup parameters for
> the print server is the
> IP address of the router. Any help will be appreciated.
>
>

Courtney
07-10-2005, 12:54 AM
The print server will use a different protocol to configure (usually LPX).
From there, you can put in whatever IP address you want.

courtney

"Charlie" <Charlie@nowhere.com> wrote in message
news:PP3pe.16995$iu.7887@tornado.ohiordc.rr.com...
> Unfortunately I do not have access to high speed Internet and have to rely
> on dial-up. I have 3 computers networked together (Win XP Home) using a
> switch (not a router). All computers have a static IP address. Can I
> install
> a print server without having a router? One of the setup parameters for
> the print server is the
> IP address of the router. Any help will be appreciated.
>
>


Print Server Question