Error message"NTLDR is missing"



glarwood
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
I replaced motherboard and processor and added SATA drives. When
installing new os, got titled error message. How do I correct?


--
glarwoodPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

Jerry
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Did you boot from the XP CD? Did you use a floppy to install the SATA
drivers at the appropriate time when asked by the install program?

"glarwood" <glarwood.1q11ym@> wrote in message
news:IJydnRuJNogFKwLfRVn_vg@giganews.com...
>
> I replaced motherboard and processor and added SATA drives. When
> installing new os, got titled error message. How do I correct?
>
>
> --
> glarwoodPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
That is: During the XP install start-up, you will need to press F6 when the
system request that if you need to add addition drivers.


"Jerry" <NoSpamChiefZeke@MSN.com> wrote in message
news:evjr1Y%23ZFHA.2884@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Did you boot from the XP CD? Did you use a floppy to install the SATA
> drivers at the appropriate time when asked by the install program?
>
> "glarwood" <glarwood.1q11ym@> wrote in message
> news:IJydnRuJNogFKwLfRVn_vg@giganews.com...
>>
>> I replaced motherboard and processor and added SATA drives. When
>> installing new os, got titled error message. How do I correct?
>>
>>
>> --
>> glarwoodPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>>
>
>

glarwood
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
No, Actually I did not get that far. The SATA drives did not come w/
any instructions or drivers. I used a restore cd to install os, but
system hung and have not been able to start wndows install.
I have booted in DOS sucessfully.
I have another ide drive. Would you suggest disconnecting the power
supply to the SATA drives and installing os on standard drive? That is
not what I want to do, but looking for a solution.


--
glarwoodPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

DL
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
The sata/raid drivers are supplied by your mobo manu or PC manu
You need to visit their site and download sata/raid drivers, then put these
on a floppy
You may also have to modify your bios to allow boot from sata (your mobo may
give a different option/name)
However if you only have a restore cd this may not be an option. It may
depend on supplier

"glarwood" <glarwood.1q2582@> wrote in message
news:c5KdnXtGT5mw4z3fRVn_vg@giganews.com...
>
> No, Actually I did not get that far. The SATA drives did not come w/
> any instructions or drivers. I used a restore cd to install os, but
> system hung and have not been able to start wndows install.
> I have booted in DOS sucessfully.
> I have another ide drive. Would you suggest disconnecting the power
> supply to the SATA drives and installing os on standard drive? That is
> not what I want to do, but looking for a solution.
>
>
> --
> glarwoodPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>

Kayf
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Howdy,

If all you have is a restore CD, you can still get this done. Disconnect
the SATA drive(s) for now. You will need to restore your system on to your
old hard drive and boot from that. Once you are sure it is OK, reboot and
set the SATA controller in the BIOS, without connecting the drive. When you
restart WinXP, it will detect the new hardware and you can load the driver
from there.

Next, back up your system with Symantec Ghost or Drive Image into a separate
partition. Then install your SATA drive and partition it as necessary.
From a DOS disk, you can then Ghost/Drive Image your system into the new
'C:' partition on the SATA drive. Take out the old ATA drive, set the BIOS
options to boot from SATA and off you go. Once it successfully boots, you
can chuck back the old HDD if needed.

I have done this on a couple of machines, including one SATA RAID-0 array
and so far, it has worked fine.

Cheers,

Kayf



"DL" <dl@spoofmail> wrote in message
news:eV9K7bFaFHA.900@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> The sata/raid drivers are supplied by your mobo manu or PC manu
> You need to visit their site and download sata/raid drivers, then put
> these
> on a floppy
> You may also have to modify your bios to allow boot from sata (your mobo
> may
> give a different option/name)
> However if you only have a restore cd this may not be an option. It may
> depend on supplier
>
> "glarwood" <glarwood.1q2582@> wrote in message
> news:c5KdnXtGT5mw4z3fRVn_vg@giganews.com...
>>
>> No, Actually I did not get that far. The SATA drives did not come w/
>> any instructions or drivers. I used a restore cd to install os, but
>> system hung and have not been able to start wndows install.
>> I have booted in DOS sucessfully.
>> I have another ide drive. Would you suggest disconnecting the power
>> supply to the SATA drives and installing os on standard drive? That is
>> not what I want to do, but looking for a solution.
>>
>>
>> --
>> glarwoodPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>>
>
>

NobodyMan
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
On Fri, 03 Jun 2005 19:40:51 GMT, "Kayf" <noemail@here.com> wrote:

>Howdy,
>
>If all you have is a restore CD, you can still get this done. Disconnect
>the SATA drive(s) for now. You will need to restore your system on to your
>old hard drive and boot from that. Once you are sure it is OK, reboot and
>set the SATA controller in the BIOS, without connecting the drive. When you
>restart WinXP, it will detect the new hardware and you can load the driver
>from there

>Next, back up your system with Symantec Ghost or Drive Image into a separate
>partition. Then install your SATA drive and partition it as necessary.
>From a DOS disk, you can then Ghost/Drive Image your system into the new
>'C:' partition on the SATA drive. Take out the old ATA drive, set the BIOS
>options to boot from SATA and off you go. Once it successfully boots, you
>can chuck back the old HDD if needed.

Why bothering partitioning the SATA then running ghost? Imaging
programs will partition the drive for you during the restoration of
the drive. Skip the uneccessary step and save yourself some time.

>I have done this on a couple of machines, including one SATA RAID-0 array
>and so far, it has worked fine.
>
>Cheers,
>
>Kayf


Error message"NTLDR is missing"