" is where @ should be



JohnH
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I just did a reinstall with the set up cd's for my HP Pavillion 751. The @
mark is where the" should be.
Any suggestions?
Thanks
John

Pegasus \(MVP\)
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
"JohnH" <JohnH@NZ.com> wrote in message news:42903066$1@clear.net.nz...
> I just did a reinstall with the set up cd's for my HP Pavillion 751. The
@
> mark is where the" should be.
> Any suggestions?
> Thanks
> John
>

Mmh. What "@"? What double quote? How does this relate to
hardware?

Philip Herlihy
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
You may have your Regional Settings (control panel) wrong. US and UK
keyboards differ, for example.

--
####################
## PH, London
####################
"JohnH" <JohnH@NZ.com> wrote in message news:42903066$1@clear.net.nz...
>I just did a reinstall with the set up cd's for my HP Pavillion 751. The @
> mark is where the" should be.
> Any suggestions?
> Thanks
> John
>
>

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
You obviously have some settings wrong. Like your system time for example.

Keyboard Language...
Start | Run | Type: control international | OK |
Languages tab | Details button | Add button |
Select English (New Zealand) |OK | Apply | OK



--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:42903066$1@clear.net.nz,
JohnH <JohnH@NZ.com> hunted and pecked:
> I just did a reinstall with the set up cd's for my HP Pavillion 751. The
> @ mark is where the" should be.
> Any suggestions?
> Thanks
> John

The PC Consultant
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
This is a very common problem where you have mismatched country code and keyboard used. For example, if you use UK keyboard with US English then you get this error. Have you tried setting your country and keyboard correctly.

You should also take this opportunity to change your timezone or at least correct the time of your system.

Hope this proves useful.



JohnH wrote:
>
> I just did a reinstall with the set up cd's for my HP Pavillion 751. The @
> mark is where the" should be.
> Any suggestions?
> Thanks
> John

JohnH
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I solved this when I changed the Text Services and input languages. What is
US Dvorack?
John

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
Dvorack is another keyboard layout, just like to "standard" Querty layout.


"JohnH" <JohnH@NZ.com> wrote in message news:42914935@clear.net.nz...
>
> I solved this when I changed the Text Services and input languages. What
> is US Dvorack?
> John
>


" is where @ should be