Need help w/fingerprint reader



Art Shotwell
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?

HillBillyBuddhist
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
"Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
news:uO58jfkXFHA.2060@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
|I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
| logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
| sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
| for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?

I got one recently too and it's been working as advertised.

What browser are you trying to use it with and what procedure are you using
to attempt to set up logins?

--
Doug

I'm not an MVP a VIP nor do I have ESP.
I was just trying to help.
Please use your own best judgment before implementing any suggestions or
advice herein.
No warranty is expressed or implied.
Your mileage may vary.
See store for details. :)

Remove shoes to E-mail.

Art Shotwell
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
HillBillyBuddhist wrote:
> "Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
> news:uO58jfkXFHA.2060@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> |I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
> | logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
> | sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
> | for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?
>
> I got one recently too and it's been working as advertised.
>
> What browser are you trying to use it with and what procedure are you using
> to attempt to set up logins?
>
I normally use Firefox, but I've tried it with IE6, too. First of all,
there's supposed to be a button in the right side of the title bar and
it's not there. But, I place my finger on the reader, a screen pops up,
I fill in the login info and click Finish or OK (can't remember). The
dialog goes away. But, nothing happens. When I reload the page, I do the
finger reader thing again, and the same dialog comes up for me to fill
in the login info.

David Vair
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I have the regular fingerprint reader, as far as I know it only works with IE 6 or MSN explorer.
--
Dave Vair
CNE, CNA, MCP, A+, N+
Computer Education Services Corp. (CESC)

"Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
news:%23$m$r3lXFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> HillBillyBuddhist wrote:
>> "Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
>> news:uO58jfkXFHA.2060@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> |I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
>> | logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
>> | sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
>> | for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?
>>
>> I got one recently too and it's been working as advertised.
>>
>> What browser are you trying to use it with and what procedure are you using to attempt to set up
>> logins?
>>
> I normally use Firefox, but I've tried it with IE6, too. First of all, there's supposed to be a
> button in the right side of the title bar and it's not there. But, I place my finger on the
> reader, a screen pops up, I fill in the login info and click Finish or OK (can't remember). The
> dialog goes away. But, nothing happens. When I reload the page, I do the finger reader thing
> again, and the same dialog comes up for me to fill in the login info.

HillBillyBuddhist
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
"Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
news:%23$m$r3lXFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
| HillBillyBuddhist wrote:
| > "Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
| > news:uO58jfkXFHA.2060@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
| > |I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
| > | logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
| > | sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
| > | for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?
| >
| > I got one recently too and it's been working as advertised.
| >
| > What browser are you trying to use it with and what procedure are you
using
| > to attempt to set up logins?
| >
| I normally use Firefox, but I've tried it with IE6, too. First of all,
| there's supposed to be a button in the right side of the title bar and
| it's not there. But, I place my finger on the reader, a screen pops up,
| I fill in the login info and click Finish or OK (can't remember). The
| dialog goes away. But, nothing happens. When I reload the page, I do the
| finger reader thing again, and the same dialog comes up for me to fill
| in the login info.

I just tried mine with Firefox and got the same result you are experiencing.
Login dialog comes up, filled in the username and password, attempted to log
in, login dialog comes up again. As you say that you "normally use Firefox"
I'm wondering if having it (Firefox) set as you default browser is the
reason you can't get it to work with either FF or IE.

I have also noted that the "button in the right side of the title bar" you
referred to only comes up in Internet Explorer. I use Slimbrowser as my
default browser (an IE shell) which does works for logins but, I don't get
the toolbar button unless I use plain vanilla IE.

A Microsoft device that only works with Microsoft's browser. Not a big
surprise. Perhaps a later release of the software will address the issue.
Perhaps Angelina Jolie will run it by my house when it's ready... :-))

--
Doug

Remove shoes to E-mail.

Art Shotwell
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
HillBillyBuddhist wrote:
> "Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
> news:%23$m$r3lXFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> | HillBillyBuddhist wrote:
> | > "Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
> | > news:uO58jfkXFHA.2060@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> | > |I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
> | > | logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
> | > | sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
> | > | for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?
> | >
> | > I got one recently too and it's been working as advertised.
> | >
> | > What browser are you trying to use it with and what procedure are you
> using
> | > to attempt to set up logins?
> | >
> | I normally use Firefox, but I've tried it with IE6, too. First of all,
> | there's supposed to be a button in the right side of the title bar and
> | it's not there. But, I place my finger on the reader, a screen pops up,
> | I fill in the login info and click Finish or OK (can't remember). The
> | dialog goes away. But, nothing happens. When I reload the page, I do the
> | finger reader thing again, and the same dialog comes up for me to fill
> | in the login info.
>
> I just tried mine with Firefox and got the same result you are experiencing.
> Login dialog comes up, filled in the username and password, attempted to log
> in, login dialog comes up again. As you say that you "normally use Firefox"
> I'm wondering if having it (Firefox) set as you default browser is the
> reason you can't get it to work with either FF or IE.
>
> I have also noted that the "button in the right side of the title bar" you
> referred to only comes up in Internet Explorer. I use Slimbrowser as my
> default browser (an IE shell) which does works for logins but, I don't get
> the toolbar button unless I use plain vanilla IE.
>
> A Microsoft device that only works with Microsoft's browser. Not a big
> surprise. Perhaps a later release of the software will address the issue.
> Perhaps Angelina Jolie will run it by my house when it's ready... :-))

Now THAT would be a surprise. Get a photo.

kenwitkin
07-10-2005, 01:58 AM
I also have a finreprint reader. The fingerprint reader problems stem from
the Microsoft software. Microsoft is still advertising Version 1.0 on their
web site. The software is very buggy. For instance, there's absolutely no
fast way to delete a Quicklink entry when the list appears on my desktop. I
should be able to just highlight a Quicklink entry and delete it but the
Microsoft software won't allow that. Also, I have three or four duplicate
entries on my Quicklink list because the software created duplicates when I
already ahd a Quicklink entry.

"HillBillyBuddhist" wrote:

> "Art Shotwell" <art@_artshotwell.com> wrote in message
> news:uO58jfkXFHA.2060@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> |I just bought the MS Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader. It works fine
> | logging into Windows XP. But, it's supposed to work for visiting Web
> | sites that require login. And, it doesn't. I can't even get it set up
> | for any website I've gone to yet. Any one with suggestions?
>
> I got one recently too and it's been working as advertised.
>
> What browser are you trying to use it with and what procedure are you using
> to attempt to set up logins?
>
> --
> Doug
>
> I'm not an MVP a VIP nor do I have ESP.
> I was just trying to help.
> Please use your own best judgment before implementing any suggestions or
> advice herein.
> No warranty is expressed or implied.
> Your mileage may vary.
> See store for details. :)
>
> Remove shoes to E-mail.
>
>
>


Need help w/fingerprint reader