XP Pro



George Schneider
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full retial
version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
Yes, that is normal. The splash screen in generic after installing SP2.

The splash screen that appears at startup does not display the complete
Windows XP version information
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;886930

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"George Schneider" <georgedschneider@news.postalias> wrote:

| I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full retial
| version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
| comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
| edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?

Ken Blake
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
In news:68569D98-796D-4470-B483-02C7ADF8E212@microsoft.com,
George Schneider <georgedschneider@news.postalias> typed:

> I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the
> full
> retial version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During
> the boot
> up when it comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home
> when I
> was running home edition. It just says Windows XP now not
> professional. Is this normal?


You apparently now have SP2 installed. Yes, that's normal in SP2.
The distinction on the splash screen ended there.

--
Ken Blake - Microsoft MVP Windows: Shell/User
Please reply to the newsgroup

Rock
07-09-2005, 11:57 PM
George Schneider wrote:

> I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full retial
> version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
> comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
> edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?

Yes, that was a change with SP2.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

George Schneider
07-09-2005, 11:57 PM
thanks all. I never really paid attentiON BEFORE.

"Rock" wrote:

> George Schneider wrote:
>
> > I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full retial
> > version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
> > comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
> > edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?
>
> Yes, that was a change with SP2.
>
> --
> Rock
> MS MVP Windows - Shell/User
>
>

Rock
07-09-2005, 11:57 PM
George Schneider wrote:

> thanks all. I never really paid attentiON BEFORE.
>
> "Rock" wrote:
>
>
>>George Schneider wrote:
>>
>>
>>>I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full retial
>>>version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
>>>comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
>>>edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?
>>
>>Yes, that was a change with SP2.
>>
>>--
>>Rock
>>MS MVP Windows - Shell/User
>>
>>

You're welcome George.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

Andrew Murray
07-10-2005, 12:24 AM
Yes....XP Home or XP pro is still XP!

"George Schneider" <georgedschneider@news.postalias> wrote in message
news:68569D98-796D-4470-B483-02C7ADF8E212@microsoft.com...
>I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full retial
> version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
> comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
> edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?

ChrisC
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
Hi, that change was bought about with SP2, you probably have a version of XP
that has SP2 integrated....
ChrisC
"Andrew Murray" <Noadmurray@SPAMiinet.net.au> wrote in message
news:42b92fdd$0$27712$5a62ac22@per-qv1-newsreader-01.iinet.net.au...
> Yes....XP Home or XP pro is still XP!
>
> "George Schneider" <georgedschneider@news.postalias> wrote in message
> news:68569D98-796D-4470-B483-02C7ADF8E212@microsoft.com...
>>I upgraded my laptop from XP Home which came preloaded with the full
>>retial
>> version of XP Pro. Everything went smothley. During the boot up when it
>> comes to the Windows XP Screen it displayed home when I was running home
>> edition. It just says Windows XP now not professional. Is this normal?
>
>


XP Pro