Re USB hubs - changing them



Ron Hirsch
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
I'm running XP Home SP2 with all patches, on a high end system. I have four
USB hubs connected to my computer, 3 of them are USB 1, and 1 is USB 2. Most
of the items connected to the USB 1 hubs don't really need USB 2, but I'm
planning on replacing all of them with USB 2 hubs, to make these hubs usable
with USB 2 devices, should that need arise.

I have some questions re this.

1. Can I simply replace the 4 port hubs by removing the old, and connecting
in the new? Will XP just accept this, and not give any glitches to all the
items connected to the hub that was replaced? Or, should one remove all
connected devices, and let XP "shake hands" with the new hubs, before
reconnecting the devices which were connected there previously?

2. I read various messages re USB 2 cables, versus USB 1 cables. From all
I've read, it would seem that leaving all the original USB 1 cables in place
should work OK, as the differences from "USB 2 certified" cables are very
slight. Most of the items connected really don't need USB 2 speed to begin
with. The existing hub that handles my USB 2 hard drives has all USB 2
cables currently.in place. Any words of wisdom on USB 2 cables, versus USB 1
cables?

Ron Hirsch

R. McCarty
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
As to cables, USB 2.0 certified cables are more or less a higher
quality. Things like a heavier gauge (Larger cross-section), better
insulation and the like. I wouldn't spend any money to upgrade to
a USB 2.0 cable. It's like the "Monster Cable" for speakers, nice
but not necessary.
On the hubs - Just remove them. Click View in Device Manager
and tic "Show Hidden Devices". Remove all the Phantoms from
Universal Serial Bus Controllers (Grayed Out, diminished color).
Then remove the phantoms from the appropriate categories, such
as Imaging,etc.. Then just add in your new Hubs and then attach
the USB components. Check your Hub's bandwidth to make sure
you don't overload any particular hub. This data is found in the Host
controller, Advanced (Tab) properties.

"Ron Hirsch" <ronhirsch@adelphia.net> wrote in message
news:eiJGRP3ZFHA.1456@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> I'm running XP Home SP2 with all patches, on a high end system. I have
> four USB hubs connected to my computer, 3 of them are USB 1, and 1 is USB
> 2. Most of the items connected to the USB 1 hubs don't really need USB 2,
> but I'm planning on replacing all of them with USB 2 hubs, to make these
> hubs usable with USB 2 devices, should that need arise.
>
> I have some questions re this.
>
> 1. Can I simply replace the 4 port hubs by removing the old, and
> connecting in the new? Will XP just accept this, and not give any glitches
> to all the items connected to the hub that was replaced? Or, should one
> remove all connected devices, and let XP "shake hands" with the new hubs,
> before reconnecting the devices which were connected there previously?
>
> 2. I read various messages re USB 2 cables, versus USB 1 cables. From all
> I've read, it would seem that leaving all the original USB 1 cables in
> place should work OK, as the differences from "USB 2 certified" cables are
> very slight. Most of the items connected really don't need USB 2 speed to
> begin with. The existing hub that handles my USB 2 hard drives has all USB
> 2 cables currently.in place. Any words of wisdom on USB 2 cables, versus
> USB 1 cables?
>
> Ron Hirsch
>
>
>
>
>

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
The only problem that I would see is that most USB 2 hubs have their own
power transformers. Each would require a power connection and few power
bars provide well spaced plugs for the large transformers.


"R. McCarty" <PcEngWork-NoSpam_@mindspring.com> wrote in message
news:%23hF%23CX3ZFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> As to cables, USB 2.0 certified cables are more or less a higher
> quality. Things like a heavier gauge (Larger cross-section), better
> insulation and the like. I wouldn't spend any money to upgrade to
> a USB 2.0 cable. It's like the "Monster Cable" for speakers, nice
> but not necessary.
> On the hubs - Just remove them. Click View in Device Manager
> and tic "Show Hidden Devices". Remove all the Phantoms from
> Universal Serial Bus Controllers (Grayed Out, diminished color).
> Then remove the phantoms from the appropriate categories, such
> as Imaging,etc.. Then just add in your new Hubs and then attach
> the USB components. Check your Hub's bandwidth to make sure
> you don't overload any particular hub. This data is found in the Host
> controller, Advanced (Tab) properties.
>
> "Ron Hirsch" <ronhirsch@adelphia.net> wrote in message
> news:eiJGRP3ZFHA.1456@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> I'm running XP Home SP2 with all patches, on a high end system. I have
>> four USB hubs connected to my computer, 3 of them are USB 1, and 1 is USB
>> 2. Most of the items connected to the USB 1 hubs don't really need USB 2,
>> but I'm planning on replacing all of them with USB 2 hubs, to make these
>> hubs usable with USB 2 devices, should that need arise.
>>
>> I have some questions re this.
>>
>> 1. Can I simply replace the 4 port hubs by removing the old, and
>> connecting in the new? Will XP just accept this, and not give any
>> glitches to all the items connected to the hub that was replaced? Or,
>> should one remove all connected devices, and let XP "shake hands" with
>> the new hubs, before reconnecting the devices which were connected there
>> previously?
>>
>> 2. I read various messages re USB 2 cables, versus USB 1 cables. From all
>> I've read, it would seem that leaving all the original USB 1 cables in
>> place should work OK, as the differences from "USB 2 certified" cables
>> are very slight. Most of the items connected really don't need USB 2
>> speed to begin with. The existing hub that handles my USB 2 hard drives
>> has all USB 2 cables currently.in place. Any words of wisdom on USB 2
>> cables, versus USB 1 cables?
>>
>> Ron Hirsch
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
>

Not Me
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
Ron,
All I have ever done when changing USB Hubs is to disconnect everything
from the original Hub, disconnect it from the Computer and power source
[one of the worst decisions is to buy a Hub which does not have its own
power source. In short, never consider a "bus" powered Hub.]. Then
connect the new Hub to power and the Computer. THEN plug your devices
into the new Hub. Never had trouble with any of them. I guess I concur
with the "shake hand" approach.
Why do you need so many Hubs? Just buy Hubs with more input slots. I
have one made by Belkin which has seven inputs and there are even bigger
ones available.
I would not worry about any difference between USB 1.1 and USB 2.0
cables [if, in fact, there is any difference]. I never have discarded
one since the change and grab the first one within reach to connect
anything and have experienced no problems thus far.
Gene K
Ron Hirsch wrote:
> I'm running XP Home SP2 with all patches, on a high end system. I have four
> USB hubs connected to my computer, 3 of them are USB 1, and 1 is USB 2. Most
> of the items connected to the USB 1 hubs don't really need USB 2, but I'm
> planning on replacing all of them with USB 2 hubs, to make these hubs usable
> with USB 2 devices, should that need arise.
>
> I have some questions re this.
>
> 1. Can I simply replace the 4 port hubs by removing the old, and connecting
> in the new? Will XP just accept this, and not give any glitches to all the
> items connected to the hub that was replaced? Or, should one remove all
> connected devices, and let XP "shake hands" with the new hubs, before
> reconnecting the devices which were connected there previously?
>
> 2. I read various messages re USB 2 cables, versus USB 1 cables. From all
> I've read, it would seem that leaving all the original USB 1 cables in place
> should work OK, as the differences from "USB 2 certified" cables are very
> slight. Most of the items connected really don't need USB 2 speed to begin
> with. The existing hub that handles my USB 2 hard drives has all USB 2
> cables currently.in place. Any words of wisdom on USB 2 cables, versus USB 1
> cables?
>
> Ron Hirsch
>
>
>
>
>

Ron Hirsch
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
Most of the devices I connect to hubs do not require any power, they are
self powered - such as printers, etc..

So, I leave most of my hubs unpowered - I don't use the wall transformer
that comes with them. This has always worked well. For those that need
power, I use the transformer. The amount of power used by the hub itself is
very small, and my computer can easily handle all that

And, the reason for the number of hubs is that my equipment is spread out,
and not in one location - so having 4-port hubs serves me needs very well.
Actually, one area is physically located about 14 feet from the computer. So
for that one, I've been using a USB line booster, which is essentially a
cable with a 1 port hub at the end. Then I connect a 4 port hub to that, to
power up 3 USB printers in that area. This has worked fine with USB 1 stuff,
so no reason it shouldn't work OK with the USB equivalents.

In general, all the replies I've gotten here confirm my understanding of
things.

So thanks to all of you -

Ron Hirsch

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
Please note that I have encountered USB 2 hubs that will not work when the
power transformer is not used. I can not be certain for every hubs.


"Ron Hirsch" <ronhirsch@adelphia.net> wrote in message
news:%23YUGna4ZFHA.1408@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Most of the devices I connect to hubs do not require any power, they are
> self powered - such as printers, etc..
>
> So, I leave most of my hubs unpowered - I don't use the wall transformer
> that comes with them. This has always worked well. For those that need
> power, I use the transformer. The amount of power used by the hub itself
> is very small, and my computer can easily handle all that
>
> And, the reason for the number of hubs is that my equipment is spread out,
> and not in one location - so having 4-port hubs serves me needs very well.
> Actually, one area is physically located about 14 feet from the computer.
> So for that one, I've been using a USB line booster, which is essentially
> a cable with a 1 port hub at the end. Then I connect a 4 port hub to that,
> to power up 3 USB printers in that area. This has worked fine with USB 1
> stuff, so no reason it shouldn't work OK with the USB equivalents.
>
> In general, all the replies I've gotten here confirm my understanding of
> things.
>
> So thanks to all of you -
>
> Ron Hirsch
>
>

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:56 AM
The most USB connection that any one hub can offer is 7 (so far). Also, if
the use devices are spread out in different locations, it would be difficult
in moving them around. Also, you can "daisy-chain" hubs which would extend
the distance for the USB devices.


"Not Me" <nobody@nowhere.net> wrote in message
news:ejxHSP4ZFHA.3808@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Ron,
> All I have ever done when changing USB Hubs is to disconnect everything
> from the original Hub, disconnect it from the Computer and power source
> [one of the worst decisions is to buy a Hub which does not have its own
> power source. In short, never consider a "bus" powered Hub.]. Then connect
> the new Hub to power and the Computer. THEN plug your devices into the new
> Hub. Never had trouble with any of them. I guess I concur with the "shake
> hand" approach.
> Why do you need so many Hubs? Just buy Hubs with more input slots. I have
> one made by Belkin which has seven inputs and there are even bigger ones
> available.
> I would not worry about any difference between USB 1.1 and USB 2.0 cables
> [if, in fact, there is any difference]. I never have discarded one since
> the change and grab the first one within reach to connect anything and
> have experienced no problems thus far.
> Gene K
> Ron Hirsch wrote:
>> I'm running XP Home SP2 with all patches, on a high end system. I have
>> four USB hubs connected to my computer, 3 of them are USB 1, and 1 is USB
>> 2. Most of the items connected to the USB 1 hubs don't really need USB 2,
>> but I'm planning on replacing all of them with USB 2 hubs, to make these
>> hubs usable with USB 2 devices, should that need arise.
>>
>> I have some questions re this.
>>
>> 1. Can I simply replace the 4 port hubs by removing the old, and
>> connecting in the new? Will XP just accept this, and not give any
>> glitches to all the items connected to the hub that was replaced? Or,
>> should one remove all connected devices, and let XP "shake hands" with
>> the new hubs, before reconnecting the devices which were connected there
>> previously?
>>
>> 2. I read various messages re USB 2 cables, versus USB 1 cables. From all
>> I've read, it would seem that leaving all the original USB 1 cables in
>> place should work OK, as the differences from "USB 2 certified" cables
>> are very slight. Most of the items connected really don't need USB 2
>> speed to begin with. The existing hub that handles my USB 2 hard drives
>> has all USB 2 cables currently.in place. Any words of wisdom on USB 2
>> cables, versus USB 1 cables?
>>
>> Ron Hirsch
>>
>>
>>
>>


Re USB hubs - changing them