Home Network



Scar
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
I try to set up home network to no avail. I had the network running fine ,
but since I had to reinstall OS few weeks ago on one of the computers ( main
one ) nothing helps.
I followed manuals , helps and all other c.... but no network.
The computer doesn't even see itself on the home net.
P4 , WinXPpro sp2 , no Win firewall , Norton Internet Security ( disabled
firewall )
Any idea what's wrong ?

Thanks

Chuck

NotMe
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
Is your NIC recognized and functioning in Device Manager?
No NIC, No Network...when you plug in the cat 5 cable, does the green light
on the NIC come on?
If it is working, have you set the TCP/IP to a network address OR set to
automatic if you have a DHCP server/router on the network?

--
A Professional Amatuer...If anyone knew it all, none of would be here!
"Scar" <NoBody@home> wrote in message
news:67adndhK7dC9gwPfRVn-3Q@rogers.com...
>I try to set up home network to no avail. I had the network running fine ,
>but since I had to reinstall OS few weeks ago on one of the computers (
>main one ) nothing helps.
> I followed manuals , helps and all other c.... but no network.
> The computer doesn't even see itself on the home net.
> P4 , WinXPpro sp2 , no Win firewall , Norton Internet Security ( disabled
> firewall )
> Any idea what's wrong ?
> Thanks
> Chuck

Stephen
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
Scar wrote:
>> I try to set up home network to no avail. I had the network running
>> fine , but since I had to reinstall OS few weeks ago on one of the
>> computers ( main one ) nothing helps.
>> I followed manuals , helps and all other c.... but no network.
>> The computer doesn't even see itself on the home net.
>> P4 , WinXPpro sp2 , no Win firewall , Norton Internet Security (
>> disabled firewall )
>> Any idea what's wrong ?
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> Chuck

[unofficial]

NICs properly seated?

Cables properly attached?

Client for Microsoft Networks enabled?

File and Print Sharing Enabled?

File and Print sharing exception allowed in Windows Firewall for all NICs
but the NIC connected to the Internet?

All are on the ame network? That is they all have the same network name e.g.
MSHOME or WORKGROUP?

Are you consistent with how things are shared ? i.e. All computers are
using Simple file sharing [find in Control Panel > Folder Options > under
the View tab in XP Pro - scroll down to the very bottom ... it is the
default in XP Home and there's no option to change it in XP Home]?
Overlooking this can cause the symptoms you describe.

One computer may have a NIC attached to the Internet and does the Internet
Connection Sharing and therefore has two NIC cards or similar setup. Make
sure File and Print Sharing and Client for Microsoft Networks is NOT enabled
for that particular NIC connected to the Internet.

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
Scar wrote:

> I try to set up home network to no avail. I had the network running
> fine , but since I had to reinstall OS few weeks ago on one of the
> computers ( main one ) nothing helps.
> I followed manuals , helps and all other c.... but no network.
> The computer doesn't even see itself on the home net.
> P4 , WinXPpro sp2 , no Win firewall , Norton Internet Security (
> disabled firewall )
> Any idea what's wrong ?
>

Without more exact information, it's not possible to give you specific
advice. What often works well is to run the Network Setup Wizard. Have
all computers in the network on and then run through the wizard.
Otherwise, here is a link to an excellent network troubleshooter by MVP
Hans-Georg Michna. If you take the time to go through the t-shooter, it
will pinpoint the problem area(s):

http://www.michna.com/kb/wxnet.htm

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

guestfromhell
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
Scar Wrote:
> I try to set up home network to no avail. I had the network running fine
> ,
> but since I had to reinstall OS few weeks ago on one of the computers (
> main
> one ) nothing helps.
> I followed manuals , helps and all other c.... but no network.
> The computer doesn't even see itself on the home net.
> P4 , WinXPpro sp2 , no Win firewall , Norton Internet Security (
> disabled
> firewall )
> Any idea what's wrong ?
>
> Thanks
>
> Chuck

-can you ping all machines from all other machines
-are they in the same workgroup
-have they all got file sharing anabled
-is the an enabled guest account on each machine
-have you got TCP/IP installed on each machine
are they all picking up an address in the same subnet range, eg
192.168.0.x with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

try that lot first.


--
guestfromhell
------------------------------------------------------------------------
guestfromhell's Profile: http://www.iamnotageek.com/member.php?userid=12490
View this thread: http://www.iamnotageek.com/showthread.php?t=1819077560

yorocco32
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
Hi I'm new to this forum. I'm having a hardtime connecting my 2
computers. Is there a normal issue if 1 computer is XP home & 1 is
2000? My desktop is running ms2000 it can not ping my laptop running xp
home. Both can get on the net fine. Dlink said its a sharing or software
issue. I ran thru the network wizard on my laptop (XP unit) it made it
sound like both machines needed to be XP or I'd have to get some other
file to make the MS2000 network. Any suggestions?


--
yorocco32
------------------------------------------------------------------------
yorocco32's Profile: http://www.iamnotageek.com/member.php?userid=13382
View this thread: http://www.iamnotageek.com/showthread.php?t=1819077560

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
yorocco32 wrote:

>
> Hi I'm new to this forum. I'm having a hardtime connecting my 2
> computers. Is there a normal issue if 1 computer is XP home & 1 is
> 2000? My desktop is running ms2000 it can not ping my laptop running
> xp home. Both can get on the net fine. Dlink said its a sharing or
> software issue. I ran thru the network wizard on my laptop (XP unit)
> it made it sound like both machines needed to be XP or I'd have to get
> some other
> file to make the MS2000 network. Any suggestions?
>
>
Hi - This isn't a forum; it's a newsgroup. You're apparently posting on
one of those messageboards that pretend to be for Windows tech support
but are really sucking off Usenet posts from the Microsoft newsgroups.

You'll have better results posting directly to Usenet with a real
newsreader. Here is information on how to do that:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=/support/news/howto/default.asp
- Set Up Newsreader
http://michaelstevenstech.com/outlookexpressnewreader.htm - Set Up
Newsreader
http://rickrogers.org/setupoe.htm

http://aumha.org/nntp.htm - list of MS newsgroups
microsoft.public.test.here - MS test group

http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
http://www.mailmsg.com/SPAM_munging.htm - how to munge email address
http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm - multiposting vs.
crossposting

After you've set up your newsreader, come back and make a new post,
including all the pertinent details. Hijacking someone else's post will
prevent both posters from getting the help they need.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Scar
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
Thanks everybody , it works.

Chuck


Home Network