problems with re-loading xp pro,help?????



kjknights
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
i'm tring to rease my current xp pro from my computer to re-load it, but it
keeps saying the version on my computer is newer than on the disc. i have
erased all the windows updates from the programme remove option but still
says the same.
how can i do this?????

please let me know a.s.a.p

Dave Patrick
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
To do a clean install boot the Windows XP install CD-Rom. When you get to
the point, delete the existing NTFS and or other partitions found. After you
delete the partition(s) abort the install, then again restart the pc booting
the CD-Rom to avoid unexpected drive letter assignments with your new
install.

Be sure to apply SP2 or at least these two below to your new install before
connecting to any network.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=049c9dbe-3b8e-4f30-8245-9e368d3cdb5a&displaylang=en

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-043.mspx
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-049.mspx


--
Regards,

Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
Microsoft Certified Professional
Microsoft MVP [Windows]
http://www.microsoft.com/protect

"kjknights"wrote:
| i'm tring to rease my current xp pro from my computer to re-load it, but
it
| keeps saying the version on my computer is newer than on the disc. i have
| erased all the windows updates from the programme remove option but still
| says the same.
| how can i do this?????
|
| please let me know a.s.a.p

kjknights
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
hi dave its kevin u just sent me some information regarding re-installing xp.
i have tried putting the disc in and re-starting my computer but it only goes
straight to my desktop and not loading the actual disc. when i went to start
the disc going through my computer is goes to the instalation screen where it
says install xp, but it still says the same thing that the version on my disc
is older than the one already installed. i am not a computer genious but i
dont know what NTFS is?? plz explain

thanks

"Dave Patrick" wrote:

> To do a clean install boot the Windows XP install CD-Rom. When you get to
> the point, delete the existing NTFS and or other partitions found. After you
> delete the partition(s) abort the install, then again restart the pc booting
> the CD-Rom to avoid unexpected drive letter assignments with your new
> install.
>
> Be sure to apply SP2 or at least these two below to your new install before
> connecting to any network.
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=049c9dbe-3b8e-4f30-8245-9e368d3cdb5a&displaylang=en
>
> http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-043.mspx
> http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-049.mspx
>
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
> Microsoft Certified Professional
> Microsoft MVP [Windows]
> http://www.microsoft.com/protect
>
> "kjknights"wrote:
> | i'm tring to rease my current xp pro from my computer to re-load it, but
> it
> | keeps saying the version on my computer is newer than on the disc. i have
> | erased all the windows updates from the programme remove option but still
> | says the same.
> | how can i do this?????
> |
> | please let me know a.s.a.p
>
>
>

Dave Patrick
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
Possibly set the boot order in cmos setup to CD-Rom first in boot sequence.
Also look for the keystroke (if necessary) at POST to force boot from CD-Rom
drive or check your mobo/pc manual for instructions.

--
Regards,

Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
Microsoft Certified Professional
Microsoft MVP [Windows]
http://www.microsoft.com/protect

"kjknights" wrote:
| hi dave its kevin u just sent me some information regarding re-installing
xp.
| i have tried putting the disc in and re-starting my computer but it only
goes
| straight to my desktop and not loading the actual disc. when i went to
start
| the disc going through my computer is goes to the instalation screen where
it
| says install xp, but it still says the same thing that the version on my
disc
| is older than the one already installed. i am not a computer genious but i
| dont know what NTFS is?? plz explain
|
| thanks

Ron Martell
07-09-2005, 11:55 PM
kjknights <kjknights@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>i'm tring to rease my current xp pro from my computer to re-load it, but it
>keeps saying the version on my computer is newer than on the disc. i have
>erased all the windows updates from the programme remove option but still
>says the same.
>how can i do this?????
>
>please let me know a.s.a.p

You probably have Service Pack 2 installed on the computer and your CD
is either the original release or service pack 1 version.

You could create a new install CD with Service Pack 2 slipstreamed
into it by following the instructions at the following web sites:
http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sp2_slipstream.asp
http://www.helpwithwindows.com/WindowsXP/winxp-sp2-bootcd.html
http://www.msfn.org/articles.php?action=show&showarticle=49

Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm


problems with re-loading xp pro,help?????