Changing my user name



Howard Brazee
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
Is there an easy way to change my user name on a computer?

I'd like to synchronize a couple of computers so that some data files can be
copied without my having to edit them to change, for instance a user pref parm
or a last saved directory from "C:\\Documents and Settings\\brazee\\Application
Data\\ to "C:\\Documents and Settings\\Howard Brazee\\Application Data\\"

I can do this by making my home computer have the same user name as my work
computer.

Dave Patrick
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
Create the new user account in Control Panel|User Accounts (if that's what
you mean)

--
Regards,

Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
Microsoft Certified Professional
Microsoft MVP [Windows]
http://www.microsoft.com/protect

"Howard Brazee" wrote:
| Is there an easy way to change my user name on a computer?
|
| I'd like to synchronize a couple of computers so that some data files can
be
| copied without my having to edit them to change, for instance a user pref
parm
| or a last saved directory from "C:\\Documents and
Settings\\brazee\\Application
| Data\\ to "C:\\Documents and Settings\\Howard Brazee\\Application Data\\"
|
| I can do this by making my home computer have the same user name as my
work
| computer.

Bruce Chambers
07-09-2005, 11:55 PM
Howard Brazee wrote:
> Is there an easy way to change my user name on a computer?
>
> I'd like to synchronize a couple of computers so that some data files can be
> copied without my having to edit them to change, for instance a user pref parm
> or a last saved directory from "C:\\Documents and Settings\\brazee\\Application
> Data\\ to "C:\\Documents and Settings\\Howard Brazee\\Application Data\\"
>
> I can do this by making my home computer have the same user name as my work
> computer.



The user profile folders (C:\Documents and Settings\Username)
_cannot_ be renamed, even if the associated user account has been.
So, your best course of action would be to log on using the built-in
Administrator account, create a new user account, with the username
desired. You can then delete the old user account(s).

HOW TO Create and Configure User Accounts in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;279783

How to Copy User Data to a New User Profile
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;811151


--

Bruce Chambers

Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having
both at once. - RAH

Howard Brazee
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
On 1-Jun-2005, Bruce Chambers <bchambers@h0tmail.c0m> wrote:

> The user profile folders (C:\Documents and Settings\Username)
> _cannot_ be renamed, even if the associated user account has been.
> So, your best course of action would be to log on using the built-in
> Administrator account, create a new user account, with the username
> desired. You can then delete the old user account(s).

Which means I would have to reinstall most everything that used that part of my
system for settings.

Rock
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
Howard Brazee wrote:

> On 1-Jun-2005, Bruce Chambers <bchambers@h0tmail.c0m> wrote:
>
>
>> The user profile folders (C:\Documents and Settings\Username)
>>_cannot_ be renamed, even if the associated user account has been.
>>So, your best course of action would be to log on using the built-in
>>Administrator account, create a new user account, with the username
>>desired. You can then delete the old user account(s).
>
>
> Which means I would have to reinstall most everything that used that part of my
> system for settings.

No that's not so. Creating a new account doesn't require that. After
the new account is created copy the information from the old one.

How to Copy a User Profile
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/win_xp_logon.htm

HOW TO Create and Configure User Accounts in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=279783

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

howard@brazee.net
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
On 2-Jun-2005, Rock <rock@mail.nospam.net> wrote:

> How to Copy a User Profile
> http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/win_xp_logon.htm

I logged in as Administrator and started to follow directions:

Copy a User Profile:

Open System in Control Panel. On the User Profiles tab, and under Profiles
stored on this computer, click the user profile you want to copy, and then
click Copy To.

====================

Trouble is, I could get to the Control Panel, then I opened System, and
looked for the User Profile tab. But I couldn't find it. Do you know
where this tab is hiding?

Rock
07-09-2005, 11:57 PM
howard@brazee.net wrote:

> On 2-Jun-2005, Rock <rock@mail.nospam.net> wrote:
>
>
>>How to Copy a User Profile
>>http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/win_xp_logon.htm
>
>
> I logged in as Administrator and started to follow directions:
>
> Copy a User Profile:
>
> Open System in Control Panel. On the User Profiles tab, and under Profiles
> stored on this computer, click the user profile you want to copy, and then
> click Copy To.
>
> ====================
>
> Trouble is, I could get to the Control Panel, then I opened System, and
> looked for the User Profile tab. But I couldn't find it. Do you know
> where this tab is hiding?

Click on the Advanced tab then User Profiles Settings.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

howard@brazee.net
07-09-2005, 11:58 PM
On 2-Jun-2005, howard@brazee.net wrote:

> Open System in Control Panel. On the User Profiles tab, and under Profiles
> stored on this computer, click the user profile you want to copy, and then
> click Copy To.

Found it. Oddly enough the list of profiles didn't have the one I created
(but haven't logged in to). I tried to select the one I was copying from,
but that one had the COPY button greyed out. Maybe that's because it is
an administrator account, as administrator is also greyed out. I can copy
my wife's profile if I want.

When I logged onto Administrator, it tried to install Winter Wonderland but
didn't now where to find it. My regular login has that installed, I
thought I ordered that on-line.

Rock
07-09-2005, 11:58 PM
howard@brazee.net wrote:
> On 2-Jun-2005, howard@brazee.net wrote:
>
>
>>Open System in Control Panel. On the User Profiles tab, and under Profiles
>>stored on this computer, click the user profile you want to copy, and then
>>click Copy To.
>
>
> Found it. Oddly enough the list of profiles didn't have the one I created
> (but haven't logged in to). I tried to select the one I was copying from,
> but that one had the COPY button greyed out. Maybe that's because it is
> an administrator account, as administrator is also greyed out. I can copy
> my wife's profile if I want.
>
> When I logged onto Administrator, it tried to install Winter Wonderland but
> didn't now where to find it. My regular login has that installed, I
> thought I ordered that on-line.

You have to login to the new account at least once.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

howard@brazee.net
07-09-2005, 11:58 PM
On 3-Jun-2005, Rock <rock@mail.nospam.net> wrote:

> > Found it. Oddly enough the list of profiles didn't have the one I
> > created
> > (but haven't logged in to). I tried to select the one I was copying
> > from,
> > but that one had the COPY button greyed out. Maybe that's because it
> > is
> > an administrator account, as administrator is also greyed out. I can
> > copy
> > my wife's profile if I want.
> >
> > When I logged onto Administrator, it tried to install Winter Wonderland
> > but
> > didn't now where to find it. My regular login has that installed, I
> > thought I ordered that on-line.
>
> You have to login to the new account at least once.

OK. This also wanted to install the Microsoft Winter Fun Pack for Windows,
which I cancelled out from when I didn't know where to install from.

I then logged onto administrator and found the new ID on the pick list.
Trying to copy from, my old account was still greyed out (as was
administrator). I can copy from my wife's account, but not from my main
account.

howard@brazee.net
07-10-2005, 12:07 AM
I logged into Administrator and discovered that my old account could not be
copied (the copy button was greyed out). So I took a guess and set that
user to not be an administrator. After logging off and on again, that
button was not greyed out anymore.

So I started copying the profile. It wanted to copy a profile - but not to
a new profile, but to a directory. It is not at all obvious to me what
level I am copying from and too, so I didn't risk anything and cancelled
out.

Where should I have copied it to?

I booted back to my old account and after a long while, I got a window
saying "Failed to open drivers's registry key". I said OK, and got "Cannot
open instance of Aurilium sound agent 2". I said OK.

After booting up, I shut down, went back to Administrator, and re-set my ID
to administrator. Apparently switching privileges can mess up drivers.

Steve N.
07-10-2005, 12:12 AM
howard@brazee.net wrote:

> On 3-Jun-2005, Rock <rock@mail.nospam.net> wrote:
>
>
>>>Found it. Oddly enough the list of profiles didn't have the one I
>>>created
>>>(but haven't logged in to). I tried to select the one I was copying
>>>from,
>>>but that one had the COPY button greyed out. Maybe that's because it
>>>is
>>>an administrator account, as administrator is also greyed out. I can
>>>copy
>>>my wife's profile if I want.
>>>
>>>When I logged onto Administrator, it tried to install Winter Wonderland
>>>but
>>>didn't now where to find it. My regular login has that installed, I
>>>thought I ordered that on-line.
>>
>>You have to login to the new account at least once.
>
>
> OK. This also wanted to install the Microsoft Winter Fun Pack for Windows,
> which I cancelled out from when I didn't know where to install from.
>
> I then logged onto administrator and found the new ID on the pick list.
> Trying to copy from, my old account was still greyed out (as was
> administrator). I can copy from my wife's account, but not from my main
> account.

Make sure you are not switching users but actually logging out of your
account and logging in as administrator.

Steve

Shenan Stanley
07-10-2005, 12:12 AM
howard@brazee.net wrote:
> I logged into Administrator and discovered that my old account could
> not be copied (the copy button was greyed out). So I took a guess
> and set that user to not be an administrator. After logging off and
> on again, that button was not greyed out anymore.
>
> So I started copying the profile. It wanted to copy a profile - but
> not to a new profile, but to a directory. It is not at all obvious
> to me what level I am copying from and too, so I didn't risk anything
> and cancelled out.
>
> Where should I have copied it to?
>
> I booted back to my old account and after a long while, I got a window
> saying "Failed to open drivers's registry key". I said OK, and got
> "Cannot open instance of Aurilium sound agent 2". I said OK.
>
> After booting up, I shut down, went back to Administrator, and re-set
> my ID to administrator. Apparently switching privileges can mess up
> drivers.

Should have created a new profile (user) first - logged in as this new user
to create the proper directory structure.
Logged out.. Rebooted.
Logged in as a user (not one of the two involved in this whole mess) with
admin rights and proceded to copy the profile (as instructed. with rights
for everyone to use to the C:\Documents and Settings\NEWUSERNAME folder
(where NEWUSERNAME is of course your new username.)

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--

Howard Brazee
07-10-2005, 12:13 AM
On 13-Jun-2005, "Steve N." <Steve_N@nunya.biz.nes> wrote:

> Make sure you are not switching users but actually logging out of your
> account and logging in as administrator.

I did that. When I changed my main user to not be administrator, the menus
weren't grayed out, and I was able to copy it. Only trouble is, it asked me
what directory to copy it to, but the answer was not at all obvious to me.

The "from" is a user ID. The "to" is a directory. Until I find out what
directory to copy Howard Brazee's settings to Brazee's settings, I'm stuck.

Steve N.
07-10-2005, 12:13 AM
Howard Brazee wrote:

> On 13-Jun-2005, "Steve N." <Steve_N@nunya.biz.nes> wrote:
>
>
>>Make sure you are not switching users but actually logging out of your
>>account and logging in as administrator.
>
>
> I did that. When I changed my main user to not be administrator, the menus
> weren't grayed out, and I was able to copy it. Only trouble is, it asked me
> what directory to copy it to, but the answer was not at all obvious to me.
>
> The "from" is a user ID. The "to" is a directory. Until I find out what
> directory to copy Howard Brazee's settings to Brazee's settings, I'm stuck.

For the Copy to destination Browse to C:\Documents and Settings\Brazee

Steve

Howard Brazee
07-10-2005, 12:17 AM
On 14-Jun-2005, "Steve N." <Steve_N@nunya.biz.nes> wrote:

> > The "from" is a user ID. The "to" is a directory. Until I find out what
> > directory to copy Howard Brazee's settings to Brazee's settings, I'm stuck.
>
> For the Copy to destination Browse to C:\Documents and Settings\Brazee

That did it.

I went to Administrator, and had to change Howard Brazee to not have full
administrator rights (otherwise the copy from was grayed out). Then I rebooted
to Administrator again and was able to copy to the Brazee account I created
earlier, overwriting the files. It took some time to copy everything and only
the light on my computer indicated something was happening.

Then I changed Howard Brazee to have administrator rights, and went to change
Brazee, only to discover it already had administrator rights. Odd.

howard@brazee.net
07-10-2005, 12:19 AM
On 13-Jun-2005, "Shenan Stanley" <newshelper@gmail.com> wrote:

> > After booting up, I shut down, went back to Administrator, and re-set
> > my ID to administrator. Apparently switching privileges can mess up
> > drivers.
>
> Should have created a new profile (user) first - logged in as this new
> user to create the proper directory structure.

I did this.

> Logged out.. Rebooted.
> Logged in as a user (not one of the two involved in this whole mess) with
> admin rights and proceded to copy the profile (as instructed. with rights
> for everyone to use to the C:\Documents and Settings\NEWUSERNAME folder
> (where NEWUSERNAME is of course your new username.)

That's what I finally did. It wasn't obvious where to copy it to (the from
option was a logon, the to option was a directory).

The odd thing was that I needed to set the from logon to less than
administrator, and then logoff before I could copy it. And the new ID was
set to administrator privilege.

howard@brazee.net
07-10-2005, 12:19 AM
On 13-Jun-2005, "Steve N." <Steve_N@nunya.biz.nes> wrote:

> Make sure you are not switching users but actually logging out of your
> account and logging in as administrator.

I didn't consider switching users. But that is a good point for anybody
making notes on what to do.


Changing my user name