broadband connection



alex
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Hi all. Im a dsl subscriber. I have windows xp on my computer. I went through
the steps of creating a broadband connection that requires a username and
password but after I clicked finish what I created was a dialup connection.
How come? I don't even have a dialup modem on my computer. I have tried to
create a new broadband connection and I got the same dialup connection.
Please help.

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Does your broadband DSL use PPOE? If it does, it is, in fact, a dial up
connection that needs an account name and password. It can, of course, be
set to dial automatically every time you boot the computer.

My DSL does not use PPOE. Any Windows 2000 or Windows XP computer I connect
to the router automatically find the connection and away we go.

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"alex" <alex@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FE7E7B89-8277-4120-8A9D-EF63E2955C8B@microsoft.com...
> Hi all. Im a dsl subscriber. I have windows xp on my computer. I went
> through
> the steps of creating a broadband connection that requires a username and
> password but after I clicked finish what I created was a dialup
> connection.
> How come? I don't even have a dialup modem on my computer. I have tried to
> create a new broadband connection and I got the same dialup connection.
> Please help.

Kelly
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
1. Start, Control Panel, Network Connections.
2. On the left, choose Create a New Connection
3. The radio button with Connect to the Internet should be chosen, click Next
4. Choose the second radio button to Set Up My Connection Manually
5. Here you would need to choose either Connect Using a Broadband Connection
that requires a user name & password OR Connect Using a Broadband Connection
that is always on. If, for example, you have to connect each time you start
your computer you would want to choose the first of these options. If you
have cable connection that is always on, choose the latter, within the wizard
it is the 3rd option. Click Next once you choose one of these options.
6. If you are using the user name & password connection, you will be asked
for your ISP name and then your user name and password, click next and you
should be finished and connected.
7. The last step isn't required when setting up a cable connection.

If dial up is the only option you have to choose from, you will need to do
some modifications in order to allow the other options to be chosen. Check
this is out if that's the case

Dial-up modem or PPPoE option in New Connection Wizard is unavailable
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;320558

Good luck, I hope that helps!


"alex" wrote:

> Hi all. Im a dsl subscriber. I have windows xp on my computer. I went through
> the steps of creating a broadband connection that requires a username and
> password but after I clicked finish what I created was a dialup connection.
> How come? I don't even have a dialup modem on my computer. I have tried to
> create a new broadband connection and I got the same dialup connection.
> Please help.

David H. Lipman
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
From: "Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com>

| Does your broadband DSL use PPOE? If it does, it is, in fact, a dial up
| connection that needs an account name and password. It can, of course, be
| set to dial automatically every time you boot the computer.
|
| My DSL does not use PPOE. Any Windows 2000 or Windows XP computer I connect
| to the router automatically find the connection and away we go.
|
| --
| Regards,
|
| Richard Urban
|
|

Richard, that's PPPoE Point to Point Protocol over Ethernet.

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm

David H. Lipman
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
From: "alex" <alex@discussions.microsoft.com>

| Hi all. Im a dsl subscriber. I have windows xp on my computer. I went through
| the steps of creating a broadband connection that requires a username and
| password but after I clicked finish what I created was a dialup connection.
| How come? I don't even have a dialup modem on my computer. I have tried to
| create a new broadband connection and I got the same dialup connection.
| Please help.

That's a PPPoE connector that authentocates you on the Internet. The *best* way to handle
this is to get a Cable/DSL Router such as the Linksys BEFSR41. It will make the PPPoE
connection, not the PC. Then you won't need *any* ISP provided software on the PC. It will
also allow to share the one Internet connection with upto 253 devices and computers
(including the PlayStation/2 and the XBox.). It will also act as a simplistic FireWall
helping to block Internet worms and hackers. There are many more advantages to such a
device.


--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Thanks David!

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> wrote in message
news:e9J$X0jZFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> From: "Richard Urban" <richardurbanREMOVETHIS@hotmail.com>
>
> | Does your broadband DSL use PPOE? If it does, it is, in fact, a dial up
> | connection that needs an account name and password. It can, of course,
> be
> | set to dial automatically every time you boot the computer.
> |
> | My DSL does not use PPOE. Any Windows 2000 or Windows XP computer I
> connect
> | to the router automatically find the connection and away we go.
> |
> | --
> | Regards,
> |
> | Richard Urban
> |
> |
>
> Richard, that's PPPoE Point to Point Protocol over Ethernet.
>
> --
> Dave
> http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
> http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm
>
>

Kelly
07-10-2005, 12:54 AM
Kelly who?

--

All the Best,
Kelly (MS-MVP)

Troubleshooting Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com



"Kelly" <Kelly@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:AC388BA2-7E10-4F7D-A7A8-45D5414C46FA@microsoft.com...
> 1. Start, Control Panel, Network Connections.
> 2. On the left, choose Create a New Connection
> 3. The radio button with Connect to the Internet should be chosen, click
> Next
> 4. Choose the second radio button to Set Up My Connection Manually
> 5. Here you would need to choose either Connect Using a Broadband
> Connection
> that requires a user name & password OR Connect Using a Broadband
> Connection
> that is always on. If, for example, you have to connect each time you
> start
> your computer you would want to choose the first of these options. If you
> have cable connection that is always on, choose the latter, within the
> wizard
> it is the 3rd option. Click Next once you choose one of these options.
> 6. If you are using the user name & password connection, you will be asked
> for your ISP name and then your user name and password, click next and you
> should be finished and connected.
> 7. The last step isn't required when setting up a cable connection.
>
> If dial up is the only option you have to choose from, you will need to do
> some modifications in order to allow the other options to be chosen. Check
> this is out if that's the case
>
> Dial-up modem or PPPoE option in New Connection Wizard is unavailable
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;320558
>
> Good luck, I hope that helps!
>
>
> "alex" wrote:
>
>> Hi all. Im a dsl subscriber. I have windows xp on my computer. I went
>> through
>> the steps of creating a broadband connection that requires a username and
>> password but after I clicked finish what I created was a dialup
>> connection.
>> How come? I don't even have a dialup modem on my computer. I have tried
>> to
>> create a new broadband connection and I got the same dialup connection.
>> Please help.


broadband connection