how do I deactivate primary partition?



rudyh
07-09-2005, 11:52 PM
I want to be able to copy data from a currently active drive to a new drive
which has XP installed. Since there can only be one active partition at a
time, how do I turn off the active status on the old drive?

Thank You

Dave Patrick
07-09-2005, 11:52 PM
The ability to copy data from drive to drive has nothing to do with the
active partition flag.

--
Regards,

Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
Microsoft Certified Professional
Microsoft MVP [Windows]
http://www.microsoft.com/protect

"rudyh" wrote:
|I want to be able to copy data from a currently active drive to a new drive
| which has XP installed. Since there can only be one active partition at a
| time, how do I turn off the active status on the old drive?
|
| Thank You

R. C. White
07-09-2005, 11:53 PM
Hi, Rudy.

As Dave says, you're mixing apples and oranges.

There can be only one active partition at a time ON EACH HD. I'm currently
running 3 HDs and each has an Active (bootable) partition. So I can change
the boot device (in the BIOS or by unplugging something) and boot from any
of the 3. But so long as all 3 are online, I can freely copy to and from
any of them.

Have you actually seen a problem, or are you just hoping to head off one in
advance?

RC
--
R. C. White, CPA
San Marcos, TX
rc@corridor.net
Microsoft Windows MVP

"rudyh" <rudyh@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E5A6E7F5-5A9D-4470-8C02-1A8BED4A7078@microsoft.com...
>I want to be able to copy data from a currently active drive to a new drive
> which has XP installed. Since there can only be one active partition at a
> time, how do I turn off the active status on the old drive?
>
> Thank You

Steve N.
07-09-2005, 11:53 PM
rudyh wrote:

> I want to be able to copy data from a currently active drive to a new drive
> which has XP installed. Since there can only be one active partition at a
> time, how do I turn off the active status on the old drive?
>
> Thank You

You don't need to change the active partition on the old drive. Just
slave it to the new drive and copy away.

Steve

Lil' Dave
07-09-2005, 11:54 PM
If you're leaving a few details out, like you have XP controlled dual boot
system with the XP boot files on the current active partition, you can't if
you want to copy in that XP environment..

The active bit set tells the PC to look on that primary partition for the
boot files....

By setting the active bit in partition you want active, will remove same if
an alternate partition has been previously set on the same physical hard
drive.

Copying, from partition to another partition, should not be an issue with
setting an alternate partition active. There is an exception, if you want
to copy within in the XP environment, but its not bootable now as the boot
files are on its own partition. And, XP is on a NTFS partition, and the
other partition contains an OS that does not comprehend NTFS. Therefore,
that OS cannot copy to the XP partition. But, I'll wait and see what your
problem actually is.

"rudyh" <rudyh@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E5A6E7F5-5A9D-4470-8C02-1A8BED4A7078@microsoft.com...
> I want to be able to copy data from a currently active drive to a new
drive
> which has XP installed. Since there can only be one active partition at a
> time, how do I turn off the active status on the old drive?
>
> Thank You


how do I deactivate primary partition?